This document contains all the biographical sketches contained within the town chapters of the book "HISTORICAL GAZETTEER AND BIOGRAPHICAL MEMORIAL of CATTARAUGUS COUNTY, NY", ed by WILLIAM ADAMS, Published 1893.   These biographies were submitted by various family members in the 1800s,  and they do not reflect all families who lived in the county at the time.

 

These bios were transcribed between 1997 - 2000 by an incredible team of Cattaraugus County Researchers, who are listed below.   My heartfelt thanks to all of them, with a special thank you to Art Burch, who contributed many additional hours of his time toward transcribing, editing, and posting these bios.

 

Laura Greene, Coordinator of Cattaraugus County Bio Project

Carlsbad, CA

Email:  lgg at interaccess.com  

 

Cattaraugus County Bio Team:

 

Art Burch

Martie Wilson

Sandra Harris

Pat Hoy

Susan Austin

Beverly Plack

Judy Offen

Mike Gifford

Joe Mack

Pat Dalpiaz

Pam Smith

Ginni Morey

Jack McIntyre

Lee Campbell

Ronda Oberlin

Cindy Kittle

Christi Brogan

Kathy Behling

Claudia Poole Patterson

 

=========

 

TO FIND ANY REFERENCE TO YOUR FAMILY's SURNAME, SIMPLY USE YOUR "FIND FUNCTION" IN YOUR WORD PROCESSOR AND TYPE IN THE NAME.  BE SURE TO CHECK ALL SPELLING VARIANTS.  PLEASE NOTE: FREQUENTLY THE PUBLISHER OR EDITOR OF THE BOOK MISSPELLED OR HAD PRINTING ERRORS FOR A PARTICULAR NAME - SO LOOK CAREFULLY TO BE SURE YOU DON'T MISS AN IMPORTANT DETAIL ABOUT YOUR FAMILY.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

TOWN OF ALLEGANY

 

BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES FROM: "HISTORICAL GAZETTEER AND BIOGRAPHICAL MEMORIAL of CATTARAUGUS COUNTY, NY", ed by WILLIAM ADAMS, Published 1893

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 430

 

Surname:  BASCOM

 

Col. George BASCOM was one of the pioneer settlers of Cattaraugus county, and was prominently known in this town, where the most of his life was spent.  In the days of general trainings he was closely connected with the State militia, whence he obtained his title of colonel.  He died in Allegany village April 11, 1893, in his eighty-fourth year.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 430

 

Surnames:  BLAIR, GRAVES

 

Jason BLAIR, a native of Massachusetts, was born September 12, 1810.  November 13, 1835, he married Miss GRAVES, of Lisle, N. Y.  Shortly afterward he came to Allegany and settled near Olean, where he remained for two years.  His next home was at the mouth of Five Mile creek.  He was a lumberman and cut the pine timber off 700 acres of land which he bought at from $1.00 to $2.50 per acre.  They were early settlers and most of their provisions were brought from Buffalo by teams.  There were times when roads were so bad that it was hardly possible to make the trips.  Then provisions were exhausted.  The little that was left the neighbors would divide and help each other out until their supplies came.  Mr. BLAIR survived his wife, who died September 14, 1887.  He died June 3, 1893.  They had seven children, two of whom died in infancy.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 430

 

Surnames:  BOCKOVEN, VAN VLACK, LAMBERTON, RENWICK, RICE, HAYES, WILLARD

 

Lieut. William C. BOCKOVEN was born in New Jersey, July 18, 1824.  He came to Allegany in 1848, remained about a year, and went to Fishkill, N. Y., where he married Maria VAN VLACK, July 22, 1850.  The same year they moved to Allegany village.  By trade he was a blacksmith.  He was a partner with Dennis LAMBERTON four years, when LAMBERTON died, and Mr. BOCKOVEN continued the business alone until the breaking out of the Rebellion, when he went out as lieutenant of Co. I, 64th N. Y. Vols.  Capt. Robert RENWICK was wounded and Lieutenant BOCKOVEN took command of Co. I as captain.  After the close of the war he followed his trade until his death, which occurred January 13, 1890.  He was a member of the River Union, No. 240, E. A. U.  He left a wife, two sons, and three daughters.  The children were Eleanor N. (Mrs. Hyde RICE); Dewitt C.; Jessie (Mrs. William H. HAYES); Minor; and Estella (Mrs. Clare WILLARD).

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 430

 

Surnames:  BOOTH, SLOCUM, HEALD

 

Edward BOOTH was born in England, December 11, 1844, and in 1851 came to America with his parents, Joseph and Susan BOOTH, who reside in Humphrey.  They reared twelve children, eight of whom are living.  Mr. BOOTH is a farmer in Allegany.  He enlisted February 2, 1862, in Co. C, 105th N. Y. Vols., and served until the close of the war.  He married, March 5, 1866, Mary D. SLOCUM who was born in Herkimer county, July 5, 1844.  They have one child, Charles M., born July 15, 1867, married Flora HEALD, January 16, 1887, and has two children.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 430

 

Surnames:  BOSTWICK, MEEKER, BROOKS

 

Harry BOSTWICK was born in Vermont, Oct. 17, 1793, married Annie MEEKER in 1825, and came to Allegany in 1852.  He was a tailor by trade.  His wife died June 6, 1881; he died June 12, 1883.  Their children were Charles H., who was born in Vermont, April 11, 1826, and Martha M., who was born in July, 1827, and resides in Franklinville.  Charles H. BOSTWICK married Lydia L. BROOKS, of Bethel, Vt., Aug. 18, 1852, and came to Allegany when about twenty-two years of age.  His wife died July 28, 1888.  His death occurred very suddenly July 27, 1890.  Their children were Charles H. Jr., and Annice.  The latter was born June 21, 1860, and resides on the homestead where four generations have lived and where three were born, the house being one of the oldest in town.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 431

 

Surnames:  BUCHER, SUTTER, KREIN

 

John B. BUCHER, a weaver by trade, with his wife, Mary Ann SUTTER, and their two daughters and one son, emigrated to America in 1851, landing in New York city on June 24th.  The family came from Ober Schneisingen, Canton Argan, Switzerland, where the son, William BUCHER, was born on July 19, 1839.  The daughters' names were Helen and Lenna.  The mother was a member of a prominent family in Switzerland.  John BUCHER first settled near Buffalo, but soon moved to Transit, N. Y., and in 1852 located near Lockport.  In 1853 he purchased a few acres of wild land in Amherst, Erie county, which he sold in March, 1859, and removed to Allegany, settling on the Four Mile, where the parents died at the age of seventy-seven years.  William BUCHER's education was nearly all in German, which he judiciously combined with the practical knowledge he was forced to secure.  Leaving home in April, 1858, he preceded the family to this town, where he worked by the month and finally purchased forty acres of land.  By an accident he lost his right arm and then began peddling, but money was scarce and this proved unprofitable.  In 1862 he secured a permit to enter the 154th Regiment and followed that organization through its campaigns, supplying the soldiers with tobacco, notions, etc.  He returned home in June, 1865, and with the profits accumulated in the army he was enabled to pay for his farm.  July 12, 1868, Mr. BUCHER married Mary KREIN, of Buffalo, and their children are William F., John P., Joseph A., Henry F., Christian A., George, Jacob, Albert, Mary A., Katie A., Clara E., and a daughter deceased.  Mr. BUCHER is the owner of the celebrated Rock City in this town, a place fully described on a preceding page.  He has always been a Republican in politics, but not an office-seeker.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 431

 

Surnames:  BURLINGAME, JONES, LYON

 

Ira BURLINGAME, the father of Mrs. Cordelia C. JONES, was born in Weathersfield, Vt., November 5, 1778, and before attaining his majority went to Oxford, Chenango county, where he married Elizabeth LYON.  He experienced religion in 1818 and united with the Baptist church.  In 1827 he removed to Cattaraugus county, where he spent the remainder of his days.  Here he soon identified himself with the Baptist church and labored to promote its interests until his death, which occurred November 29, 1846.  His wife died at Franklinville in 1864.  Only four of their twelve children are now living: Leroy, Elizabeth, Cordelia C., and A. Haynes.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 431

 

Surnames:  CALKINS, MACK, WAY, SIMMONS

 

John C. CALKINS, born in Ballston, Saratoga county, October 30, 1815, came to Great Valley about 1852.  After the war he removed to Allegany and engaged in farming.  He married, first, Abigail MACK, June 30, 1849, and by her he had three children: Foreman R., John E., and Commerce C.  January 1, 1862, he married, second, Mary E., daughter of David P. and Hannah (WAY) SIMMONS, of Great Valley, and their children are David P., Lillian H., Charles F., Mary E. (deceased), and Adna D.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 431

 

Surnames:  CARLS, HEIT

 

John H. CARLS was born in Germany, October 5, 1835, and in 1844 emigrated to America with his parents who settled in Buffalo.  At the age of eighteen he began life in the lumber woods of Northern Wisconsin, where he was engaged thirteen months.  He was next employed by Joseph Story, of Buffalo, in his sheep-skin tannery.  In 1855 he came to Allegany and settled on a farm on the Four Mile, where he still resides, and near where he owns a steam shingle-mill and cider-mill.  November 20, 1860, he married Magdalene HEIT, who has borne him twelve children, viz.: Lewis J. (who died March 26, 1872), John J., Magdalene, Andrew A., George I. (who died June 30, 1870), Rosie, Henry F., Barbara A. (who died October 10, 1881), Joseph F., Francis A., Edward, and Marcus J.  His father, Henry, born in 1810, died May 7, 1882.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 432

 

Surnames:  CHAMBERLIN, PLATT, BECKER, GOODEN, PARKS, COVELL

 

Charles CHAMBERLIN, son of Moses and Anna (PLATT) CHAMBERLIN, was born December 11, 1818, and married Caroline BECKER, of Chautauqua county, Nov. 12, 1848.  She was born March 9, 1829.  Mr. CHAMBERLIN came to Allegany over forty years ago and settled on a farm about one mile north of the village.  He also owned a saw-mill on Five Mile creek.  Feb. 16, 1880, while superintending the manufacture of lumber at the mill, the circular saw caught a board from the carriage which it severed in an instant and one of the pieces, thrown with great velocity, struck Mr. CHAMBERLIN on the left temple, causing instant death.  He was an earnest member of the Methodist Episcopal church.  His widow resides on the homestead.  Their children are William M., born April 22, 1850, G. Frank, born Nov. 3, 1853, married Kate GOODEN, December 1, 1880, and has three children, Lewis M., Florence B., and Willard A.; Charles E., born August 3, 1856; Frederick E., born September 12, 1859; Anna P., born April 27, 1862, married Frank PARKS, of Allegany, and has three children, Grace, Sadie, and Clara; John, born June 10, 1865; and Jennie, born October 4, 1868.  William M. CHAMBERLIN is a farmer and owns the mill where his father met his death.  He married Miss Roslia COVELL, March 24, 1875.  She was born September 16, 1850.  Their children are Mabel C., Carrie J., Lewis S., Roy P. (deceased); and Edna R.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 432

 

Surname:  CHAPIN

 

The CHAPIN family has long been well known in Allegany.  The first representative who came here was Jabez CHAPIN, Sr., from Massachusetts.  His son Roswell settled in Buffalo in 1815 and became the first village surveyor there.  Two daughters of Jabez, Mary and Faritta, joined their brother in Buffalo, but removed to Allegany soon after their father settled here.  Another daughter, Lucy, suggested the name Springville for that village in Erie county.  Jabez CHAPIN, Sr., had a family of three sons and four daughters, and it is said that in none of their homes was ever found a lamp or a stove.  At least this is true of those who settled in Allegany.  They used candles for lighting, and did their cooking and warmed their houses with fires on the hearth of the fireplace.  Only one – a maiden daughter – of this generation survives.  Her nephew, however, lives in town.  They have all lived to extreme old age and attribute their great longevity to never employing a physician.  Their lives were full of history.  Their house is a veritable museum of curiosities.  Mary and Faritta for many years wove carpets for the neighbors.  The former was an expert in needlework, especially in making fine embroidered lace, pieces of which are still extant and valued for their superior quality.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 432

 

Surnames:  CLARK, JONES, LOOMIS, TYRRELL

 

Alfred CLARK, born in Claremont, N. H., November 15, 1808, married, November 3, 1833, Elizabeth H. JONES, and came to Allegany in 1841, where he conducted a tavern for nine years.  He then opened a grocery store, which he ran until June, 1859; in 1864 his son Calvin G. succeeded to this business and continued it until 1890, when he sold out on account of poor health.  Alfred CLARK died August 16, 1864; his wife's death occurred August 15, 1871.  Calvin G. CLARK, their only child, was born December 30, 1834, and October 28, 1862, married Harriet L. LOOMIS, who was a daughter of William LOOMIS, and who was born in Machias, January 1, 1836.  Mr. LOOMIS settled in Machias when he was seventeen years old and died there September 8, 1865; his wife was Emma TYRRELL, who survived him until May 22, 1800.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Pages 432 & 433

 

Surnames:  CLARK, PRESTON

 

Henry CLARK, born in Franklin, N. Y., September 3, 1830, came to this town with his parents when nine years of age.  He served three years in the late war in Co. D, 154th N. Y. Vols.  He is now engaged in lumbering and farming.  He married Mary J. PRESTON, December 12, 1854, who was born in Hinsdale, December 2, 1836.  They have six children, viz.: Staley A. (died July 29, 1861), Ida J. (died Jan. 16, 1887), Harriet A., Lewis G., Anna E., and Gracie M.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 433

 

Surnames:  CORTHELL, FITCH, FIELD

 

Lewis S. CORTHELL was born in Lima, Livingston county, in 1837, and in 1840 or 1841 came with his parents, Daniel and Sally (FITCH) CORTHELL, to Allegany (then Burton).  His father and mother dying when he was very young he was early in life thrown upon his own resources for support, and in 1851 he began to learn the trade of harness maker, which has been his life vocation.  May 5, 1859, Mr. CORTHELL married Annette F., daughter of Rev. J. M. FIELD, of Machias; they have an adopted daughter, Gertrude S.  It is not in a business capacity only that Mr. CORTHELL is known to his townsmen.  In 1862 he entered Co. C, 154th N. Y. Vols., and was postmaster of Allegany from 1866 to 1869 (through Johnson's administration).  He was also justice of the peace for eight years from April, 1882, until he was compelled to resign in 1890, by reason of deafness, has served as town clerk, and for twenty-three consecutive years was clerk of the School Board.  Mr. CORTHELL is a member of the Presbyterian church and is at all times deeply interested in the success of the Democratic party.  He is widely known and much esteemed.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 433

 

Surnames:  DONAHUE, FITZGERALD, BURNS, CRONYN

 

Michael DONAHUE, who was born in Ireland, September 25, 1820, came to America in the fall of 1850.  After residing six years in Buffalo he came to Allegany, where he is said to have cleared a piece of land by moonlight, his days being occupied in the employ of others.  He was one of the pioneer farmers of the town and as a man has always been much respected.  In the fall of 1852 he married Mary FITZGERALD, who died March 26, 1883.  Their children were Ellen (Mrs. William BURNS), Bridget (Mrs. John CRONYN), Thomas, Michael P. (born March 1, 1865, died February 22, 1885), John, Mary, Mattie, and Maggie.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 433

 

Surnames:  DYE, MERRILL, MOORE, PIXLEY

 

Dennis DYE was born in Litchfield, N. Y., March 15, 1805.  In 1830 he removed to western New York, and from then until his death lived much of the time in Cattaraugus county.  In April, 1852, he settled in Allegany as a farmer and died here February 23, 1872.  His wife, Minerva MERRILL, who was born in Johnstown, N. Y., September 27, 1808, died here September 27, 1887.  Their son Nathan A. was born in Litchfield, August 22, 1829, came to Freedom, and thence on March 7, 1852, to this town, where he became a merchant, dying December 5, 1882.  A Democrat in politics Mr. DYE was elected to many town offices and in 1871 became justice of sessions of the county.  Jan. 26, 1851, he married Rosaline, daughter of Oliver MOORE, a farmer and an early settler of Freedom and subsequently (in 1869) a resident of Allegany, where he died March 2, 1877.  Mr. MOORE was born in Vermont, April 6, 1804, and his wife, Judith PIXLEY Jan. 12, 1796.  Mr. and Mrs. DYE had born to them these children: Charles O., born May 18, 1852, died December 29, 1887; Mason M., born May 6, 1854; Jennie R., Sept. 23, 1858; Edwina M., July 11, 1860, William H., Nov. 19, 1862; Nellie B., Sept. 3, 1868; and Nathan E., October 14, I870, died Sept. 14, 1871.  Mrs. DYE died Dec. 22, 1892.  Mason M. and William H. are bankers in Allegany village.  Mason M. was supervisor of Allegany from 1886 to 1889 inclusive.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Pages 433 & 434

 

Surnames:  EGGLESTON, HOPPING, ATWOOD, GILLETT, SPICER, BLISS, HADSELL, BURDICK

 

Isaac EGGLESTON, born in Vermont, February 13, 1792, came with his brother to Onondaga county about 1808, where in 1819, he married Rebecca HOPPING.  In 1820 they settled in Olean and finally removed to Allegany, locating on Five Mile creek and subsequently on Nine Mile run, where Mr. EGGLESTON died May 17, 1872.  His wife died February 15, 1872.  They had eight children, three of whom died in infancy; the others are Eliza A. (Mrs. Jeremiah ATWOOD), Clarissa A. (Mrs. Cornelius GILLETT). deceased, John W., Almira B. (Mrs. Horace O. SPICER), and Rev. Charles C.  John W. EGGLESTON married, first, Lydia L. BLISS, Dec. 2, 1858, by whom he had three children, Cora, Charles L., and William F.  He married, second, August 27, 1873, Euphonia A., daughter of Abel and Lucy (HADSELL) BURDICK.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 434

 

Surnames:  EISERT, FICK

 

George EISERT was born in Buffalo on the 7th of February, 1860, and came to Allegany in 1874 and engaged in peeling bark, beginning his present business in 1880.  September 2, 1884, he was married to Anna FICK, who has borne him three children: Frank J., James W., and Lena.  Mr. EISERT is a respected citizen and a prominent factor in the German population of the town.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 434

 

Surnames:  EMMONS, BORN

 

John C. EMMONS was born in Corning, June 13, 1856.  There he received his education.  He married Ella BORN, of Cuba, Sept. 15, 1880, and came to Allegany in 1883.  Mr. EMMONS is an experienced and reliable pharmacist.  His is the leading drug store in Allegany village.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 434

 

Surnames:  FARQUHARSON, HALE

 

James Henry FARQUHARSON, son of Francis and Margaret A. FARQUHARSON, was born in East Pike, Wyoming county, March 23, 1837.  He became a telegraph operator in 1854 and performed the duties of that avocation in several stations in Cattaraugus county, receiving the appointment at Allegany on May 1, 1856.  His wife, Marion J. HALE, of Hinsdale, whom he married August 19, 1856, bore him six children: Francis H., Fred H., William L., Millie J., Charles B., and Van Deusen.  Mr. FARQUHARSON held many offices of trust, including that of supervisor on the Greenback ticket in 1878, and was prominently connected with the business, religious, and educational interests of the town and county.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 434

 

Surnames:  FELT, LICHTENTHAL, KARL, COLT, REHLER, CLARK

 

Nicholas FELT, a native of Germany, was born May 3, 1823, and came to America in 1849.  His first home was in Buffalo, from whence he moved to this town about 1861 with his brother-in-law.  Three years prior to this, however, he had purchased his present home.  His wife was Margaret LICHTENTHAL, who was born in Germany, December 31, 1827, and whom he married September 14, 1849.  Children: Mary (Mrs. Joseph KARL), Magdalena (Mrs. Louis COLT), Katie (Mrs. Albert KARL), Margaret (Mrs. Andrew REHLER), Joseph, John (who married Angie CLARK), Nicholas, and Annie.  The family are all exemplary, industrious citizens and are counted among the town's representative settlers.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Pages 434 & 435

 

Surnames:  FREELAND, ROBINSON, NORWOOD, HARDY, WORTHINGTON, SOULE, LOOMIS

 

James FREELAND was born in Caroline, N. Y., May 11, 1810.  His father, Robert FREELAND, born in the North of Ireland about 1773, came to America in 1798 and settled in Tompkins county, where he married Catharine ROBINSON in 1800.  He was a farmer and mechanic.  James FREELAND attended the common schools and worked on his father's farm.  May 23, 1833, he married Lucinda, daughter of Jonathan NORWOOD, Esq., of Caroline, and in 1836 removed to Allegany with his wife and two children.  He soon became an expert river pilot, which occupation he followed for thirty years and never had a "breakup," but always landed his rafts safely at their place of destination.  He was prominent and popular, and constantly in town offices until his retirement on account of old age.  He successfully filled the offices of highway commissioner, justice of the peace, assessor, and postmaster.  In 1876 he was the Democratic nominee for member of Congress.  The characteristics that distinguish his life are enterprise, perseverance, honesty, and integrity.  Mr. and Mrs. FREELAND's children are Dolphus S., who married Fannie E. NORWOOD in October, 1868, and now resides in Maywood, Neb., where he is postmaster; Jonathan B., who married Mariette HARDY, November 2, 1859, and is a minister of the Free Methodist church; Ruvena, who married Rev. Randolph WORTHINGTON, October 30, 1873; James A., who married Lottie E. SOULE, November 27, 1870, resides in Allegany; and Mabel L., who married Rev. H. H. LOOMIS.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 435

 

Surnames:  FRIES, MESSER

 

John FRIES was born in Buffalo, November 24, 1846, and came to Allegany with his parents when he was eight years of age.  They were farmers and settled on the farm where John now resides.  John FRIES was a soldier in the Rebellion, enlisting in Co. H, 188th N. Y. Vols.  June 16, 1866, he married Elizabeth MESSER; children: Maggie, Annie, Mary, Lizzie, and Josie.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 435

 

Surnames:  GALLETS, MOHR, BLAZUR, BRAND, GEISER, GEARINGER, NUSSER, KARL

 

Jacob GALLETS, Sr., was born in 1815 in Germany, where he married Susan, daughter of Jacob MOHR.  With an only son they came to Allegany in the spring of 1853.  Jacob MOHR had contracted for 250 acres of wild land on Four Mile creek, which was worked by himself and three sons, Henry, Joseph, and Peter, and John BLAZUR and Jacob GALLETS.  These pioneers cleared their tract, and in winter were jobbers in cutting logs, spending their evenings in shaving pine shingles, which their wives packed into bunches for market.  Upon the division of the 250-acre tract Jacob GALLETS received thirty-seven and one-half acres as his share.  He added to this from time to time and at his death, February 10, 1879, had a farm of 360 acres.  His widow survives him.  Their children were Henry, Marcus, Mary, Joseph A., Jacob, Jr., Henry, Anna, and Barbara.  Henry died in infancy.  Marcus GALLETS was born in Germany, October 4, 1852, married Lucy BRAND, of Allegany, and resides in Pennsylvania.  Mary was born here May 7, 1854, married Philip GEISER, and lives in Olean.  Joseph A. GALLETS, born February 14, 1857, is engaged in farming, lumbering, and oil producing.  May 7, 1878, he married Fanny GEARINGER, who has borne him six children: Jacob, Jr., Mary, Clara, Rosie, Laney, and Barbara.  Jacob GALLETS was born October 6, 1858, and November 8, 1883, married Mary A., daughter of George NUSSER.  They have four children, viz.; Theresa, George J., Mary E., and Grace A.  Henry GALLETS, born May 6, 1861, is a farmer.  May 5, 1886, he married Sophia E., daughter of George NUSSER, and they have two daughters, Agatha T. and Sophia G.  Anna GALLETS was born in 1863.  Barbara, the eighth child of Jacob GALLETS, was born November 1, 1865, and married, April 4, 1887, Jacob KARL, who was born April 4, 1862.  Their children are Katharine S. and Ernest J.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 435

 

Surnames:  GATES, BRANDALL, HIGGINS, LOBDGER, ERWIN, PERKINS

 

Rossell GATES, born in Canada on March 12, 1834, went to the oil regions of Pennsylvania in 1865, at a time when "Oil Well Johnnie," sprung into prominence as a spendthrift and had a meteoric career.  Mr. GATES settled at Knapp's Creek in 1883 and removed in 1890 to the BRANDALL farm.  On the 4th of January, 1855, he married Alecia HIGGINS, daughter of William HIGGINS, for fifty-two years high bailiff of Toronto, Can.  Children: Hannah (Mrs. John LOBDGER), Mary Ann (deceased), Jonathan (deceased), Roswell, Lydia (Mrs. Henry ERWIN), and Anna (Mrs. Frank PERKINS).

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Pages 435 & 436

 

Surnames:  GEIGER, GATEZ, LIPPERT

 

Jacob GEIGER, born in Germany, April 24, 1841, came to America with his mother in 1854, landing in New York city on the 12th of October.  His mother, after the death of Mr. GEIGER, married Peter GATEZ, and after living in Buffalo two weeks came to Allegany, arriving here in November, 1854, and settling on a farm on the Nine Mile run.  In 1861 Jacob GEIGER enlisted in Co. H, 37th N. Y. Vols., and was discharged on the 6th of September of the same year for disability.  In 1864 he re-enlisted in Co. A, 188th N. Y. Vols., and served until the close of the war.  He participated in many important battles and suffered much hardship.  November 12, 1866, he married Rossella, daughter of Albert KARL, and their children are John (deceased), Joseph, Katie (Mrs. Andrew LIPPERT), Robert, Rosie, and Mary (deceased).

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 436

 

Surname:  GORDON

 

Rev. Walter GORDON is a son of John GORDON and was born in Rushford, N. Y., January 22, 1824.  In 1849 he located in Olean and the following year joined the Methodist Episcopal Conference.  Rev. Mr. GORDON, during the years of his ministry, was stationed in various places in western New York and achieved wide distinction as a thorough worker and eloquent preacher.  He was eminently successful in building up his charges to a higher degree of activity and usefulness, and left in all many warm friends and followers.  He is now engaged in farming, being the owner of a large tract of land in southern Cattaraugus.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 436

 

Surnames:  HAASE, REHKOPF, WIEGRAFE, ANGLE, SMITH, CONNHAISER, MASNER

 

Frederick HAASE, son of John H. and Louisa HAASE, was born in Germany, Nov. 18, 1824.  After his father's death in 1860 he came to Allegany with his family and mother and bought a farm where he still resides.  Louisa HAASE was born in 1797 and died in 1875.  Frederick married, first, Laney REHKOPF and second Louisa WIEGRAFE.  By his first wife he had seven children, two of whom died in infancy; the others are Henry F., Frederick E., Caroline, Hanna, and August V.  Henry F. HAASE was born in Germany, Oct. 19, 1845, and is a farmer.  He married Catharine A., daughter of George J. and Catharine (ANGLE) SMITH, Oct. 1, 1872, and they have bad two children, George F. and Emma.  August V. HAASE, born Nov. 18, 1855, is a farmer on the homestead.  He married Anna, daughter of Martin and Margaret (CONNHAISER) MASNER, April 12, 1883.  She was born July 24, 1863.  Their children are Howard F., Frederick H., Raymond, and Mildred.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 436

 

Surnames:  HALL, MORRIS

 

George A. HALL, son of Lewis S., was born in Westfield, Chautauqua county, May 2, 1841.  He came to Allegany in the fall of 1860, married Hattie C. MORRIS, of Chesterfield, Va., and has had born to him seven children, of whom six are living.  Mr. HALL has a sash and door factory and planing-mill in the village which was owned and operated by his father for several years up to the time of his death in 1876.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 436

 

Surnames:  HARBEL, KIANAN, BOCKMIER, SCHIFTER, EHBORER, SCHUMANN

 

John HARBEL, Sr., was born in Germany, Aug. 6, 1816, and married there Katharine KIANAN.  He was among the early settlers on Four Mile run.  His wife died July 30, 1876.  He resides with his son John, Jr.  They had four children: John, Jr., Andrew, Tresea, and Maggie.  John, Jr., was born May 5, 1850, married Rose, daughter of George and Mary A. (BOCKMIER) SCHIFTER, Jan. 7, 1877, and has three children: Mary, Anna T., and George.  Mr. HARBEL is engaged in farming and producing oil.  Andrew HARBEL was born Aug. 12, 1852, married Tresea SCHIFTER on Oct. 21, 1879, and died July 26, 1882.  Tresea HARBEL, born April 10, 1857, married August EHBORER.  Maggie HARBEL was born March 8, 1860, and married, May 4, 1886, Anton SCHUMANN, who was born in Germany, Feb. 13, 1859, and came to Allegany in 1885.  They have two children, Katie and Agnes.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 436

 

Surnames:  HARMS, ACKLEY, BRADY, MILLER

 

Henry E. HARMS, a native of Germany, was born January 14, 1859, and came to Scio, Allegany county, with his parents in 1868.  In 1878 he accepted a position as clerk with A. E. ACKLEY, with whom he remained four years.  In 1884 he formed a co-partnership with W. E. BRADY, of Allegany, in the boot and shoe business, which continued until 1887, when Mr. HARMS built the brick block where he is now located.  He married Polena daughter of John MILLER, of Allegany, and they have one child, Mintie Louise.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Pages 436 & 437

 

Surnames:  HILLS, MIDDAUGH, SEELEY, WRIGHT, ALTENBURG, GROSSMAN

 

Zarah C. HILLS, born in Tompkins county in 1814, came to Portville about 1831 and to Allegany in 1868.  He married Amanda MIDDAUGH, of Allegany county, in 1837.  She died January 25, 1885.  Mr. HILLS resides in Warren county, Pa.  They had five children, of whom Elphonso, James M., Miranda, and Jennie are living.  Elphonso HILLS was born July 28, 1838, and is engaged in the manufacture of bee-hives and in handling bees.  He married Martha E. SEELEY, February 17, 1862, who was born in Owego, N. Y., June 30, 1841.  Their children are Flora I. (Mrs. William WRIGHT), Addie B. (Mrs. Abram ALTENBURG), Minnie H. (Mrs. Charles GROSSMAN), and Floyd A.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 437

 

Surnames:  HIRT, SMITHER, ZISTER

 

Andrew HIRT, father of Henry, was born in Germany in 1810.  He came to Buffalo in 1835, where he married Mary A. SMITHER, and in 1855 removed to Allegany, where he cleared 100 acres of woodland, and where he still resides.  His wife died August 21, 1878.  Their children were Lena, Louie (deceased), Mary, Francis (deceased), Henry, and Andrew.  Henry HIRT, born September 24, 1850, married, October 3, 1876, Agatha ZISTER, who was born February 9, 1856.  Their children are Mary L. Clara M. (deceased), Theresa M., Vincent H. (deceased), Frank L., and Annetta A.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 437

 

Surnames:  JONES, LYON, BURLINGAME, BURNETT

 

Homer H. JONES, son of Benjamin, was born in this county April 10, 1826.  He came to Allegany when about twelve years of age, and in 1851 bought the farm where he now lives.  He married Cordelia C., daughter of Ira and Elizabeth (LYON) BURLINGAME, May 21, 1854.  She was born in Franklinville, May 21, 1832.  They have one child, Willis P., born August 9, 1859, who married Eva BURNETT, November 6, 1884, by whom he also has one child, Rochester B.  They reside in Buffalo.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 437

 

Surnames:  KARST, PRESACK, KERBER, LAKE, SCHAFER

 

George KARST, born in Germany, November 8, 1828, came to Fredonia, Chautauqua county, in 1852 and thence to Allegany in 1866.  Here he was engaged in manufacturing light and heavy carriages in partnership with Joseph PRESACK until 1880, when the firm dissolved, Mr. KARST succeeding to the business, which he still conducts.  He married, first, in 1854, Magdalene KERBER, who died October 16, 1884, and he married, second, Barbara LAKE, of Buffalo, February 17, 1887.  His first wife was the mother of all his children: Philip, Charles, and Anna.  Philip KARST is a wagon maker and repairer and dealer in carriages.  He married Katie SCHAFER, of Allegany, June 10, 1878; she was born in Germany, October 23, 1858.  They have four children: George P., Lena J., Emma K., and Clarence C.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 437

 

Surnames:  LEWIS, McNALL, KEIM

 

Oren J. LEWIS was born in Collins, Erie county, September 4, 1842.  He came to Allegany in 1869, married Olive A., daughter of Levi McNALL, October 14, 1871, and he has had two children: Ada L. and Leroy M.  Mr. LEWIS with William KEIM organized the Crescent Milling Company in 1882, and by careful management the firm has established a substantial business and an enviable reputation.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Pages 437 & 438

 

Surnames:  LINDERMAN, FARWELL, WHITLOCK, ROGERS, SEARL, SILL, SMITH, CANADY

 

Nicholas LINDERMAN, born in Tompkins county, November 22, 1803, settled in Ischua in 1831.  He was the father of eleven children (see Hinsdale).  His son, John M. LINDERMAN, born in Ischua, October 4, 1831, married Ellen E., daughter of Thaddeus J. and Elizabeth FARWELL, June 14, 1855, and came to Allegany in 1869, settling the farm where he now resides.  They have had three children: Medora F. (Mrs. Stanley WHITLOCK), Flora E. (Mrs. George ROGERS), and Ray.  Orson, son of Nicholas, was born March 23, 1836.  He married Hannah FARWELL, by whom he has five children: Charles, Alice, Nicholas, Eola, and Ellen.  They reside in Allegany.  Nicholas A. LINDERMAN was born March 11, 1838, and married Lucinda SEARL.  Mary LINDERMAN was born June 26, 1840, and married Jackson SILL.  Lester P. LINDERMAN was born March 13, 1842, and is a farmer in Allegany.  He married Frances SMITH, by whom he had one child, Gertrude E., who married Charles CANADY.  Mr. LINDERMAN married, second, Clara WHITLOCK, of Hinsdale, December 12, 1876.  Adeline and Emeline (twins) were born Aug. 25, 1844.  Edgar LINDERMAN was born March 17, 1847, and died September 11, 1850.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 438

 

Surnames:  MASNER, MACK, CONNHAISER

 

Martin MASNER, born December 11, 1823, came to America from Germany in 1847 and to this town in 1851, where he still resides.  He married, first, Elizabeth MACK, by whom he had four children, of whom Henry MASNER is the only one living.  His second wife, Margaret CONNHAISER, was born in Germany, November 11, 1826, and by her he had nine children: Horace, died Oct. 26, 1881; Freddie, died Nov. 19, 1889; John, of Iowa; George, of Allegany; and Margaret, Carrie, Anna, Mary, and Minnie.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 438

 

Surnames:  McCARTY, McAULIFFE, BLAIR

 

William P. McCARTY was born in Utica, N. Y., January 1, 1849.  In 1854 he moved to Princeton, Ill., and in February, 1870, married Miss Margaret McAULIFFE, of Allegany.  They have a son and a daughter.  In 1887 Mr. McCARTY was appointed postmaster of Allegany by President Cleveland and served until April, 1891.  He has been engaged in the furniture and undertaking business with J. C. BLAIR since 1889.  He is a member of the C. M. B. A.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 438

 

Surnames:  McCLURE, WARNER, BURLINGAME, TAGGART, STARR, GRIFFIN, CHAPMAN

 

Hiram W. McCLURE was the first white male child born in Cattaraugus county.  His birth occurred at McCLURE settlement in the town of Franklinville on the 30th of April, 1806 and he was the eldest of nine children born to David and Orilla (WARNER) McCLURE, of whom something is said in the history of that town.  David McCLURE was born in Stafford, Conn., June 29, 1778, and died in Allegany, January 20, 1848; his wife was born in the same place December 24, 1783, and died in Franklinville, February 19, 1849.  Their children, besides Hiram W., were Antoinette, born January 5, 1808, died in Kansas, August 1, 1888; Adaline, born March 15, 1810, died May 4, 1811; Sidney W., born December 30, 1811, of Wisconsin; Hannah, born October 5, 1813, died December 10, 1866; David, Jr., born March 17, 1815, a physician of Indiana; Pennel, born January 2, 1817, a physician in Ohio, where he died October 6, 1842; Dexter, born February 9, 1819, a physician in Indiana, where he died February 24, 1879; and Lemira, born June 3, 1822, of Minnesota.  Hiram W. McCLURE on September 12, 1830, married Caroline BURLINGAME, who was born September 21, 1813, and who died January 6, 1887.  Children: Dr. Sanford B. (see p. 114); Elizabeth L., born February 2, 1838, died 1839; Alice B., born August 5, 1840, married W. B. TAGGART; Maria E., born July 12, 1842, married Riley L. STARR, who died in Ellicottville, December 26, 1886; Esther C., born December 6, 1844, married George S. GRIFFIN; Rosebelle, born June 2, 1847; Francis C., born February 12, 1850; Agnes G., born Nov. 12, 1851, married Dr. E. A. CHAPMAN, of Jefferson county; and Kate L., born Sept. 22, 1856.  Hiram W. McCLURE located where he now resides in 1847.  His first ballot was cast in 1828 for Andrew Jackson for president, and since then he has voted at every regular election except one.  It is doubtful if another man in western New York can claim such an unbroken record.  He has ever been prominent in town affairs and has held nearly every office of trust and responsibility.  In 1838 and 1839 he represented Franklinville on the Board of Supervisors and in 1851 and 1873 served in the same capacity for the town of Allegany.  His son and his father were several times elected to the same office, the former from Allegany and the latter from Ischua and Franklinville.  As a citizen Mr. McCLURE is greatly respected and esteemed.  He has lived an active, honorable, upright life, and has always been foremost in promoting the general weal of the Communities in which he has resided.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 439

 

Surnames:  McCOY, WICKHAM, THORNTON, ALLEN, BURDICK

 

Richard H. McCOY, born in Goshen, N.Y., April 30, 1811, married Mary Ann WICKHAM November 17, 1835, who was born June 4, 1811, and died November 30, 1889.  Mr. McCOY came to Ellicottville at an early day, and finally removed to Allegany and located where he now resides.  His children are Abigail (Mrs. David THORNTON), Elizabeth (Mrs. Seth D. ALLEN), Richard, Albert, Mary Ann (died in infancy), Alfred, and Susan.  Richard McCOY enlisted in Co. I, 64th N. Y. Vols., was wounded at Fair Oaks, was confined in Libby, Salisbury, and Belle Isle prisons, and married, May 1, 1867, Sarah B. BURDICK, and has three children: Albertus A., Gertrude B., and Florence L.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 439

 

Surnames:  McINTOSH, EVERTS, PRATT, JOHNSON, PARKER

 

Silvertus D. McINTOSH was born at Homer, Cortland county, May 13, 1831.  He came to Humphrey with his parents, Jonathan and Annie McINTOSH, when thirteen years of age.  He served in the Rebellion on the U. S. steamer Paw Paw and died Jan. 9, 1866.  He married, Jan. 5, 1861, Cornelia S., daughter of Rollin and Susan (EVERTS) PRATT, who came from Vermont to Olean in 1838, where Mr. PRATT died in 1886 and his wife June 19, 1889.  Mrs. McINTOSH resides on the homestead.  They reared children as follows: Salina G., Addie C. (Mrs. Myron D. JOHNSON), Annis S. (Mrs. John A. PARKER), Jonathan E., Elizabeth C., Lillie F., Grace U., and Judson R.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 439

 

Surnames:  McMAHAN, CLARY, DEVEREUX, EDGERTON, HICKEY

 

Thomas McMAHAN, brother of John McMAHAN, of Ellicottville, was born in County Clare, Ireland, in 1830, came to America with his younger brother, James, about 1844, and spent the remainder of his youth in Ellicottville, where he married Ann CLARY.  Soon afterward he settled in Allegany and engaged in farming on the DEVEREUX farm.  Later he purchased the EDGERTON homestead on the Five Mile, where he was a thrifty farmer and an extensive dealer in live stock.  Mr. McMAHAN was a man of integrity, sound judgment, and of more than ordinary business ability.  He died May 14, 1877.  Mrs. McMAHAN survives and resides on the homestead.  Their children are Mary A. (Mrs. Eugene HICKEY), of Allegany; Nora T., John C., and Thomas F., who reside with their mother; and James G., an enterprising merchant in Ellicottville, secretary of the Board of Trade, and for a time a member of the Board of Village Trustees.  John C. McMAHAN, like his father, is one of the heaviest dealers in live stock in Cattaraugus county.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 439

 

Surnames:  MILLER, RUPPERT, SCHRADER

 

John MILLER was born in Bavaria, Dec. 14, 1833.  He came to Maryland in 1853 and in 1860 removed to Allegany, where in 1883 he built the MILLER block, which contains a hall capable of seating about 500 people.  Mr. MILLER was overseer of the poor eleven years, commissioner of public highways two years, and school trustee fifteen years.  He married, in Nov., 1855, Rose RUPPERT, who died Nov. 24, 1886.  By her he had eight children: Eve, Joseph, Polly, John, Kate, Andrew, Charles, and Rose, all of whom are living except Eve, who died November 5, 1879.  He married, second, Mary SCHRADER, of Salamanca, Sept. 10, 1889.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 439

 

Surnames:  MOHR, MIAR

 

Henry MOHR was born in Germany, July 8, 1832, came to Buffalo and thence to Allegany in 1853, settling on 125 acres of land which he has cleared.  June 10, 1859, he married Ann MIAR, who was born in Germany, June 26, 1834.  They have eight children; Joseph, Katie, Andrew, John, George, Anna, Frank, and Martha.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 439

 

Surnames:  MORTIMER, KEMMER, SPINDLER

 

John MORTIMER was born in Belgium, October 28, 1828, came to Allegany in 1854, and settled on Chipmunk creek.  In 1860 he returned to Belgium on a visit and there married Mary KEMMER, March 4, 1861.  In 1867 he took possession of their present home.  Their children are John H., Josephine A. (Mrs. John J. SPINDLER), Henry F., and Mary A.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 440

 

Surnames:  MULTRUS, ZINK, SMITH

 

Joseph H. MULTRUS was born in Dayton, December 8, 1857.  September 18, 1883, he married Mrs. Libbie (ZINK) SMITH, daughter of William F. ZINK, of Allegany, by whom he has had three children, viz.: Mary, Libbie, and Joseph.  Mr. MULTRUS is a prosperous farmer in the town of Allegany.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 440

 

Surnames:  NENNO, ZINK, FURNACE

 

Nicholas H. NENNO was born in Buffalo, June 5, 1838, came to this town about 1857, and was a farmer and lumberman.  About 1867 he bought the farm where his widow now resides.  February 13, 1890, Mr. NENNO was killed by falling from the top of a tank house at the oil well on the ZINK farm, where he was at work.  At the time of his death he was poormaster and president of Branch 41, C. M. B. A.  January 15, 1858, he married Barbara FURNACE, of Buffalo.  They reared twelve children: John, William, Mary, George, Michael, Joseph, Victor, Lena, Frank, Freddie, Charles, and Edward.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 440

 

Surnames:  NESSEL, GRIMES, BOUGHTON, DYE

 

Joseph NESSEL was born in Montgomery county January 15, 1830, and about 1855 married Almari GRIMES, of Vermont.  Their two children were George H. and Mary.  When sixteen years of age Mr. NESSEL came to this town and contracted for 378 acres of land, which he paid for by clearing off the timber and converting it into lumber.  His first habitation was a log cabin, which stood 150 rods from his present home.  Four years later he erected another near by and subsequently a third on the site of his present residence.  This burned down February 1, 1885.  He was one of the earliest settlers on the Four Mile and has always been considered a solid, substantial citizen.  His son George H. was born in March, 1857, married Harriet BOUGHTON, and has one child, Joseph B.  The daughter, Mary, born in 1859, married Charles O. DYE, and died in 1884; Mr. DYE's death occurred in 1885.  They left one child, Florence E.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 440

 

Surnames:  NORWOOD, LAKE, HILLS, PHILLIPS

 

Thomas C. NORWOOD was born in Caroline, N. Y., Dec. 30, 1820, and came to Allegany on a visit about 1842.  After remaining one year he returned to Tompkins county, but in 1860 came back and settled permanently.  He has been a farmer and blacksmith.  He married, in 1846, Sarah LAKE, of Tompkins county, who bore him three children: Byron, Fred H., and Nettie.

Byron NORWOOD was born Oct. 30, 1847, and for about twenty years has been express messenger between Salamanca and Chicago.  He married Jennie HILLS, of Allegany, November 1, 1872, and they have had four children -- Harry, Guy, Genevieve, and Geraldine.

Fred H. NORWOOD was born Aug. 27, 1849, and is a farmer.  He married Celestia PHILLIPS, Oct. 14, 1875, and has two children, Agnes G. and Emma D.

Nettie NORWOOD, born July 28, 1852, died April 15, 1862.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 440

 

Surnames:  PERRIGO, STEDMAN, BESSEY, RAISH, CHASE

 

Lyman PERRIGO, a native of Franklinville, was born Sept. 20, 1832, and married, July 4, 1853, Mary Ann, only child and daughter of Frederick and Maria M. (STEDMAN) BESSEY, who bore him two children – Fred C., born Feb. 2, 1856, married Flora, daughter of Thomas and Eliza RAISH, of Allegany Oct. 26, 1885, has two children, Raymond N. and Clarence R., and resides on the homestead; and Estella M., born May 20, 1859, married Edwin E. CHASE, Nov. 6, 1877, and had one child, Mortimer D.  Frederick BESSEY was born in Vermont, Feb. 6, 1808; his wife was also born there May 15, 1813; they were married Sept. 29, 1833.  They came to Allegany in 1845.  He died here March 30, 1875.  His widow survives him and resides with her daughter, Mary Ann PERRIGO, who was born Sept. 5, 1834.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Pages 440 & 441

 

Surnames:  PHELPS, TORREY, KEYES, SCOFIELD

 

Dudley PHELPS, son of Gideon Spencer PHELPS, was born Sept. 5, 1834, in the town of Barker, Broome county.  He came to Friendship, Allegany county, in 1854, where, in 1855, he married Maria TORREY, who bore him two children: Jennie E. (Mrs. S. G. KEYES) and Charles S. both of Gowanda.  The family came to Allegany in 1856, where Mrs. PHELPS died Sept. 10, 1863, while her husband was in the army.  On Aug. 6, 1862, Mr. PHELPS enlisted in Co. C, 154th N. Y. Vols., and served until the war closed, being promoted corporal.  He married, second, Nov. 23, 1865, Julia A., daughter of Amos SCOFIELD, of Allegany.  Mr. PHELPS is a general merchant, and is serving his eighteenth term as town clerk.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 441

 

Surnames:  PHILLIPS, RANNEY, NORWOOD, PLATNER, McNALL

 

Abiathar PHILLIPS, Sr., was born at Ashfield, Mass., Oct. 27, 1774, and married Hannah RANNEY, Dec. 4, 1800.  He came to Phelps, Ontario county, about 1820, and in 1828 removed to this town with his oldest son, Abiathar, Jr., locating on land where Fred NORWOOD now lives.  In the summer of 1829 he brought his family to this home, where he and his wife resided the remainder of their lives.  He died Feb. 1, 1863, and his wife July 28, 1857.  They reared twelve children: Esther, Eliza, Abiathar, Jr., George, Anna, Samuel R., Jared, Harriet, William H., Charles H., Alonzo F., and John P., of whom four sons are living: Abiathar, Jr., William H., Charles H., and John P.  Mr. PHILLIPS served as supervisor of the town in 1845 and 1846.  John P. PHILLIPS resides in this town and is a farmer.  He married Sophronia PLATNER.  Jared D. PHILLIPS, son of Samuel R., was born in Allegany, Oct. 30, 1841.  He married Mary J., daughter of Levi McNALL, Nov. 1, 1876.  They have one child, Myrtie M.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 441

 

Surnames:  POTTER, PRIEST, LITTLE, CURTISS

 

Jeremiah POTTER was born in Otsego county in 1796.  He married Betsey PRIEST, and with his wife and three children came to Farmersville about 1839.  There they died, she in 1851 and he in 1871.  They reared three children: Eliza A., who married Walter N. LITTLE, of Farmersville, and died on the homestead in October, 1886; Augustus F., who married Elmira CURTISS, of Bradford, Pa., and resides in Wisconsin; and Chester L., who was born Aug. 6, 1834.  The latter served in the late war in Co. K, 105th N. Y. Vols.  He married Mahala PRIEST, Sept. 30, 1870, and came to Allegany in 1880, where they still reside.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 441

 

Surnames:  PRESACK, DOMBROWSKY

 

Joseph PRESACK, born in Germany, June 18, 1838, emigrated to America in 1862.  He served in the late war in Co. I, 16th N. Y. Cav., and was discharged Sept. 21, 1865.  He came to Allegany in 1866 and worked at his trade of blacksmith until poor health obliged him to make a change.  He is now in the insurance business.  Oct. 30, 1866, he married Frances DOMBROWSKY, of Allegany, and they have had four children: Randolph, Frank, Lizzie, and Gustave.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 441

 

Surnames:  SCHIFTER, BOCKMIER, HARBEL, FELT

 

George SCHIFTER was born in Germany, February 10, 1817.  In 1852, the year he came to America, he married Mary A. BOCKMIER.  They settled in Clearfield county, Pa., whence they moved to this town about 1857.  Their first home here was on the Nine Mile run, but in 1865 they located in Allegany village, where they died – Mr. SCHIFTER on May 19, 1875, and his wife on June 30, 1884.  They had nine children, viz.: Caroline, Mary, and George who died in infancy, Katie (deceased), Rose (Mrs. John HARBEL), Tresea (Mrs. Andrew HARBEL), Mary, Lena (Mrs. Joseph FELT), and Michael.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 441

 

Surnames:  SCHULTZ, SMITH, LAMB

 

William F. SCHULTZ was born in Buffalo on the 5th of December, 1860.  His father, Charles H. SCHULTZ, moved with his family to this town in 1861, arriving here on the 8th of November, where the son has since resided.  His wife is Mary SMITH, by whom he has one son, Howard H.  Mr. SCHULTZ's mother's maiden name was Christina LAMB.  The family is a prominent one in the German element of the town.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Pages 441 & 442

 

Surnames:  SCOFIELD, LINES, SELLECK, BULLOCK, PHELPS, SMITH, CLAYTON

 

Amos SCOFIELD was born in Hadley, Saratoga county, February 22, 1810, and came as a lumberman to the town of Allegany in 1839, settling on Five Mile run, where he died April 15, 1858.  By his wife, Ruth LINES, who died here January 21, 1880, he had seven children, viz.: Harriet (deceased), who married Rev. E. J. SELLECK; Augusta Charlotte (Mrs. A. W. BULLOCK), of Allegany; Julia A. (Mrs. Dudley PHELPS), of Allegany; Ellen Lorette (Mrs. Frank S. SMITH), of Binghamton; Lovina E. (Mrs. Rev. T. E. CLAYTON), of Ocean Grove, N. J.; Amos B., of Rochester; and Willis J., of Allegany.  Mr. SCOFIELD was prominent in town affairs and owned and operated several saw-mills at various times.  His brothers Barzilla settled in Portville, Harvey in Hinsdale, and Shadrack in Oneida county – all in 1839.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 442

 

Surnames:  SHELDON, LAMBERTON, OVEROCKER, BROWN, PARK

 

George C. SHELDON, a native of New Hartford, Conn., was born Jan. 13, 1811, and when about twenty-one years of age came to Allegany, where he died Oct. 7, 1882.  He was a member of the Free Methodist church.  Nov. 4, 1834, he married Julia LAMBERTON, of Allegany, by whom he had five children.  Mrs. SHELDON was born September 28, 1818, and died in 1853.  Mr. SHELDON married, second, Elizabeth OVEROCKER, in 1856, who survived but a few years.  He married again, in June, 1866, Mrs. Rebecca H. BROWN, who still resides on the homestead with Norton T. SHELDON.  The children of George C. and Julia SHELDON were George L., Mary A., Norton T., Charles C., and Margaret S.  George L., born October 18, 1835, enlisted in Co. I, 64th N. Y. Vols., and served three years.  He is a baker in Allegany.  He married Georgianna PARK and they have four children: Charles F., Park C., a wholesale liquor dealer in Allegany, Luceba H., and Bennie D.  Norton T. SHELDON resides on the homestead and owns, besides, a saw-mill near the mouth of Five Mile creek.  September 26, 1866, he married Louisa A. BROWN, and their children are Estella J., Minnie L., and Clare E.  Charles C. SHELDON, Jr., died Jan. 7, 1885.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 442

 

Surnames:  SMITH, ANGLE, HAASE, WILLARD, BURGER, GOODWIN, WRIGHT

 

John G. SMITH was born in Germany, April 15, 1803.  There he married Katharine R. ANGLE in 1838 and emigrated to America in December, 1851, settling first in Buffalo and in 1856 in Allegany, where he died March 23, 1876, and his wife February 8, 1885.  They had born to them seven children, three of whom died in infancy.  The others were Katharine A., Frederick, George, and John S.

Katharine A. married Henry F. HAASE, of Allegany.

Frederick SMITH was born in Germany, October 21, 1841, came to America with his parents, and commenced his business life as a clerk with Erastus WILLARD, who in 1868 admitted him to an equal partnership, which continued until 1884, when Mr. SMITH became sole owner.  April 21, 1881, he married Mary L. BURGER, who was born in Olean, Aug. 19, 1856, and graduated from the State Normal School at Fredonia.  They have three children: Raymond, Georgianna and Clinton.

George SMITH was born Jan. 20, 1845, and served in Co. I, 64th N. Y. Vols., being fatally wounded in the battle of Gettysburg.

John S. SMITH, born Aug. 16, 1859, is engaged in the mercantile business with his brother.  He married Emma L., daughter of Isaac and Eliza J. (GOODWIN) WRIGHT, Sept. 8, 1881.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Pages 442 & 443

 

Surnames:  SPRAKER, SOUTER, HYDE, CARR, HALL, FRANK, MIXER

 

The SPRAKER family in Allegany has been one of the most prominent families in the town.  The record goes back to William SPRAKER, who was born in Germany, Oct. 9, 1808, and there married Christina SOUTER.  They emigrated to America in 1847 and located in Erie county.  Only two of their nine children are living.  Mr. SPRAKER came to Allegany in May, 1854, and died in the village May 30, 1875.  His son, William SPRAKER, Jr., born in Germany, December 11, 1838, came with his parents to this town in 1854 and has since been one of its foremost citizens.  His education was obtained in the common schools of Erie county and clerking was his early occupation.  August 21, 1861, he enlisted in Co. I, 64th N. Y. Vols., and participated in ten regular engagements, receiving a wound at Gettysburg on July 2, 1863, and being discharged May 3, 1864.  Mr. SPRAKER was appointed postmaster Dec. 20, 1865, and was re-appointed in 1875, serving continuously from then until 1887.  He was again appointed in 1891 and is the present incumbent of that position.  He has also served as town clerk and in other capacities, and is a member and has been an officer of the local G. A. R. Post.  October 29, 1867, he married Susan E. HYDE, who died Aug. 12, 1886; she bore him three children: Clarence H., Lois M. (Mrs. Miner CARR), and George V.  He married, second, Mrs. Phoebe HALL, sister of his first wife, on June 28, 1887, by whom he has one child, Harold E.  Henry HYDE, the father of Mr. SPRAKER's two wives, was born in Germany and came to Allegany in 1855.

 

Charles SPRAKER, the other surviving son of William SPRAKER, Sr., was born Oct. 20, 1842, and Feb. 18, 1868, at Olean, he married Mary FRANK.  He began life as a clerk for Marsh & Van Campen in March, 1857, in which capacity he continued until just before his marriage, when he was admitted to the firm under the name of Marsh & Co.  In 1876 he formed the firm of SPRAKER & MIXER, and in April, 1881, bought his partner out.  February 22, 1889, a fire destroyed his mercantile establishment, but he soon rebuilt and started anew, He has two children, Frank and Anna.  Mr. SPRAKER has served as town clerk and in 1885 he represented Allegany on the Board of Supervisors.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 443

 

Surnames:  STEPHEN, FRANK, HETZ, WELCH, NOONAN, TRAVERS

 

William M. STEPHAN was a native of Germany, where he was born Oct. 8, 1819.  He came to the United States in 1850 and after living in Buffalo four years removed to Allegany, locating on Nine Mile run.  In 1864 he settled on the Four Mile, where he still resides, being one of the early settlers in that locality.  Mr. STEPHAN has held several town offices and has been quite an extensive oil producer.  In 1849 he married Mary FRANK, who was born Aug. 29, 1816.  Their children are Charles P., born Jan. 12, 1853, married Emma, daughter of Michael and Elizabeth HETZ, Oct. 3, 1881; Clara, born Feb. 16, 1854, married Michael WELCH; George; Mary J., born Dec. 3, 1856, married Patrick NOONAN; and Frank H., born Nov. 27, 1858, married, Dec. 25, 1883, Maggie A., daughter of Frank and Margaret TRAVERS, and has had born to them these children: Jennie M., Laura P., and Francis (deceased).  The children of Charles P. STEPHAN are William Henry, Frank A., Elmer H., and John M.  George STEPHEN, third child of William M., was born Sept. 8, 1855, and until 1880 was engaged in lumbering.  In that year he located on his present farm.  Dec. 27, 1880 he married Mary NOONAN and their children are Celia, Fred, Clara (deceased), Albert, Agnes, and Eddie.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Pages 443 & 444

 

Surnames:  STRONG, WHITE, CLIFFORD, FOX, ANDREWS, MAY, LEMON

 

James STRONG, son of Solomon and Mary (WHITE) STRONG, born in Vermont, May 3, 1868, married Catharine CLIFFORD, of New Hampshire, in 1799, came to. Olean in 1819, and two years later removed to Allegany, settling where the widow of his son James, Jr., now resides.  The first marriage in Allegany occurred at his house, being that of his daughter Sally to William B. FOX in 1825.  James STRONG died April 20, 1839, and his wife, Catharine, Aug. 16, 1852.  Their children were Almeda, Solomon, Sally, Emily, Luthera, James, Jr., Catharine, Adeline, William, and Jame A., all deceased.  James STRONG, Jr., married Carmale, daughter of Rhody (ANDREWS) MAY, of Hinsdale, April 25, 1857, and died in June, 1882.  His widow survives him and lives on the old homestead.  Their children were Eola and Lew J.  Eola, born Oct. 30, 1858, married Frank LEMON and has two children, Lew S. and Fred H.  Lew J., born Nov. 22, 1864, is a farmer and resides on the homestead.  William MAY, father of Mrs. James STRONG, Jr., died in 1840 and his wife Rhody in 1844.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 444

 

Surnames:  THORNTON, McCOY, FRANK

 

Davis THORNTON, born in Allegany county, July 2, 1828, came to this town when eighteen years of age and followed lumbering and rafting on the Allegheny river until 1889.  In the spring of 1890 he built the Allegheny River House near the Indian reservation.  He married, first, Abigail, daughter of Richard H. McCOY, who was the mother of his son David.  Mrs. THORNTON died May 27, 1856.  His second wife was Lydia A. FRANK, by whom he has three daughters, Katie, Mary, and Abbie.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 444

 

Surnames:  WHEELER, LINDSLEY, SPALDING, HATCH, REDOUT, CURTISS, HAYNES, PETERSON, KAHN

 

William H. WHEELER was born in Washington county, January 1, 1824.  He married Rebecca LINDSLEY, July 4, 1845, who was born October 15, 1826.  Mr. WHEELER came to this county when about ten years of age, with his parents, who settled in Yorkshire.  He now resides in Allegany and is a farmer.  He has two brothers, Charles M. and Joseph A. WHEELER, and one sister, Mrs. Helen M. SPALDING, who reside in this town.  William H. WHEELER has eleven children: Devillow, born in Yorkshire, October 4, 1846, enlisted in the late war at the age of sixteen in Co. I, 154th N. Y. Vols., and starved to death at Andersonville prison; William W., born at Yorkshire, August 26, 1848, served in the late war in Co. A, 188th N. Y. Vols., married Julia H., daughter of Marshall and Emma HATCH, April 23, 1874, who was born November 1, 1856, and has six children, Jennie R., Alice A., J. Russell, George P., William W., Jr., and Matie E.; Myron Devereux, born in Allegany, December 8, 1850 married Emeline REDOUT, and resides in South Saginaw, Mich.; George C., who died in infancy; Caroline H., born May 9, 1855, married John CURTISS, Jr.; Halsey A., born June 28, 1858, married Emelia REDOUT; Hannah L., born June 25, 1860, married Russell HAYNES; Nancy, born February 7, 1863, married Theodore PETERSON, and died in 1879; Guy I., born October 15, 1866, in Allegany; John H., born September 18, 1869, died in infancy; and Ada, born February 1, 1872, married John KAHN.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 444

 

Surnames:  WARD, HANEY, SMITH

 

Dwight W. WARD, second son of Robert D. and Mary A. (HANEY) WARD, was born in Jamestown, N. Y.  Robert D. was an only son and was born in Ireland, October 20, 1812, emigrating thence to America in 1828, the voyage lasting three months.  Learning the cabinet maker's trade in Bath, N., Y., where he married Mary A. HANEY on September 24, 1833, he removed to Jamestown, where he ran a foundry for fourteen years, when he engaged in hotel keeping until his death in 1857.  His widow with her family removed to Allegany in 1859 and resides with her daughter, Mrs. William H. SMITH.  Their children were Elida S. (Mrs. W. H. SMITH), Hibbard P., Dwight W., John D. (deceased), and Mary E. (deceased).  Dwight W. WARD was born February 12, 1849.  Coming to this town in 1859 he subsequently purchased what was known as WARD's Hotel, now called Park Hotel, which he conducted until 1883, when he engaged in the business of developing the oil fields and producing oil, in which he has been one of the most extensive operators in town.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 444

 

Surnames:  WILBER, PALMER

 

Henry WILBER was born in the town of Humphrey, and has one child, Henry S., who was born in Allegany, Jan. 21, 1884.  Mr. WILBER is manager of Sheldon's Allegany cheese factory.  His father, Philo C. WILBER, came from Onondaga county to this county when about nine years of age.  He married Catherine PALMER.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Pages 444 & 445

 

Surnames:  WILLARD, REYNOLDS, HUNTLEY

 

Erastus WILLARD, son of Sherlock and Elizabeth (REYNOLDS) WILLARD, was born in Lisle, N. Y. March 23, 1823, while his parents were moving from Fort Edward to Cattaraugus county.  The family settled in Franklinville.  In the fall of 1843 he came to Allegany (then Burton) and taught a district school, which closed in March, 1844.  In December of this year he began his mercantile life in this town.  Mr. WILLARD began a small business with small means, and constantly increased both until he finally had one of the largest and best stores in western New York.  He took an active interest in local Democratic politics, and was supervisor in 1850 and from 1865 to 1867 inclusive, and served his town as justice of the peace about forty years.  In 1877 he was his party's candidate for member of Assembly, but his district being overwhelmingly Republican he was defeated.  He was loyal and true during the Rebellion, and although he was not drafted he nevertheless, in accordance with his convictions of duty, placed a substitute in the army.  April 26, 1848, he married Harriet A., daughter of Henry HUNTLEY and a native of Herkimer, N. Y., and granddaughter of Abner HUNTLEY, who was born near Bunker Hill, Mass., in 1767.  Her father was born in 1804 and she was born in Cuba, N. Y., Dec. 25, 1828.  Mr. WILLARD's children were Charles, born in Allegany, March 11, 1849, died Nov. 10, 1865; Clare, born July 28, 1870, who is his father's successor in business and the proprietor of WILLARD's Stock Farm; and Hattie, born Aug. 5, 1872, died Sept. 7th following.  Mr. WILLARD died Dec. 31, 1889.  Mr. and Mrs. WILLARD were active members of the Methodist Episcopal church of Allegany and he was one of its liberal supporters.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 445

 

Surnames:  WILTSE, HALL, JONES, WILBER, KENYON, VAN BRUNT

 

William WILTSE was a native of Marcellus, Onondaga county, and was born April 2, 1802.  On the 26th of April, 1821, he married Sophia HALL, who was born in Connecticut on March 10, 1800.  They came to Allegany in the spring of 1848 and the next year built a hotel, which they kept until 1859, when they engaged in farming, continuing in it until his death Oct. 7, 1865, her death occurring June 5, 1874.  Their children were Cornell, Charles C., and Danford W.  Cornell WILTSE, born May 16, 1824, came to this town with his parents, and married Electa JONES, of Hinsdale; they have one child, Wesley C., a Baptist preacher who married Louisa WILBER, of Allegany.  Charles C. WILTSE was born December 19, 1827, and died May 28, 1866.  Dec. 7, 1847, he married Abigail KENYON, who survives him and resides in this town; their daughter Orcelia is the wife of Orran VAN BRUNT.  Danford W. WILTSE was born Aug. 17, 1833; he resides in Springville, N. Y.  Amos JONES, the father of Mrs. Cornell WILTSE, came with his wife Eliza to Allegany in 1841 and in 1867 removed to Minnesota.  They had eleven children.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 445

 

Surnames:  WING, BLOWER, CONNHAISER, BARNES

 

Asa S. WING was born in Oneida county, March 7, 1837.  He came to East Otto with his parents when twelve years of age.  He was a soldier in the late war in Co. G, 154th N. Y. Vols., and was taken prisoner at Gettysburg and confined in Libby prison.  He came to Allegany in 1865.  Mr. WING married, first, Louisa BLOWER, of Oneida county; their three children died in infancy.  His second wife, Catharine CONNHAISER, whom he married in June, 1862, was born in Germany, March 9, 1837.  Their children were Eliza L. (Mrs. Thomas A. BARNES), Nelson, Julia, Edward, Emma, Georgie Anna, Charles E., Elizabeth C., and Samuel.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 445

 

Surnames:  WOODARD, FRANKLIN

 

Frederick J. WOODARD, born in Bolivar, Allegany county, July 16, 1859, learned the printer's trade at Wellsville in the office of the Allegany County Reporter, and was employed three years in the Herald office in Olean.  In 1885 he came to Allegany and purchased the farm where he now lives.  He married Anna FRANKLIN, of Portround, Ontario, Canada, Oct. 26, 1881, and by her has had two children: George and Artiemarie.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Pages 445 & 446

 

Surnames:  ZINK, CRIQUIE, KENOCH, ROBINSON, MULTRUS, SMITH, LINEHART, REITZ, BRITCHEL

 

William F. ZINK, born in Germany, Feb. 3,1828, emigrated to Buffalo with his parents in 1831.  He came to this town in 1855 and is engaged in farming.  Mr. ZINK married, Feb. 3, 1851, May C. CRIQUIE, who was born in Buffalo, Oct. 9, 1829.  She is said to have been the first German child born in that city.  Their children were William, Jr., born Nov. 23, 1851, married Rickey KENOCH; Minnie, born Feb. 3, 1853, married John W. ROBINSON; Frank, born June 8, 1856, married Rosa MULTRUS; Libbie born April 15, 1859, married, first, April 24, 1877, Sebastian SMITH, who died Sept. 13, 1880, and second, Sept. 18, 1883, Joseph H. MULTRUS, and their children are Mary, Libbie, and Joseph, Jr., Mrs. MULTRUS's first children being Frank and Nellie SMITH; John F., born May 5, 1861, married Lizzie LINEHART; George H., born June 6, 1865, married Mary REITZ; Mary Z., born Aug. 7, I870, died Sept. 28, 1870; and Mary M., born June 29, 1872.  Francis ZINK, father of William F. ZINK, was born in Germany in 1800.  He there married Bridget BRITCHEL, who with him came to America in 1831, settling at Eden Corners, Erie county.  He died May 29, 1855, in Allegany, at the residence of his son.  His wife survived him until April 9, 1880.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Allegany – Chapter XVIII (18)

Page 446

 

Surnames:  ZISTER, WEAVER, HYDE

 

Michael ZISTER, born in Germany about 1818, came to Buffalo about 1850, and a few years later settled in Allegany.  He had thirteen children, of whom seven are living.  His wife was Louisa A. WEAVER, who died in 1888.  Michael ZISTER died in 1867.  John ZISTER, son of Michael, was born in Buffalo, Jan. 3, 1856.  He came to Allegany with his parents and married Elizabeth, daughter of Sebastian HYDE, Aug. 16, 1880.  They have had born to them five children, viz.: Edna C., Alice L., Clara E., Clarence, and Laura A.

 

================================================================================

 

TOWN OF ASHFORD

 

BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES FROM: "HISTORICAL GAZETTEER AND BIOGRAPHICAL MEMORIAL of CATTARAUGUS COUNTY, NY, ed by WILLIAM ADAMS, Published 1893

 

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Page 453

 

Surnames:  ALDRICH, ENSWORTH, BALDWIN

 

Jirah S. ALDRICH, son of Rev. Adon ALDRICH, was born in Walrath, Wayne county, Nov. 20, 1823, removed to Fabius, and in 1852 came to Ashford, where he purchased of Andrew STEVENS the farm where he now resides.  His father, who resided with him, died in July of that year.  Mr. ALDRICH taught common and singing schools several years, served as town superintendent of schools two years, and justice of the peace eight years.  He has been identified with the Congregational church since its organization.  He married Cordelia H., daughter of Tracy ENSWORTH, by whom he has children as follows: Leroy, of Williams, Iowa;  Cornelia, deceased;  Alma (Mrs. O. A. BALDWIN) of Bradford, Pa.; and Fred, of Ashford.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Pages 453 & 454

 

Surnames:  BIGELOW, GODDARD, SAMPSON

 

Job BIGELOW came from Brookline, Vt., to Ashford in 1825 and settled on the farm which Miss C. GODDARD now owns, and where he reared his ten children.  His son, Charles C. BIGELOW, was born in Brookline, Vt., Dec. 18, 1807 and removed to Ashford in 1825.  A few years later he began business for himself and bought the farm where his son Henry now lives.  He never "sought place or position, but was often chosen to fill positions of responsibility and trust".  He was an Odd Fellow and a Mason and was buried with Masonic honors.  He married Roxana, daughter of Peter SAMPSON, by whom he had ten children;  those now living are William W., Caroline, Henry W., Maria, Adaline and Charles D.  William W. resides in Chicago, Charles D. in Buffalo and the others in Ashford.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Page 454

 

Surnames:  BLOCK, KRUSE

 

Joseph BLOCK was born in Mechlenberg [sic], Germany, and came to America in 1854 and to Ashford in 1857.  He married Dora, daughter of Frederick KRUSE;  their children were Charles, John, William L., Sophia, and Mary.  William L. BLOCK came to America with his parents at the age of twelve years.  Oct. 5, 1861, he enlisted in Co. I, 44th N. Y. Vols., and served three years, participating in the battles of Malvern Hill (where he was wounded), Fair Oaks, and Williamsburg.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Page 454

 

Surname:  CARTER

 

Joseph T. and Norman B. CARTER came to Ashford from Darien, Genesee county, in March, 1821, and purchased a quarter section of lot 45.  They were bachelors and kept their own house.  N. B. was one of the first school commissioners and was a justice of the peace in 1834, and taught one of the first schools in the town in the winter of 1822-1823.  These brothers removed to Michigan in 1835.  Their brother, Russell M. CARTER, who had visited Ashford in 1822, settled on a part of lot 45 in 1825 and later located on the farm where William and George SHULTIS first settled in 1818.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Page 454

 

Surnames:  CHAMBERLAIN, EHMAN, HUNTLEY, WILLIS, McKAY, HICKS, BEMIS

 

Hiram CHAMBERLAIN, son of Piny CHAMBERLAIN, a native of Massachusetts, came from Genesee county to Ashford in 1832.  He made the first settlement on the farm now owned by Christian EHMAN.  His children were Cordelia, widow of Daniel HUNTLEY, of Ellicottville; Lucinda, widow of Hezekiah WILLIS, of Little Valley; Joanna (Mrs. H. V. R. McKAY), of Ellicottville; Hudson, of West Valley; and Martha (Mrs. HICKS), deceased.  He filled several town offices and spent the last years of his life with his son Hudson, where he died March 28, 1882, aged eighty-two years.  Hudson CHAMBERLAIN was born in Ashford, Oct. 21, 1833.  He began the trade of a carpenter at the age of twenty and has since been a successful contractor and builder.  He has held several town offices.  He married Julia A., daughter of Edwin BEMIS, of Ashford, and they have two children, Cora E. and Edwin B.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Page 454

 

Surnames:  COLE, BIGELOW, BEMIS

 

Daniel Mansfield COLE was the oldest of four children of a crippled father, and was born in Dummerston, Vt.  His first wife was Polly BIGELOW, and together they came to Cattaraugus county while it was yet a wilderness, arriving in Ashford on November 26, 1826, with five children.  Mrs. COLE died September 22, 1834, and Mr. COLE married, second, December 26, 1835, Nancy BIGELOW, a sister of his first wife.  She died May 23, 1838, and he married for the third time, July 18, 1843, Polly BEMIS.  Mr. COLE passed through many vicissitudes of prosperity and adversity, but throughout his long life he was esteemed and honored for sterling qualities of head and heart.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Page 454

 

Surnames:  CONRAD, LEEZER

 

Peter CONRAD, son of Jacob, a native of Germany, came to America with his father in 1847 and settled first in Hamburg, N.Y.  In 1866 he came to Ashford.  He married Wilhelmina LEEZER and has five children: Peter, Carrie, Lottie, Lora, and George.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Pages 454‑455

 

Surnames:  DEMON, BROOKS, SAMPSON, FOLTS, DAVIS

 

Abel DEMON emigrated from Ware, Mass., and settled in Ashford in 1836 on the farm now occupied by Joseph DEMON.  He married Catharine BROOKS, and they had nine children, namely: Judah, Edmond, Angeline, Betsey, Lydia. Wesley, Joseph, Catharine, and Charles.  Joseph DEMON, who came to Ashford with his parents, married Parmelia SAMPSON, by whom he had three children: Lydia (Mrs. A. C. FOLTS), of Ashford; Addison, of Yorkshire; and Margaret (Mrs. George W. DAVIS), of  Yorkshire.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Page 455

 

Surnames:  EHMAN, CARTER, HAUFFMAN, GROFF

 

Frederick EHMAN, a native of Germany, came to America in 1853 and soon afterward settled on the farm now owned by John CARTER in Ellicottville.  He married Augusta HAUFFMANN, who bore him nine children.  Christian EHMAN, their son, born Feb. 5, 1843, came to America with his parents and Aug. 30, 1861, enlisted in Co. E, 5th N. Y. Cav. (First Ira Harris Guards) and served until Dec. 31, 1863, when he was discharged.  He re-enlisted and served until July 19, 1865.  He was detailed as a scout under W. Boise and for a time was his orderly.  He was color-bearer at Gainsboro and carried the flag presented to the regiment by the ladies of New York.  In his hands it received its first and only shot.  Mr. EHMAN is a farmer, and was instrumental in organizing the Northern Farmers’ Agricultural Association, being its president the first two years of its existence.  He settled in West Valley in 1873.  By his wife, Sophia GROFF, he has had these children: Walter C., Frank C. J.,  Dorothy M. R. J., and Rosetta A. K.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Page 455

 

Surnames:  EMERSON, CHASE

 

William L. EMERSON came from Windham county, Vt., in 1840.  He married in Vermont Miss Maria CHASE, and their children were William F., Edward, Hiram, Mary, Sylvia, Clarissa and Arnold.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Page 455

 

Surnames:  FOLTS, CLAPSADDLE, VAN SLYKE, MUNGER, FRANK, UPSON

 

Joseph FOLTS came to this town in 1832 from Herkimer county.  He was an axe maker by trade.  He married Elizabeth CLAPSADDLE, who bore him ten children, of whom those living are William, of Mansfield; Sally, widow of John VAN SLYKE, of Sardinia; Elizabeth (Mrs. Justin MUNGER), of Little Valley; and Oliver, of Ashford.

 

Timothy FOLTS, son of Joseph, settled in Ashford about 1834.  He was a moulder by trade, but gave his attention to farming.  In 1853 he purchased the farm where his son, Allen C. FOLTS, now lives, and where he died in May, 1872.  He married Mary, daughter of John FRANK, of Ashford, and of their nine children only Wealthy (Mrs. Robert FRANK) and Mary (Mrs. Solomon UPSON), of Springville, Frank and Newton, of Machias, and Allen C. are living.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Page 455

 

Surnames:  FOX, BROOKS

 

Javan FOX removed from Fabius, N.Y., to Ashford in 1825 and purchased of his uncle, Marsena BROOKS, the farm where George O. FOX now lives.  He cultivated his large farm and was a teamster between Buffalo and Ellicottville.  He was employed to haul the lime for the county buildings in Ellicottville; he dealt in flour and salt and later was a merchant several years.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Page 455

 

Surnames:  FRANK, OYER, WEBER

 

Jacob FRANK was born in Frankfort, Herkimer county, in 1800.  He came to Ashford in 1817, but soon returned, and came again in 1831, settling permanently on the farm now owned by Adam OYER.  Mr. FRANK was a boatman on the Erie canal, and through him many emigrants were induced to settle in Ashford and vicinity.  He married Margaret WEBER and had eleven children.  In 1846 and 1847 he represented the town on the Board of Supervisors.  The family has been a prominent and substantial one in the history of Ashford.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Page 455

 

Surnames:  FULLER, HUGHEY

 

Almon FULLER, of Orwell, Vt., settled on Cattaraugus creek, in Erie county, in September, 1810.  In 1831 he removed to Ashford and located on the farm now owned by Edverdo HUGHEY.  He reared ten children, of whom only Almon, who resides in Ashford with his son Albert and Betsey are living.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Page 455

 

Surnames:  GIBSON, WAITE, ALDRO, TIBBETTS, SMITH

 

William GIBSON came to this town from Genesee county in 1834 and bought the improvements of Lorenzo WAITE, the farm where John ALDRO lives.  He worked at carpentering and farming.  He married Charlotte TIBBETTS, and of their seven children, Anna, John, Juliette, Garry, Peter, and Lavilla (Mrs. E. B. SMITH) are living.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Page 456

 

Surnames:  GROAT, NEFF, MABEE, DRAPER, NELLIGAN

 

Jasper GROAT settled in this town in 1829 where James NEFF now lives.  He came from Montgomery county.  His wife Maria, daughter of Uriah MABEE, bore him ten children, of whom eight are living, viz: Jerry, Uriah, John, Seth, Esley, Susan, Hurmey, and Deborah.  John GROAT, a native of Ashford, served in the war of the Rebellion, and married, first, Emily DRAPER, who was the mother of two children, Frank S. and Mary.  He married, second, Margaret NELLIGAN, by whom he has four children: Charles E., Jasper C., Jennie and Earl E.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Page 456

 

Surnames:  HADLEY, HOLLAND, THOMAS

 

Cornelius HADLEY came to Ashford in 1842.  Alonzo and William HADLEY, sons of Jesse HADLEY, came to this town from Brattleboro, Vt., in 1843, and purchased the farm now owned by Otis HOLLAND.  Later Alonzo purchased the farm on which he now lives.  Nelson H., another son of Jesse HADLEY, came from Brattleboro, Vt., to Ashford in April, 1850, and purchased the farm where his son Henry H. now lives.  He died July 6, 1867.  By his wife, Catharine THOMAS, he had two children, Henry H. and Willard, both of Ashford.  Mr. HADLEY was a member of the Congregational church and much esteemed by his neighbors.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Page 456

 

Surnames:  HANSON, HUGHEY

 

Cornelius HANSON came to Ashford in 1836 from Glen, Montgomery county, and settled on land now owned by George HUGHEY.  Four of his six children are living: R. Hudson, Sarah A., Margaret, and Peter W.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Page 456

 

Surnames:  HOLDEN, GREEN, PRATT, WOODWORTH, ROBBINS

 

Arnold HOLDEN, son of Edward, a descendant of George HOLDEN of Revolutionary fame, removed from North Adams to Aurora , Erie county, and in 1829 settled in the town of Ashford.  He built one of the first framed buildings in town for the purpose of carrying on the business of carding wool and dressing cloth, and eventually used it for manufacturing cloth.  It was one of the first establishments of the kind in the county.  This he run successfully until the business declined, when Mr. HOLDEN became a farmer.  He was prominent in the affairs of his town and used his influence to advance the cause of education and the general good of society.  He was supervisor in 1831 and a justice of the peace a quarter of a century.  He also served as justice of sessions.  Mr. HOLDEN removed from Ashford about 1865 and died in Bradford, Pa., in 1869.  He reared ten children, all living: Julia (Mrs. A. M. GREEN): June M. (Mrs. N. PRATT): Sarah A. (Mrs. M. WOODWORTH): John R., of Franklinville: Amos B., of Sparta, Wis.:  Martha A. (Mrs. L. C. ROBBINS) and William A., of Ashford: Edwin C., of Topeka: Dennison F., of Oviatt, Mich.: and Nelson H., of White, S.D.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Page 456

 

Surnames:  HUFSTADER, ALLEN, DYGERT, BLOCK, FOX, HOLLAND, HUGHEY

 

Michael C. HUFSTADER came to Ashford from Frankfort, N.Y. in 1822, making the journey on foot and carrying his provisions on his back.  He came to live with his uncle Michael HUFSTADER, who had preceded him in 1820, but soon after “bound himself out” to Seth ALLEN, of Springville, and engaged in the manufacture of pearlash and potash.  In 1831 he married Sally, daughter of Abram DYGERT, of Frankfort, and settled in Ashford on the farm now owned by John BLOCK.  He was fond of hunting and fishing.  He killed a great number of deer and wildcats, and once or twice each season he made a fishing trip to Lake Erie.  The children of Mr. and Mrs. HUFSTADER were Willard, of Salem, Ore.; Michael, deceased: Hannah C. (Mrs. George O. FOX), of Ashford; and Mary E. (Mrs. John HOLLAND), Abram, and Sadie (Mrs. E. HUGHEY), also of Ashford.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Pages 456 ‑ 457

 

Surnames:  HUGHEY, McMICKLE, FOLTS, VEDDER

 

George HUGHEY, born of Scotch parentage in Dublin, Ireland, Dec. 14, 1803, learned the trade of paper making, and at the age of twenty-one emigrated to America, where he followed his avocation several years, and conducted a grocery and bakery in Schenectady.  In 1840 he came to Ashford and purchased and cleared the farm now owned by his son George H.  He served as highway commissioner, and both he and his wife were active members of the Baptist church.  He was honest and charitable.  He married Marry McMICKLE, who bore him eleven children: Mary A.; Eliza J.; James, of Ellicottville; John, 1st, drowned at Schenectady; John, 2d, born in Ashford, Sept. 24, 1847, married Ida FOLTS, of Mansfield, and has four children, Carl B., Claude L., Neil and Guy; Matilda; Catherine; Ellen; George H., born in Ashford, Oct. 9, 1843, owns the homestead, and for several years has been a dealer in live stock, produce, and real estate; Robert, a merchant in Ashford Hollow; and Rosanie.  George H. HUGHEY served Ashford on the Board of Supervisors in 1883, 1885, and 1892, and has held other town offices.  He married Adaliza, daughter of John A. VEDDER, of Ellicottville, and their children are Eugene G. and Vedder G.  Edverdo HUGHEY, son of James, served as highway commissioner in 1888 and 1889.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Page 457

 

Surname: KRUSE

 

Herman KRUSE came to Ashford in 1858 and settled on the place where Henry KRUSE now lives.  William C. KRUSE represented the town on the Board of Supervisors in 1879 and 1880.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Page 457

 

Surnames:  LAMPMAN, FRANK

 

John LAMPMAN, from Schoharie county, settled in Ashford on the farm now owned by Elmer FRANK.  He cleared the place and died aged 102 years.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Page 457

 

Surnames:  MULTER, WIDRIG, FRENCH, HINMAN, PICKETT, FOLTS

 

Peter A. MULTER came from Camillus, Onondaga county, to Ashford in 1831 and settled on the farm where his son Gilbert now lives.  He spent much of his life from home repairing clocks and watches.  He married Elizabeth WIDRIG, of Herkimer county, and had born to him nine children, six of whom are living: Gilbert, Jacob, Lydia A. (Mrs. Lawrence FRENCH), of Ashford, Margaret (Mrs. HINMAN), of Ellicottville, Eliza (Mrs. Eli PICKETT), of Wisconsin, and Adaline (Mrs. O. FOLTS), of Ashford.  Gilbert MULTER is a farmer on the old homestead.  Jacob MULTER has been engaged in the furniture and undertaker’s trade since 1859, and has served as justice of the peace about twenty-five years.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Page 457

 

Surnames:  MURPHY, KIMBALL, HOLLAND, RICE, WEAVER, HOLDEN, PIERCE, BUCK, KRUSE, REED

 

Ormel MURPHY, son of John MURPHY, and grandson of John KIMBALL, a Revolutionary soldier, was born in Royalton, Vt., in 1801, came to Ashford in 1831 from Genesee county, and made the first settlement on the farm now owned by his son John L.  When Mr. MURPHY came to his home in the woods there were only the families of Nathaniel HOLLAND and William M. RICE living between him and Cattaraugus creek.  He married Minerva, daughter of Thomas WEAVER, of Darien, and their children were John L.; Betsey (Mrs. George HOLDEN), of Springville; Marilda (Mrs. John S. PIERCE), of Machias; and Omer, also of Machias.  John L. MURPHY was born in Darien, Oct. 28, 1830.  He was taught by his mother and with only two months at a select school, up to the age of eighteen, he began teaching in the common schools and continued for ten winter terms.  At the age of twenty-one, he was elected a justice of the peace, which office he held for thirty-five consecutive years.  He was supervisor of Ashford in 1881 and 1882 and is often employed as petfogger in justices’ courts.  He is a farmer and dealer in real estate.  He married, first, Calphurnia, daughter of Jeremiah BUCK, who was an early settler of Ellicottville.  Their children now living are Lucius J., of Bolivar; Orville W., a veterinary surgeon in Kansas; Albert H., of Ashford; and Lizzie (Mrs. William C. KRUSE), whose husband is president of Ridgeville College in Indiana.  Mr. MURPHY married, second, Adelphia, daughter of Stephen REED, a pioneer of Ashford who now resides in Little Valley.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Page 458

 

Surnames:  NEFF, BELLOWS, BARGY, CRARY

 

Andrew B. NEFF, son of De Nike NEFF, was born in Glen, Montgomery county, September 14, 1840, and came to Ashford to live with his uncle, Isaac BELLOWS, when twelve years old.  He received his education in the common schools and in Springville Academy and taught district schools six winter terms.  Mr. NEFF purchased a farm of James J. BARGY, and he added to it until he now has about 1,000 acres.  He also owns three cheese factories in Ashford and one in Ellicottville, in which he manufactures full-cream cheese from the milk of 1,200 cows.  Mr. NEFF has represented Ashford on the Board of Supervisors nine terms and has recently been elected for another year.  He is now one of the Board of Directors of the Farmers’ Bank of Springville.  He married Ann, daughter of Frederick CRARY, of Springville, and their children are Charles C., Alice A., Andrew B., and Ellen C.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Page 458

 

Surnames:  OYER, SMITH, HOLDEN, TEFFT, VEDDER, MILLER

 

John P. OYER, who came to Ashford from Herkimer county in 1827, made the first settlement on the farm now owned by Mrs. Sally SMITH.  His children were Philinda (Mrs. William A. HOLDEN), of Ashford; Mary (Mrs. Samuel TEFFT), of Springville; Betsey (Mrs. John A. VEDDER); and Sally (Mrs. William SMITH).  George OYER came from Herkimer county in 1828 and settled where his son Adam now lives.  His wife Mary MILLER bore him these children: Adam, Levi (deceased), David, and Simon.  The latter was born in Ashford, November 5, 1831, is a shoemaker and carpenter by trade, and is now a lumberman and miller.  Two of the OYER family, George and John, have represented the town of Ashford on the Board of Supervisors, the former in 1874 and the latter in 1886 and again in 1888.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Page 458

 

Surnames:  PETTENGILL, KELMER

 

Charles B. PETTENGILL was born in Wales, Erie county, February 15, 1848.  In the spring of 1862 he enlisted in the service of the Union, but was rejected on account of his youthful age.  December 5, 1863, he enlisted in Co. A, 14th Wis. Inf., and served until December, 1865.  He was wounded July 22, 1864, at the battle of Peach Tree Creek.  While running from rebel pickets at Black River, near Vicksburg, in March, 1864, he fell down the bank of the river, fifty feet, and seriously injured his spine.  After the war he engaged in the harness trade.  In 1882 he settled in West Valley.  He has been town clerk four years, postmaster of West Valley four years, and treasurer of the Ashford Fire Insurance Company seven years.  He married Louisa, daughter of Abram KELMER, of Washington county.  Their children are Allie, Mamie, Guy, and Rob Roy.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Page 458

 

Surnames:  PORTER, GILMORE, VAN AERNAM, RICHARDSON, BUFFINGTON, HERRICK

 

Aaron PORTER from Danby, Vt., settled in New Albion in 1836.  He married Sarah, daughter of David GILMORE.  Five children survive them: Electa J., widow of Richard VAN AERNAM, of New Albion; Chloe A. (Mrs. Lorenzo RICHARDSON) of Great Bay, Wis.; Weltha L. (Mrs. Augustus BUFFINGTON), of New Albion; Caroline (Mrs. Fillmore HERRICK), of New Albion; and Dr. Asher C., of Ashford.  For a sketch of Dr. A. C. PORTER, see page 118.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Page 458

 

Surnames:  PRATT, OYER, CLARK

 

John and Nathan PRATT, natives of Massachusetts, came to Ashford about 1825 and settled on lot 77.  John made the first settlement on land now owned by Adam OYER.  He died in 1869.  John PRATT’s children were Benjamin, of Ashford; Amos, deceased; Noah, of Franklinville; and Patience (Mrs. John CLARK), of Yorkshire.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Pages 458 & 459

 

Surnames:  PROCTOR, JONES

 

James PROCTOR, born in Quebec, Canada, came when young to Attica, N.Y., where he married Elizabeth JONES.  Their children now living are William H., John, Leonard, Harvey, and Ella.  William H. PROCTOR was born in Attica, June 4, 1859, came to Ashford with his parents in 1861, and in 1880 opened the first furniture and undertaker’s establishment in West Valley, which business he still successfully continues.  In 1881 he was elected town clerk and in 1882 justice of the peace, which latter position he has held consecutively to the present time.  He is serving a second term as deputy sheriff and is secretary of the Ashford Mutual Fire Insurance Company.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Page 459

 

Surnames:  QUACKENBUSH, NEFF, PRINCE, CARTER, BARGY

 

Peter QUACKENBUSH came to Ashford from Montgomery county in the fall of 1819, and made the first improvement on the farm now owned by A. B. NEFF.  His father, John H. QUACKENBUSH, joined him in 1821 and built the first tavern in town on his son’s farm.  He was a soldier in the Revolutionary war, and with his brother David was captured by the Indians, taken to Niagara, and while in captivity were compelled to run the gauntlet.  Peter QUACKENBUSH married Hannah PRINCE, daughter of Peter PRINCE, of Montgomery county.  Their children were Rebecca, who married Russell A. CARTER, and John, who was born in Montgomery county April 16, 1818.  John came to Ashford with his parents and has since been a resident of the town.  He is a farmer and served as a supervisor in 1870.  He married Mary E., daughter of Jacob P. BARGY, and of their six children four are living: John, of Eagle, Wyoming county; Clark P., of Ellicottville; George B., of Yorkshire; and Charles, of Ashford.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Page 459

 

Surnames:  SAMPSON, KELLOGG, GOODEMOTE, SHULTIS, McLEAN, BIGELOW, BENSLEY

 

Peter SAMPSON, a native of New Salem, Mass., was born in 1773.  He married Sarah KELLOGG in 1793, and to them thirteen children were born.  In 1816 he moved with his family to Concord, Erie county, and settled on the north side of Cattaraugus creek.  In 1822 he traded farms with John GOODEMOTE and moved over to the south side of the creek in the town of Ashford.  He was elected commissioner of highways in 1824, was supervisor from 1825 to 1830 inclusive and again in 1832 and 1833, and was afterward justice of the peace eight years.  He early contracted to carry the mail from Buffalo to Olean by way of Townsend hill, Springville, and Ellicottville.  This was the regular mail carried between these points.  He first went on horseback, then with a wagon, and finally with a stage coach, and continued as mail-carrier and expressman until his death Dec. 8, 1836.  His daughters married William SHULTIS, Royal McLEAN, Charles C. BIGELOW, and Truman BENSLEY.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Page 459

 

Surnames:  SHERMAN, TABOR, WHITNEY

 

Ebenezer C. SHERMAN came to Ashford from New Bedford, Mass., in 1822, and made the first settlement on the farm where his grandson, W. H. SHERMAN, now lives.  He assisted in cutting the road from his place to Ellicottville.  Mr. SHERMAN was a cabinet maker, but he gave his whole attention to his farm.  He married Constant TABOR, and their children were Charles, Mary A., Sarah, Clark, and Lydia.  Charles SHERMAN came to Ashford with his parents at the age of twelve years.  He was an exemplary Christian and a worthy member of the Methodist Episcopal church for more than fifty years, for forty of which he was a licensed exhorter.  He removed to Springville, where he died April 2, 1883.  Mr. SHERMAN married Mary, daughter of William H. WHITNEY, who came to Riceville in an early day and taught school in a log school house.  Mr. and Mrs. SHERMAN had nine children: Helen, Charles W., Mary O., Fanny, Angie H., Ebenezer C., William H., Hattie L., and Lucy C.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Pages 459 & 460

 

Surnames:  SMITH, WATKINS, GIBSON, ANDRES, PHILLIPS

 

Elsbree J. SMITH. ‑ Andrew WATKINS came to Ashford from Pennsylvania in 1839.  His grandson, Elsbree J. SMITH, came at the same time and learned the trade of a bricklayer and mason, which he has followed as an avocation.  Feb. 2, 1862, he enlisted in Co. K, 105th N. Y. Vols., as second sergeant.  He was wounded at the second Bull Run battle, was captured, and remained a prisoner of war until the next September, when he was paroled and removed to Fairfax Seminary Hospital.  He was exchanged and November following was discharged.  August 24, 1863, he re-enlisted in Co. C, 13th N. Y. H. A., and was first duty sergeant.  He served until September 24, 1865, when he again received an honorable discharge.  He married Luella, daughter of William GIBSON, and their children are Emma J. (Mrs. D. ANDRES), Sabra (Mrs. A. J. PHILLIPS), and Grant, all of East Bradford, Pa.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Page 460

 

Surnames:  STARKS,

 

Nathan STARKS became a resident of Machias in 1850.  Dec. 10, 1861, he enlisted in Co. K, 94th N. Y. Vols., was captured in front of Petersburg, was confined in Salisbury prison seven months, and was paroled and taken to Annapolis, Md., where he died April 2, 1865.  John D. STARKS enlisted Sept. 17, 1861, in Co. A, 106th N. Y. Vols., and re-enlisted in February, 1864.  He was wounded and captured at the battle of the Wilderness and died in Andersonville prison in September following.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Page 460

 

Surnames:  STOWELL, MEACHAM, WEAST, WILCOX, SCOTT

 

Ebenezer STOWELL, a native of Worcester, Mass., was born in 1782, married Hannah MEACHAM, who was born in New Salem, Mass., in 1787, and emigrated with his family to Ashford in 1836, where he died in 1845.  They had born to them eight children.  His son, Charles E. STOWELL, married Susan, daughter of Joseph WEAST.  Their children now living are Haplona (Mrs. Daniel WILCOX), of Springville; Mary (Mrs. Edwin SCOTT), of Springville; Charles E. STOWELL, Jr., of Ashford; and Luthera M., of Springville.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Page 460

 

Surname:  TILLINGHAST

 

Arthur O. TILLINGHAST was born in Sardinia, July 10, 1850, and came to West Valley in 1878, where he has since been engaged in mercantile business.  He was supervisor in 1884 and in various ways has shown much enterprise.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Page 460

 

Surnames:  TURNER, KELCH

 

Joseph TURNER, son of Dyer, came to Ashford from Frankfort, N. Y., in 1835.  He was a collier by trade.  He married Ellen KELCH, and their surviving children are Harriet E., Horace M., and Jerome J., the latter a soldier for three years in Co. D, 154th N. Y. Vols., being wounded in his right shoulder.  Horace M. TURNER is a resident of this town and Jerome J. of Great Valley.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Pages 460 & 461

 

Surnames:  WAIT, WAITE, BARLOW, LINCOLN, QUACKENBUSH, LEACH, HITCHCOCK, SCOTT

 

Dr. William WAIT, born at White Plains, N.Y., in 1784, came from Darien, Genesee county, and made the first settlement in West Valley in 1829.  With his sons he cut a road from Riceville to West Valley, and settled on the farm now owned by his grandson, Hudson WAITE.  He was for a long time the only doctor in the place.  He died May 20, 1873.  He had four sons and two daughters: Weston, Lorenzo D., Henry, Esek B., Fanny M., wife of Parmenus P. BARLOW, and Melissa, who married Apollos LINCOLN.  Lorenzo D. WAITE was born in January, 1807, and came to Ashford with his father.  Like many other pioneers they had a hard struggle to live.  Their homestead twice reverted to the Holland Land Company.  It was finally reclaimed and paid for by Lorenzo D., who in 1849 built a saw-mill on the site of the old tannery which was the only saw-mill in the place for several years.  Mr. WAITE was a Baptist.  He held several town offices, and in the State militia he attained the rank of captain.  He died February 12, 1877.  Mr. WAITE married, first, Laney QUACKENBUSH, of Ashford, who was the mother of Hudson, Charlotte, and Sarah A. (deceased).  He married, second, Nancy M., daughter of James LEACH, and their children were Lovinus B., a Union soldier who died in Lincoln hospital of fever contracted in front of Richmond; George N., of West Valley; and Ira, deceased.  Hudson WAITE was born December 16, 1834, and is a farmer and formerly a dealer in horses and cattle and breeder of fine Holstein cattle.  With his son he is now breeding thorough blooded Shropshire sheep, their fine flock numbering 160 head.  Mr. WAITE married Lydia A., daughter of James LEACH, and their children are James S., of Salamanca, and Bert L.  George N. WAITE, born January 26, 1847, was a farmer with his father until 1865, when he learned the carpenter’s trade.  For several years he has been a millwright and a contractor and builder.  Since 1882 he has also been a dealer in lumber.  He married Adelaide HITCHCOCK, of Ashford, who died and left one child, Thirza J.  He married, second, Mary J. SCOTT, of North Collins, N.Y.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Page 461

 

Surnames:  WEAST, SCHULTIS, GOODEMOTE, VOSBURG, SCHOONOVER, FULLER, COLE, DILLINGHAM, BOWEN, LINDSEY, WHITNEY

 

Conrad WEAST came from Schenectady in 1829 and was the first settler on the farm where his grandson, George W. WEAST, now lives.  Mr. WEAST married Anna, daughter of Martin SCHULTIS.  Their children were Stephen C., Sally, Francis, Susannah, Clark, and Lewis O.  Stephen C. WEAST, born in Schenectady, was six months of age when his parents came to Ashford.  He married Sally, daughter of John GOODEMOTE, and had five children: Augusta A., Julia E., Josephine (Mrs. William VOSBURG), George W., and John L.  George W. WEAST, born in Ashford, November 12, 1859, married Edna O., daughter of Daniel SCHOONOVER, of Tuscarora, N.Y.  Their children are Myrtle, George L., and Anna.

 

Benjamin WEAST was born in Schenectady and came to Ashford with his father.  He married Olive, daughter of Amos V. FULLER, and has eight children: Mary A. (Mrs. Ozro COLE), of Ashford; Catherine, widow of A. R. DILLINGHAM, of Arcade; Amos B.; Emeline (Mrs. L. F. BOWEN); Louisa (Mrs. E. LINDSEY), of Yorkshire; Franklin C., of Arcade; Sarah (Mrs. M. J. LINDSEY), of Franklinville; and Adelle (Mrs. C. WHITNEY), of Franklinville.

 

Amos B. WEAST was born in Ashford, and Aug. 8, 1862, enlisted in Co. D, 154th N. Y. Vols., serving to the close of the war.  He was promoted corporal in May, 1864, sergeant April 1, 1865, and was honorably discharged June 11, 1865.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Ashford – Chapter XIX (19)

Page 461

 

Surnames:  WEST, DOLE, DE WITT, HALL, OYER, STICKNEY, HITCHCOCK, QUACKENBUSH, DOX, PIKE, WEMPLE

 

Joseph WEST, son of Jonathan, was born in Galway, Saratoga county, settled in Sempronius, Cayuga county, and a few years later removed to Darien, Genesee county.  In 1839 he settled in this town on the farm now owned by Peter DOLE and eventually removed to West Valley, where he died.  He married Susan, daughter of Peter DE WITT, who bore him eleven children.  George N. WEST, second son of Joseph and Susan WEST, was born in Sempronius, September 25, 1820.  He came to Ashford with his parents, but returned to Darien in 1842, where he married Mary A., daughter of Rufus and Jerusha HALL, in 1849.  About 1844 he engaged in the sale of merchandise in Attica and in 1857 he settled permanently in Ashford.  About 1854 he built the first store in West Valley.  It was conducted by William C. WEST, and now forms the rear part of the building occupied by the postoffice and harness shop.  In 1858 he opened a store in West Valley, where he kept the first postoffice in 1860.  He used his influence in securing the line of railroad through the town of Ashford and was the agent of the railroad company in procuring the right of way.  In 1877 the company located a depot at Ashford Junction, which he had urged and recommended, and he was its station agent the ensuing five years, the postoffice there being named in his honor.  Mr. WEST served as supervisor of Ashford in 1867-68 and again in 1877.  In November, 1869, and in 1889 he was elected to the Assembly from his district.  Mrs. WEST died January 6, 1890.  By her he had these children: Clara A. (Mrs. G. W. OYER), of West Valley;  Leonidas D., a merchant of Dundee, N.Y.; and Ida M. (Mrs. C. D. STICKNEY), of Buffalo.  Mr. WEST married Mrs. Mary C. HITCHCOCK, of Oakland, Cal., December 10, 1891.

 

Rev. James L. WEST, son of Joseph WEST, was born in Ashford, June 22, 1838.  He began working for wages and supporting himself at thirteen years of age.  He obtained a common school education and engaged in farming.  He has also been a dealer in live stock for the past thirty years.  In 1878 he was licensed as a clergyman of the Free Baptist Church and is now the pastor of the church at Rawson.  He married Christina, daughter of John D. QUACKENBUSH; children: John E., Cora L. (Mrs. Charles G. DOX), and James C.

 

Lockward WEST came to Ashford in 1839.  He married Mary, daughter of Joshua PIKE, of Springville, who bore him two sons, Eugene and Charles.  His second wife was Emeline WEMPLE, by whom he had seven children: Simon, James, Mina, Fred, Dewitt, Susan, and Eddie.

 

================================================================================

 

TOWN OF CARROLTON

 

BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES FROM: "HISTORICAL GAZETTEER AND BIOGRAPHICAL MEMORIAL of CATTARAUGUS COUNTY, NY, ed by WILLIAM ADAMS, Published 1893

 

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 469

 

Surnames:  ADAMS, WADE, CORKINS

 

John Smith ADAMS, son of William and Magdalene (WADE) ADAMS, was born in Massachusetts, April 23, 1806.  His ancestors came from England to America about 1630.  In 1820, as near as can be ascertained, he came to Farmersville with his parents, where he married Theda CORKINS, January 17, 1831, who was born October 18, 1811.  In 1834, they emigrated to Ohio with a team and heavy wagon and settled in Lorain, on a farm adjoining his brothers, W.H.H. and Lyman.  He was there a farmer and a ship-carpenter and returned to Cattaraugus County in 1883 and spent the remainder of his old age with his son, Albert Quincy ADAMS, in where he died, March 21, 1889.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 469

 

Surnames:  ADAMS, NICHOLS, BOSWORTH

 

Albert Quincy ADAMS was born in Loraine, Ohio, July 14, 1844.  With his father's consent he enlisted in the 55th Ohio Infantry and was mustered in September 11, 1861, being honorably discharged November 5, 1862, on account of a gunshot wound in his left leg received at the second battle of Bull Run.  He returned home and was employed to drive a team for the government in Kentucky in the winter of 1863-64.  In the summer of 1864 he was employed on board a government tugboat on the Potomac and James rivers.  In the fall of 1864 he came to Carrolton and ran a stationary engine in the steam sawmill of Dr. J. NICHOLS for nine years.  He settled on the place where he now resides in 1868, and has since been a farmer.  December 5, 1866 he married Euthenia BOSWORTH and they have two sons and two daughters.  Their oldest child, May B., is a successful teacher.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 469

 

Surnames:  ANDREWS, WILMOT, IRVINE

 

Harper G. ANDREWS, son of Robert H. and Julia E. (WILMOT) ANDREWS, was born in Windsor, Broome county, February 3, 1845.  He was educated in the common schools, at Rogers Seminary at Great Bend, Pa., and at Lowell's Business College in Binghampton.  He was a farmer with his father until July 23, 1862, when, with his father's consent, he enlisted in Co. B, 137th NY Vols., and returned at the close of the war with the rank of first lieutenant.  He participated in all the events of his regiment, marched to the sea with Sherman, and returned by way of Richmond to Washington.  He led a charmed life and only received one gunshot wound in his right arm at the Battle of Peach Tree Creek.  He was honorably discharged June 20, 1865.  He was again a farmer with his father the ensuing two years.  In November, 1867, he settled in Limestone as a clerk and two years later engaged in the manufacture and sale of lumber, which he followed until 1881.  He then conducted a hotel up to 1890.  Mr. ANDREWS is a staunch Republican, and has been elected assessor and two times supervisor.  May 5, 1869, he married Mary A. IRVINE, of Carrolton.  They have had three children, all of whom died in early childhood.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Pages 469 & 470

 

Surnames:  BAILLET, WHITCOMB, LEONARD

 

Felix BAILLET, born November 22, 1802, married Aff. WHITCOMB, who was born April 11, 1807, and removed from  Farmersville to Limestone in the fall of 1852.  He built a small tannery, the first in town, and tanned leather and made boots and shoes.  His brother, Francis E. BAILLET, was clerk of Cattaraugus county for nine years.  Felix BAILLET was a great reader, well informed, was familiar with the bible, and loved an argument, especially with the clergymen.  He had a mind and will of his own.  He was supervisor of this town in 1867.  He removed with his family to Tullahoma, Tennesee, in 1868, where he still resides.  His father, Francis BAILLET, was born in Rocheforte, France in 1769, and died in Philadelphia in 1804.

 

John W. BAILLET, son of Felix, was born in Farmersville, March 12, 1837.  January 31, 1864, he married Abigail, daughter of Levi LEONARD.  He was a railroad conductor and train dispatcher for eighteen years.  He was always affable and kind.  He died in 1881.  His only surviving child is a son, Frank, born July 26, 1871. 

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 470

 

Surnames:  BEARDSLEY, BROMLEY, WHITAKER, HAZARD, LEONARD, IRVINE, HULL

 

John Odell BEARDSLEY was born in Dutchess county in 1779 and married Charity BROMLEY, of Delhi, NY.  Being a lumberman and merchant with his father they used the Delaware River as a means of transportation to and from Philadelphia.  Mr. BEARDSLEY removed to near Seneca Lake and in 1813 or 1814 to Chataqua County, where he was a successful lumberman until 1829, when he came to Tuna Valley and purchased several hundred acres of pine land in the township of Bradford, Pa., and engaged extensively in manufacturing lumber.  In February 1831, he brought his family to his log cabin.  In a few years he built a comfortable residence, the center of which was exactly on the state line.  He claimed his residence in Pennsylvania.  In 1836, with his sons John O. and William, he built a double mill on Foster Brook, where they were engaged in manufacturing lumber to the time of his death, April 23, 1842.  John O., William and Hiram were all lumbermen.  They had a tract of land along the state line in Carrolton which contained 2000 acres, from which they cut the timber.

 

J. O. BEARDSLEY was the river pilot for the family from the age of fifteen years and took millions of feet of lumber to market.  He became a prominent man in society and the first leader of the M.E. class organized in Carrolton in 1850.  He is now a farmer in Sardinia, Erie county.  Mr. BEARDSLEY married Alinda WHITAKER and his children are Malvina, born Nov. 10, 1836 of Arcade, NY; Louenza (Mrs. Richard HAZARD), of Limestone; Lucy, born May 6, 1842, wife of Joseph LEONARD, of Carrolton; Charles O., born May 10, 1844, of Duluth, Minn.; Louise J., born Oct. 27, 1846 (Mrs. M.W. Caffee), of Bradford; Millie A. , born Nov. 14, 1850 (Mrs. Guy C. IRVINE), of IRVINE's Mills; Clinton J., born Sept. 18, 1853, a farmer on the homestead; and Wilbur G., born Nov. 18, 1858. 

 

Hiram BEARDSLEY, youngest son of John O., Sr., was born March 25, 1825.  He married Mandana HULL, succeeded his father on the homestead, and gave his mother a home until she died in August, 1876, aged ninety-two years.  He built his present fine residence in 1880, north of of the State line.  In 1865, Hiram and William BEARDSLEY, with a company of capitalists, took the first leases of territory and made a test by drilling the first well in this region on land where the city of Bradford has since been built.  Although this well was not a success, because it was not bored deep enough, it established two facts:  that oil did exist in paying quantities, and that William and Hiram BEARDSLEY were the pioneers in the discovery of petroleum in Tuna Valley.  On the farm of Hiram BEARDSLEY is the first paying well in Carrolton.  This was drilled in the winter of 1875-76 and is still yielding oil.  William BEARDSLEY died in October, 1885.  He served the town as supervisor in 1855, 1856 and 1857.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 471

 

Surname:  BEDELL

 

Jacob BEDELL, a native of Branchville, NJ, was born March 1, 1840.  His parents removed to Owego in 1850, where he resided until 1860, when he joined them in Prompton, PA.  He then began business for himself as a jobber in lumbering.  He has since been a jobber and overseer of lumbering and peeling bark, except three years and a half spent on contract work in the coal mines.  In 1879 he began business as a jobber in peeling bark for Hoyt Brothers in Gouldsboro, Pa, which employed him there and in Hillsgrove, Pa. about six years.  Since then he has resided in Limestone and is the overseer for Hoyt Brothers in the business in which he has long been an expert.  Mr. BEDELL is efficient and trustworthy.  In March 1881, he married Emma ENGLER, of Gouldsboro, Pa.  they have two daughters, Maud and Frances M.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 471

 

Surname:  BIDEN

 

Rev. J.D. BIDEN, born in Buffalo, September 30, 1852, spent his boyhood in Cattaraugus county and acquired his early education in the common school on Whig Street in Little Valley.  After a short business career in Buffalo, he entered Niagara University in 1874 and in December 1879, received the degree of A.B.  After a two years’ course in theology he received in 1881 the degree of A.M. and was ordained to the priesthood of the Roman Catholic church June 3, 1882.  He then spent one year as assistant at West Seneca.  August 1, 1883,  he was appointed pastor of St. Patrick’s church of Limestone, where he still officiates.  Since coming to Limestone, he has purchased a cemetery for the parish, enlarged and greatly improved the parsonage, has wrought many other necessary improvements, and has built a small but neat church edifice at Carrolton village.  He has also started a fund to build a more commodious church at Limestone.  He served a term on the Board of Education.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 471

 

Surnames:  BISSELL, PULLEN, NICHOLS, PATON, BEEBE

 

Byron BISSELL , son of Aaron and Delilah (PULLEN) BISSELL, was born on the BISSELL homestead in Lyndon, November 5, 1849, and was educated in the common school and Ten Broeck Academy.  He was a farmer with his father until he attained his majority and the winter ensuing taught the district school where he had himself been taught.  He spent two years of the ensuing ten as druggist’s clerk with Dr. James NICHOLS in Limestone, two or three years on the home farm in Lyndon, where he held the offices of town clerk and justice of the peace, and the remainder of the period was engaged in the oil business in Pennsylvania.  August 26, 1880, he succeeded Dr. NICHOLS in the firm of NICHOLS & PATON, druggists, of Limestone.  Since 1883, when he purchased Mr. PATON’s interest, Mr. BISSELL has conducted the business alone.  He has held the positions of deputy postmaster and trustee and president of the village.  October 10, 1875, he married Ella BEEBE of Carrolton.  They have five children:  Jennie H., Clara M., Maud, and Leon B. and Lena (twins).

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 471

 

Surnames:  BOSWORTH, PAGE, ADAMS, NICHOLS

 

Alonzo BOSWORTH was born in Marion, Wayne county, June 17, 1823, and moved with his parents to  New Hudson, Allegany county when about five years old where his parents resided to the close of their lives.  Alonzo BOSWORTH married, in November, 1854, in Allegany county, Amelia PAGE, who died in June, 1855 and in February, 1861, he married second, Sarah ADAMS, who was born in Deerfield, Oneida county in 1832.  Her father, Israel ADAMS, was a native of New Hampshire and of English descent.  Mr. BOSWORTH is a lumberman and has been employed as head sawyer and manager of the lumber firm of NICHOLS & Co. for more than twenty years.  He now gives his attention to his farm.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Pages 471 & 472

 

Surnames:  BROWN, SMITH, ARMSTRONG, SEYMOUR

 

Ansel J. BROWN, youngest child of Erastus BROWN, a pioneer of Mansfield, was born on the homestead January 8, 1849, was reared a farmer, and was educated in the district school.  His father died when he was only eleven years old.  At eighteen, he and his brother Levi bought the homestead and together cultivated it about twenty years.  In the spring of 1883 Mr. BROWN opened a general store at Union Corners, near his old home, where he remained until the spring of 1887, when he purchased his present sore in Limestone.  In 1875 he made an extensive tour through California.  April 6, 1870, Mr. BROWN married Ellen L., daughter of Lorenzo H. SMITH, of Mansfield.  Their children are Harry, who married Miss ARMSTRONG;  Clara (Mrs. George SEYMOUR); and Melva.  Mr. BROWN is a musician and Mrs. BROWN conducts a millinery store.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 472

 

Surnames:  CARMODY, O’DAY, SCANLON

 

John CARMODY was born in county Clare, Ireland, in 1823.  He resided in England three or four years, where he married Mary O’DAY, a native of Ireland, and born in 1830.  They came to New York City in 1853; he was engaged on the Erie and New York Central Railroads until 1858, when he came to Limestone, where he was employed in the tannery until 1866.  He then purchased a wood lot of fifty acres in the neighborhood known as New Ireland, where he resided about two years.  In November, 1869, he settled on the farm where he now resides.  This farm, with the aid of his industrious sons,  he has converted into well-cultivated fields and a good home.  In March, 1875, he leased fifty acres of his farm for oil purposes, with a royalty of one-eighth net to himself, and has an income from six producing wells.  Mr. and Mrs. CARMODY have had born to them eight children, three of whom died young.  Those now living are Michael, Kate M., John F., Mary, and Ellen A.  Michael and John are contractors and jobbers in drilling oil and gas wells; Kate M. and Ellen A. are teachers;  Mary (Mrs. M. SCANLON) resides in Bradford, Pa.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 472

 

Surnames:  COGSWELL, LAWTON, BROOKS, TALLMAN, LAWSON

 

Mason W. COGSWELL, son of Samuel, was born in Warren, Pa., November 4, 1822, and about 1847 came to Carrolton, where he began manufacturing square timber and pine shingles.  With four or five others he lived in a shanty kept by a mulatto.  When their raft of timber arrived at Warren Mr. COGSWELL took charge of it and ran it down to Pittsburgh.  He was known as one of the most capable pilots on the river.  Until 1882 or ’83 he made dozens of trips a pilot and was successful with all but one.  In 1853 he settled where he now resides and is engaged in farming.  August 1, 1851 he married Sarah LAWTON, who bore him these children:  Adelaide and Hannah, who died in childhood;  Chloe A. (Mrs. W. BROOKS), born April 3, 1857, died February 10, 1877;  John L., born August 23, 1859, married Sylvia TALLMAN, of Minnesota and resides on the homestead with his father;  and Perry M., born February 10, 1862, also with his father.  Mrs. COGSWELL died February 10, 1863.  January 1, 1874 he married second, Phoebe LAWSON.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 472

 

Surnames:  COWEN, HILL

 

George J. COWEN was born in Candor, Tioga county, in June 1840.  His father was a shoemaker and later a grocer in Limestone, where he died in 1873.  August 6, 1862, George J. enlisted in Co. C, 109th N. Y. Volunteers, and he participated in all the events of his regiment for two years, when he was sent to the hospital to recover from an amputated finger.  He left before it was fairly healed and assisted in repelling the attempted assault on Washington.  Soon afterward he was transferred to the 13th Veteran Reserve Corps, from which he was discharged July 13, 1865.  He immediately settled in Limestone, where he was a grocery man with his father one year.  Mr. COWEN has served as constable since 1885, and since 1882 he has been police constable of Limestone.  August 29, 1865, he married Anna A. HILL, and their children now living are Fred C., Georgianna N., and Luney M.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Pages 472 & 473

 

Surname:  CROWLEY

 

John J. CROWLEY, son of Dennis, was born in Cattaraugus, May 12, 1866, and attended the Union Free School of his native village.  He began to learn telegraphy at the age of fourteen, and became an operator for the Buffalo, Rochester and & Pittsburgh railroad at the age of sixteen.  One year later he was operator and clerk at Mt. Jewett, Pa., and two years afterward was made station agent of Limestone, taking charge March 1, 1886.  His is a family of railroad men.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 473

 

Surnames:  DREHMER, COMMON

 

Jacob G. DREHMER was born in Dansville, NY, February 2, 1844; enlisted August 1, 1862 on Co. B, 1st N. Y. Dragoons, and was honorably discharged June 10, 1865.  Mr. DREHMER participated in the battle of Cold Harbor, where he received an injury in his left leg and was excused from duty in consequence for about a week, but did not leave his regiment.  He was present also at the Wilderness, Winchester, Cedar Creek, Yellow Tavern, Fisher’s Hill, the siege of Suffolk, and other battles and skirmishes.  Since returning from the army, he has pursued his trade as a manufacturer of boots and shoes.  Mr. DREHMER married Julia L. COMMON, of Angelica, NY, and they have one son.  Mr. DREHMER is a Republican.  Both are members of the Methodist church, of which he is one of the trustees, having held the position the last fourteen years.  He has also served as superintendent of the Sunday school.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 473

 

Surnames:  FRANK, MULTER, WATERS

 

Daniel FRANK, son of Daniel, a pioneer of Ashford, married Catherine, daughter of Peter MULTER, also a pioneer of Ashford.  He was a farmer and blacksmith.  He came to Vandalia and built the fences from Olean to Dunkirk for the Erie railroad by contract.  He also carried on his trade of blacksmith, and was the superintendent in the construction of the State road from Vandalia to Great Valley.  In 1861 he enlisted in the 64th NY Inf. for three years.  He stood six feet three and one-half inches in his stockings.  The exposures of army life brought on inflammatory rheumatism, and after a period of treatment in the hospital he was discharged an invalid.  He returned home about eleven months after he entered the service and died two years later.  Mrs. FRANK died October 25, 1888.  Their son, Clark FRANK, was born in Otto, March 27, 1844.  August 31, 1862 , he enlisted in 111th N. Y. Inf., participated in all the engagements of the Army of the Potomac, was never in the hospital nor away from his company until he received a wound from a minieball that struck him a little above the heart, passed through his left lung and out at his back.  By a strange coincidence his brother Sylvester, a soldier in the 61st Regiment, received precisely such a wound the same day and in the same battle.  They were treated in the same ward of the hospital by the same surgeon, recovered at the same time, were honorably discharged June 14, 1865, and went home together.  November 7, 1868, Clark FRANK married Lucina WATERS, of Limestone.  He conducted a grocery in Carrolton and was a lumberman until about 1870.  He was successively baggagemaster, telegraph operator, and three years   station agent at Limestone.  Since 1888 he has been a farmer.  Mr. FRANK has officiated as justice of the peace eight years, and has held several other town offices.  He has five children.  James D. FRANK, son of Daniel, was born March 23, 1854.  He learned telegraphy without a tutor, was assistant station agent at Carrolton, and for eight years was station agent at Great Valley.  He is now the station agent and telegraph operator at Vandalia.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Pages 473 & 474

 

Surnames:  FULLER, KENYON, McMILLEN, LEONARD, JONES

 

Chase FULLER, son of John and Betsey FULLER, was born in Piermont, NH, April 18, 1797, received a good business education, and married Nancy KENYON, of Holland, NY on May 5, 1822.  She was born January 12, 1802 at Stanley, Connecticut.  They came to Freedom in the winter of 1839-40.  In February 1844, they removed to Carrolton on lot 25, where the village of Limestone has since been built.  His residence, a two story log house, was located where the Bateman house now stands.  Mr. FULLER was an extensive farmer and a manufacturer and dealer in pine lumber, which he rafted down the river to Cincinnati.  In 1846 he opened a general mercantile establishment where the Tuna Valley store now stands.  Mr. FULLER was a man of good business ability, well informed, and a leading and prominent citizen.  He was elected supervisor of Carrolton in 1844 and represented the town ten years and held the same office in Humphrey four years.  He officiated as magistrate over forty years and as associate judge of the county several terms.  As magistrate, he was the trial justice and officiated at nearly 200 weddings.  Early in life he began practice in justice’s courts and continued successfully until old age compelled him to relinquish the work.  In the spring of 1857 he removed to Humphrey, where he gave his attention to his farm, the various offices which he held, and his law practice.  In 1868, he removed to Virginia, where he was postmaster; but five years later returned to Carrolton, where he died January 25, 1880.  Mrs. FULLER survived him until December 24, 1887.  Their children were:  Philetus M.,  born May 4, 1823, now of Smethport , Pa, a soldier in the union army five years, a magistrate eight years, associate judge five years,  county commissioner six years, and has been a heavy oil producer;  Lafayette T.,  born March 25, 1825, living near Bradford, PA;  Manley C., born April 3, 1827, a magistrate in Carrolton several years, removed to Rochester, Minnesota in 1865, was elected to the legislature in 1868 and in 1870;  Dolly P., born May 8, 1829, widow of Marcus McMILLEN, of Olean;  Romanzo E., born May 22, 1833, married Harriet, daughter of Calvin LEONARD, September 11, 1853 and their children are Herbert C., a railroad bridge builder in Nebraska, Jerome H., a farmer and oil well driller near Limestone, and Sam R., an oil producer in Forest county, PA;  Desire E., born November 3, 1835, widow of Almanzer JONES, of Allegany;  and Millard F., born February 15, 1850, died at the age of fourteen years.  Romanzo E. FULLER is a carpenter and builder by trade, which until recently has been his avocation.  He was elected magistrate of Carrolton in 1866 and has served in that position twenty-four years.  He has also held other important town offices.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 474

 

Surnames:  GREENWOOD, ROCKWELL

 

Joseph GREENWOOD, son of Robert, was born in Manchester, England in 1843, emigrated to America with his parents in 1848, and settled fi rst in Massachusetts, where he resided until twelve years old.  His mother died in 1855, and Joseph then had a home with his grandparents in Patterson, NJ, with whom he lived until 1859, when he became an apprentice to the trade of tinner in Orange, NJ, where he remained until 1862.  He then enlisted in the 26th N. J. Vols. and was honorably discharged June 7, 1863.  In March 1864, he enlisted in the US Navy and was discharged in June 1865.  Mr. GREENWOOD settled on Oil creek in August, 1865, and was a tinner there until 1871, when he began dealing in hardware and oil supplies in Salem. PA.  In 1876, he came to Limestone and opened a general hardware store, which he still conducts.  Mr. GREENWOOD is a staunch republican, but is not an office seeker.  In 1868, he married Celestia A. ROCKWELL, of Summit, PA and they have had four children, of whom Joseph P. and John W. are now living.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Pages 474 & 475

 

Surnames:  GRIMES, DUDLEY, HORTON

 

William GRIMES was born in New Hampshire, February 2, 1804. In his childhood he removed to the eastern part of New York State and finally married Margaret DUDLEY.   He afterward resided a few years in Vermont and came thence to Essex county, N. Y. where he was a jobber in cutting and hauling lumber.  He removed to Tiffanyville, Chatauqua county, where he stocked and ran the mills of Jehiel Tiffany.  In the fall of 1840 or ‘41, he settled on the Nine Mile of the Allegheny River at what is now the village of Vandalia, and for about four years conducted the lumber mills of Guy C. Irvine and Judge Chamberlain.  About 1845 he purchased 900 acres of timberlands and added to them from time to time until he had a tract of 2000 acres.  He began cutting and rafting square pine timber and shingles down the river to market, and continued to the close of his life, January 26, 1877.  Mr. GRIMES was a man of more than medium height, broad shouldered and muscular,  and possessed great powers of endurance.  He was ambitious, courageous and industrious, and was known as the poor man’s friend.  He was a man of the old school style, strictly honest and upright.  His only son, James Henry GRIMES, was born in Vermont February 10, 1829, received a common school education, and succeeded his father in 1877, continuing the business still and manufacturing an average of 1,000,000 feet of lumber annually.  Mr. GRIMES is also a farmer on a farm of 100 acres.  He employs from ten to twenty-two men.  September 25, 1882, he married Anna HORTON, a native of England, and they have one son, William Henry, born December 20, 1885.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 475

 

Surnames:  HAMM, MERKT

 

John HAMM, a native of Darmstadt, Germany, came with his parents to New York in May, 1853.  In 1864, his father removed to Allegany, where he still resides.  He settled in Limestone in 1868 and opened a blacksmith shop.  A year later he added a custom carriage and sleigh manufactory and gave employment to three men.  This he still continues.  June 21, 1874 he married Cynthia, daughter of Makerous and Mary MERKT, natives of Wurtemburg, Germany, who came to America in 1853. Children:  Carl Joseph and Fred Andrew.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 475

 

Surnames:  HYDE, SCHOONMAKER

 

Sanford M. HYDE was born in Tolland, Conn. in 1840.  He removed to Ellenville, Ulster county in 1850 and began active business at thirteen years of age.  At fifteen he was clerking in a general store.  He was one of the firm of E.R. SCHOONMAKER & Co. and S.M. HYDE & Co.  He conducted Tunaengwant Hotel successfully for three years and was postmaster during Cleveland’s first administration.  He is now bookkeeper for the Northern Tier Hemlock Company, Limited, with headquarters at Bradford, Pa.  Mr. HYDE was a sergeant in the Union army in the Civil War three months.  In October 1862, he married Charlotte J., sister of Hon. E.R. SCHOONMAKER, of Limestone and their children are George, who died at the age of twenty four years;  Charles L., a clerk for Stickney, Bell & Co. at Quaker, NY;  Robert; and Nellie.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Pages 475 & 476

 

Surnames:  IRVINE, COTTON, CHAMBERLAIN, LOWREY

 

Guy Carrolton IRVINE, brother of Andrew and uncle of B. F.,  was born on the West Branch of the Susquehanna River in Pennsylvania, the youngest son of a family of twenty-six children.  His father died when he was a boy, and young IRVINE was apprenticed to a blacksmith, whom not being a congenial spirit he soundly thrashed and ran away.  In very early manhood he resided at Broken Straw, Warren county, Pa. and there began his active business life by jobbing in building roads and bridges.  He had dealt in lumber and soon after his marriage with Polly COTTON he bought 2000 acres of timberland on Conewango creek on credit, built mills also on credit, manufactured lumber, built up a small village which took the name of Irvinesburg, and was very successful.  About 1837, in company with Judge CHAMBERLAIN and N. A. LOWREY, he purchased a tract of 25,000 acres of land lying in and adjacent to Tuna valley in Carrolton, which was divided among the proprietors.  Mr. IRVINE built the original IRVINE Mills in 1840, about half a mile below the site of the mills erected by Stephen and Jesse Morrison in 1828 and on the opposite side of the stream.  He was succeeded in 1848 by his nephew, B. F. IRVINE, who had for several years been engaged in business with him.  He was an abrupt, fearless, able business man, possessed great energy, and was honest and true.  The town named in honor of him took his second name, Carrolton.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 476

 

Surnames:  IRVINE, PARKER, MOSES, LEONARD, ANDREWS, BEARDSLEY

 

Benjamin F. IRVINE, son of Andrew, was born in Tonawanda, Pa. August 12, 1819, and received a good business education.  In the winter of 1841-42 he came to IRVINE’s Mills in the employ of his uncle, Guy C. IRVINE, to haul logs.  In drawing the logs to the chute at the top of the hill, where they were slid down into the pond, one of his horses slipped and fell into the chute, dragging his mate and the heavy load with him, and all went down together in a total wreck.  This outfit was all Mr. IRVINE had to carry on business.  In 1843 he returned and got out square timber and pine shingles, which he rafted to Louisville, continuing until March 1848, when he assumed the management of his uncle’s large lumber business.  In 1855, he bought his cousin’s interest in 6000 acres of land.  In 1857, the firm of B. F. IRVINE and Nelson PARKER built the sawmill on lot 29 on the site of Morrison’s mill, where they manufactured lumber which they rafted to the markets.  In 1865 they sold their entire property to Job MOSES, but in 1869 Mr. IRVINE bought back the mills and 600 acres surrounding them, and enlarged the mills to a daily capacity of 50,000 feet, added a shingle mill, a planer, and a flooring mill, giving him a total capacity of  4,000,000 feet of lumber and 3,000,000 shingles annually.  He continued this vast business until his death September 10, 1878.  January 1, 1847 he married Rebecca, eldest daughter of Levi LEONARD.  Mr. IRVINE possessed many of the characteristics of his uncle, G. C.  He had great energy, more than ordinary business ability, was quick to perceive, and bold and fearless to decide and act.  While he did business on strict business principles he had a quick ear for the voice of the needy and was not slow to relieve their wants.  While he could drive a good bargain he was tender to those in distress and dispensed charity unseen, but with an open hand.  The children of Mr. and Mrs. IRVINE were:  Mary A., born May 5, 1848, wife of H. G. ANDREWS; Guy C., born March 21, 1850;  Andrew L., born May 29, 1854, died November 26, 1855; Leonard C., born March 27, 1856; Jerome N., born October 27, 1857, died April 12, 1859;  Benjamin F., Jr., born September 30, 1859, now agent for his mother and manager of the estate; and DeWitt C., born February 24, 1866, died February 4, 1867.  June 26, 1872, Guy C. IRVINE married Millie A., youngest daughter of J. O. BEARDSLEY.  Mr. IRVINE learned his father’s business as a lumberman, and with his brother, Leonard C., succeeded him at his death in 1878, under the firm name of IRVINE Brothers, who continued it until they sold the mills and fifty acres in 1882 to Plumer, Gilfillan, Steele & Co., the present proprietors.  Mr. IRVINE is now a farmer.  Leonard C. IRVINE is now bookkeeper for Schoonmaker & Davis.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Pages 476 & 477

 

Surname:  JOHNSON

 

Allen JOHNSON was born in Monmouth county, N.J., June 6, 1832.  August 29, 1861 he enlisted in the 6th N. J. Inf. and served three years.  He participated in seventeen general engagements, was never absent from roll call except when on detached service, was never in the guardhouse or hospital, and was never reprimanded by any officer.  He was several times struck with spent balls and had two guns shot from his hands.  He was honorably discharged in September 1864.  In January 1880, he came to Carrolton from Pennsylvania and here he still resides.  He is now engaged in selling groceries and stationery at the village of Carrolton.  He is a pronounced Democrat, and holds the positions of postmaster, justice of the peace, and overseer of the poor.  Mr. JOHNSON is the father of five sons and a daughter.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Pages 477 & 478

 

Surnames:  LEONARD, CARGILL, IRVINE, LAWTON, BAILLET, BAKER, SCHOONMAKER, GOODSELL

 

Levi LEONARD, born in Pennsylvania, February 22, 1809, married April 15, 1828, Elizabeth CARGILL, of Corydon, Pa., a native of Maine, who was born December 25, 1810.  In 1832, he came to Carrolton as a lumberman and in 1834 he brought his wife to his log cabin which he had erected near the mouth of the Tuna creek.  At that time the vast unbroken forests were in their pristine glory.  Mr. LEONARD was a young man of fine physical development, broad shouldered, very muscular, and stood fully six feet high.  He was energetic and courageous.  Lumbering was then, and for many years after, the leading industry of the county, and the river was the only highway to convey it to market.  To accommodate the scores of river men and wood-choppers he built a large hotel at the mouth of the Tuna creek, on the east side of the Allegheny on the Indian reservation, and opened it to the public in 1836. This tavern was a famous resort.  He also established a ferry across the river.  Mr. LEONARD also dealt extensively in lumber and was famous as a river pilot.  He gave his attention mainly to what is known as square timber and handmade pine shingles.  His knowledge of the Allegheny was proverbial.  He was credited with knowing every shallow and rock, and lumbermen claimed that “LEONARD could sail the river on a dark night with as much safety as midday.”  Food, clothing, etc. were brought up the stream in canoes and the last one now in the vicinity was constructed by Mr. LEONARD and is still kept by his family as a relic of “ye olden time.”  To keep a supply of fresh fish with which the river and streams abounded he confined them in a skiff covered with boards and sunk in the water.  He was a successful hunter.  The city of Buffalo was then quite inaccessible.  To make the trip Mr. LEONARD shipped his team and load on his ferry boat to Great Valley, proceeded thence by highway, and returned as he went with provisions and groceries which he dealt out to his neighbors.

 

Mr. LEONARD was always on the most amicable terms with the Seneca Indians, whom he uniformly treated kindly and with the strictest honesty.  He thus gained their undying friendship and confidence.  All matters of importance were submitted to him for his advice, and they never failed to act in accordance with his suggestions.  So great was his influence over them that his friends in a facetious way spoke of him as the “God of the Senecas.”  The Indians acknowledged him as their superior and were in awe of him.  He was master of the Seneca dialect and spoke it fluently.  In November, 1858, he removed to the farm about one mile north of Limestone, where he spent the remainder of his life in the pursuit of farming.  He died September 10, 1879.  Although he never held high office, nor wished to, he was as well and as widely known as the proudest official and as much esteemed.  His children were:  Rebecca, born July 12, 1830, widow of B. F. IRVINE;  Sabra, born January 1, 1832, widow of Billings LAWTON and proprietor of the LAWTON House, Carrolton;  Jerome B., born December 15, 1835, died  January 15, 1859;  Abigail, born March 22, 1837, widow of John BAILLET, now residing with her aged mother; Joseph born September 4, 1839, a jobber, lumberman, and farmer;  Mary A. born November 24, 1842, widow of George BAKER, a tanner who served three years in the late war and died of disability contracted in the army;  Levi, Jr., born December 20, 1844, died in early childhood;  Frank A. born May 21, 1846, a traveling salesman from East Liverpool, Ohio;  Robert, born April 2, 1848, drowned in the river at the homestead at the age of three and one-half years; Sarah J., born October 3, 1850, wife of Hon. E. R. SCHOONMAKER;  and Bradley R., born February 28, 1853, died of an injury received while coupling cars, November 15, 1875.  The children of George BAKER are Georgia (Mrs. John GOODSELL) of Olean, and Clarence, a farmer on the LEONARD homestead.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 478

 

Surnames:  LEONARD, COGSWELL, SCHOONMAKER, FULLER, STEVENS, VIBBARD

 

Calvin LEONARD, brother of Levi LEONARD, Sr., was born in August, 1801.  He married Jemima COGSWELL and came to Carrolton from Beaver County, Pa., in 1851, settling on the farm now owned by Hon. E.. R. SCHOONMAKER.  Mr. LEONARD was a carpenter and one of the most skillful millwrights in the country.  He built the Irvine mills, the first Union Free School building, the tannery erected by Dodge & Smith, and many other large structures.  He was a Democrat, was well versed in the Scriptures, liberal in his religion, and believed in the ultimate salvation of the whole human race.  He died January 22, 1884.  Only three of his children reside in Carrolton:  Samuel J., who married Velonia N., daughter of Chase FULLER, and for sixteen years has been the carpenter and millwright of the Limestone tannery;  Jackson L.,  who married Maggie STEVENS;  and Cynthia R., (Mrs. Shep L. VIBBARD).

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 478

 

Surnames:  McCAHILL, DWYER

 

Joseph F. McCAHILL was born in the city of New York, April 10, 1859, and January 1, 1883, married Kate DWYER.  In 1884 they settled in Limestone where Mr. McCAHILL is engaged as a jobber in the Limestone tannery.  He also conducts cigar factory No. 1234.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 478

 

Surnames:  McDONNELL, BARNES

 

Donald J. McDONNELL, of sturdy Scotch descent and cousin of Alexander McDONNELL, Bishop of Alexandria, Can., was born in Renfrew, Ontario, Canada, January 15, 1838.  November 1, 1864, he went to Buffalo as a journeyman blacksmith.  From January, 1865, until 1876 he was engaged in the oil business in Pennsylvania.  He then settled in Limestone, where he was an oil producer and a driller of oil wells, by contract, until 1886.  He still owns his machinery and oil territory, and now has charge of the Manufacturers’ Gas Company’s business in Limestone.  January 24, 1875, he married Louisa, daughter of R. B. BARNES, a native of Massachusetts.  Mrs. McDONNELL was born December 15, 1839, in Wisconsin.  Mr. BARNES resides with his daughter in Limestone.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 478

 

Surnames:  McKENZIE, ZELIFF

 

John McKENZIE was born in Rosshire, Scotland, June 12, 1836, and in 1854 settled in Forrestville, N. Y.  In 1856 he came to Carrolton and April 16, 1857 married Harriet H., daughter of Peter ZELIFF, who was born June 29, 1834, being the first white child born in the town of Carrolton.  Mr. McKENZIE is a farmer.  He was formerly engaged in lumbering.  He is a Republican and has held the office of highway commissioner three years, assessor four years, and collector one year.  Four of their seven sons and their only daughter are living.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 478

 

Surnames:  McNALLY, McNAMARA

 

George McNALLY, of Scotch-Irish descent, was born in County Cork, Ireland, January 9, 1845.  He emigrated to America in 1862, spent a year in Massachusetts, three years in Cleveland, Ohio, was a hotel proprietor in Corry, Pa., ten years, and in 1876 came to Limestone, where he built the McNALLY House and has been its proprietor since.  In 1878, he married Margaret McNAMARA, a native of County Clare, Ireland.  Their children are Anna and George B.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 478

 

Surnames:  MILLER

 

John MILLER, a native of Prussia, came with his family to Limestone in December, 1864.  He was a worthy citizen, and for ten or eleven years was an employee in the tannery.  Later he was a farmer.  He died in April, 1876.  On his farm the first paying oil well in the valley of Tuna creek was sunk.  In 1875, his only son, John Jr., was accidentally killed, aged twenty-two years.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Pages 478 & 479

 

Surnames:  MORSE, WIXON

 

Charles MORSE was born in Ontario County in 1832.  He came from Allegheny County to Carrolton in 1859, and here married Lois C. WIXON.  He then returned to Allegany County and lived three years.  In 1861 he enlisted in the 54th N. Y. Vols. and while at Elmira awaiting orders to move to the front he was attacked with lung trouble and was eventually discharged.  Mr. MORSE has a farm of ten acres.  Of his eight children, four are now living.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 479

 

Surnames:  NYE, MATHER, STONE

 

Rev. DeWitt C. NYE, son of Nelson and Abigail (MATHER) NYE, was born in Hume, Allegany county, New York on March 22, 1846.  There he attended the district schools and in September, 1862, with his father’s consent, enlisted with an older brother in Co. F, 4th N.Y.H.A ., and was honorably discharged at the close of the war.  After General Grant assumed command his regiment joined the Army of the Potomac at Culpepper and participated in the battles of the Wilderness, Spotsylvania, Cold Harbor, Petersburg, Ream’s Station, and the Siege of Petersburg.  April 2, 1865, the regiment charged the enemy twice before Richmond and captured 1800 prisoners, two stands of colors, and several pieces of artillery, and was the advance regiment at Lee’s surrender. Mr. NYE was present at all these engagements.  At the close of the war he learned his father’s trade of shoemaker and followed it until he was thirty-six years old.  He was converted at twenty-eight, licensed to exhort at thirty, and studied the English branches on his shoe bench.  He received a local preacher’s license at thirty-four, began a four years course in theology, and in October 1882, received an appointment from the Genesee Conference as a supply for Farmersville, where he remained one year.  In 1883 he supplied East Ashford and next Honeoye, Pa. for two years.  In October, 1886, he joined the conference and was appointed to the charge of Portville.  At the same time he commenced the regular conference course, which he completed on October, 1890.  He remained at Portville until the fall of 1890, when he was appointed to the charge at Limestone.  Mr. NYE married Isadore E. STONE, June 1, 1870.  They have three children.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 479

 

Surname:  O’BRIEN

 

John E. O’BRIEN, a native of Cork, Ireland, was born in November, 1840, and reared and educated in England.  In March 1864, he emigrated to America and at once enlisted in the US Navy, serving a little more than two years.  While sinking obstructions to the enemy across James river he was severely bruised by an explosion, from which he never fully recovered.  Mr. O’BRIEN is a farmer in Carrolton and has been overseer of the poor for five years.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 479

 

Surnames:  PARKER, IRVINE, MOSES

 

Nelson PARKER, born February 2, 1806, began business in Carrolton as a manufacturer and dealer in pine shingles and lumber.  In 1853, with A. J. IRVINE, he bought the IRVINE mills and from 1856 to 1869 B. F. IRVINE was his lumber partner.  They then sold the mills and large tract of land to Job MOSES and Mr. PARKER engaged in farming.  Later he was a merchant.  He was killed by the cars while crossing the track at Carrolton, November 27, 1873.  He was a capable business man, and was supervisor of Carrolton in 1868 and 1869.  January 19, 1847, he married Catherine B., daughter of Andrew IRVINE, of Warren, Pa.  Their children were Marion B. and Catherine.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 479

 

Surnames:  PATON, LEE

 

William PATON, Sr., born in Dumfrieshire, Scotland, December 31, 1838, received a good business education and in 1855 emigrated with his parents to the Genesee Valley.  They resided in Machias and in McKean county, Pa., where his father died in 1874.  Since 1862 Mr. PATON has resided in Carrolton.  He is a farmer.  January 1, 1868, he married Mary LEE, of Ellicottville, and in 1873 settled in the place where he now lives.  Both are members of the M. E. church and interested in every good enterprise.  He has served as overseer of the poor four terms and as highway commissioner one term.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 480

 

Surnames:  PATON, DODGE, SMITH, ALDRICH,

 

William PATON, Jr., was born in Annan, Dumfrieshire, Scotland, September 14, 1847.  In 1864 he came to Limestone and at once commenced a clerkship with DODGE & SMITH, remaining in their employ until they sold their property.  He was engaged the ensuing year with A. E. & G. W. Palen.  In the year 1889, he went to Wilcox, Pa. where he was a clerk in the tannery store of Jackson, Schultz & Co., where he remained for three years.  With his partner Mr. ALDRICH, he then opened a general store in that place under the name of ALDRICH & PATON, which continued three years.  Mr. PATON sold his interest to Mr. ALDRICH in 1871 and removed to Louisville, KY, where he was engaged with Mr. SMITH, before mentioned, in building the manufactory of the Ohio Falls Cooperage Company.  The plant covered an area of two acres.  As soon as the establishment was opened the company employed an average of 125 hands.  Mr. PATON remained there as a partner with Mr. SMITH the ensuing four years, when, on account of ill health, he sold his interest to his partner and returned to Limestone, where he opened a general country store, and where he is still selling goods.  He also has two farms on which are five oil wells.  Mr. PATON has been identified with the entire growth of Limestone, has aided in building its schools and churches, and has erected his store building, and four dwelling houses.  He married Harriet, daughter of Daniel SMITH, in 1870.  They are members of the M. E. church.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 480

 

Surnames:  PATON, HAPGOOD

 

John PATON was born in Dumfrieshire, Scotland, April 24, 1849 and removed to Carlisle, England, in his childhood.  His mother had died and in June, 1867, he came to Limestone where he accepted a position with his uncle, W. PATON, Sr.  He was next an employee of Daniel Smith in Wilcox, Pa., a year.  He has since been an employee and jobber and dealer in bark, wood, and lumber.  Since Hoyt Brothers became proprietors of the Limestone tannery Mr. PATON has been employed as a finisher of leather.  September 28, 1874, he married Georgiana HAPGOOD, also a native of England.  They have an only son, Floyd, born in January, 1876.  Mr. and Mrs. PATON are members of the M. E. church.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 480

 

Surname:  PAXON,

 

Myron H. PAXON was born in Aurora, Erie county, in 1840.  In 1863 he assisted as a carpenter in building the tannery at Salamanca, the office and outside charge of which he assumed in 1864 and continued until 1873.  In the fall of that year he accepted a similar position in Jewett & Keating’s tannery at Olean.  In the spring of 1874 this firm transferred Mr. PAXON to their tannery in Port Allegany, McKean county, where he also had charge of the office and outside work.  He remained there until the fall of 1877, when he came to Limestone, where he has since had control of the office, outside work, and financial interest of the concern.  He represented Carrolton on the Board of Supervisors in 1881.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 480

 

Surnames:  RENNER, BELL, SMITH

 

Harry RENNER, born in Mense, Germany, June 6, 1826, emigrated in 1840 to Susquehanna county, Pa., where he engaged at his trade of journeyman tanner until October, 1869, when he came to Limestone and was employed in the Limestone tannery three years.  In 1875 he erected the Limestone House and opened it to the public.  December 24, 1857, he married Mrs. Julianna BELL, widow of Worthy BELL, and to them was born one daughter, Maud R. (Mrs. M. W. SMITH).  Mr. RENNER died April 19, 1878.  His widow survives him.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Pages 480 & 481

 

Surnames:  RIGDON, BRADLEY

 

Algernon Sidney RIGDON, son of Sidney, was born in Mentor, Ohio, July 4, 1828.  The family emigrated with teams to Missouri when he was nine years of age.  A year later they removed to Illinois, whence after six years’ residence, they settled in Pittsburg, Pa.  A. S. came to Friendship, Allegany county in 1847, and was employed on the Erie railroad from 1859 until 1874, whence he removed from Cuba to Carrolton village and has since been the efficient agent of that station.  Mr. RIGDON is a staunch Democrat, prominent in his party, a competent and popular citizen, but has constantly refused to accept town office. October 19, 1854, he married Annis BRADLEY, of Cuba.  They have two sons:  Walter S., station agent at Dayton, and George R., manager for the Postal Telegraph Company at Scranton, Pa.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 481

 

Surnames:  SCHOONMAKER, PALEN, NICHOLS, BULLIS, McNEIL, SHELDON, DAVIS, KALL, STICKNEY, BELL, LEONARD

 

Hon. Elijah R. SCHOONMAKER, of Limestone, was born in Sullivan county, and is descended from solid Dutch stock.  His father, a farmer and contractor, gave his son a common school education.  At a very early age he was a clerk in a store in his native county for seven years.  He next filled a like position in Ulster county for several years more.  He was a traveling salesman the next three years (until 1868) for a wholesale boot and shoe house at Kingston, and then settled in Limestone, where he has since led a very busy life.  When he located here he formed a partnership with A. E. and G. W. PALEN in mercantile business and was associated in trade with them for three years.  The lumber firm of SCHOONMAKER & NICHOLS was then formed.  About this time he also conducted a lumber business alone, and for many years was one of the owners of the “tannery store.”  From 1875 to 1885 he operated in oil, largely in real estate, and heavily in bark, supplied the tanneries of Great Bend, Canisteo, Hornellsville, and Limestone, and pulled bark from the trees on 10,000 acres.  In addition to this he bought and handled from 5,000 to 10,000 cords of bark per year.  He is now a member of the following firms:  Northern Tier Hemlock Co. Ltd., of which he is general manager; BULLIS, SCHOONMAKER, and McNIEL, real estate and lumber; SCHOONMAKER & SHELDON, hardwood lumber; SCHOONMAKER & DAVIS, lumber; HALL, SCHOONMAKER & Co., lumber; and STICKNEY, BELL & Co., merchants.  He is also prominent in politics and decidedly popular with the people.  He was postmaster of Limestone four years, station agent ten years, seven years president of the Board of Education, and supervisor of Carrolton six consecutive years, ending with 1890, and was reelected in 1893.  In 1882-83 he represented the Second Assembly District of Cattaraugus County in the State Legislature.  He has served as a member of the Republican State Committee for Chatauqua, Cattaraugus, and Allegany counties, has attended several times as a delegate the Republican State congressional and senatorial conventions, and is always a delegate to the Republican county conventions.  Mr. SCHOONMAKER is a man of comprehensive business ability and has a ready knowledge of men.  He is a bold speculator and apparently relies on his own judgment.  He is affable and gentlemanly, and a pleasant companion.  He is a good talker, a good listener, and fond of a good joke.  Emphatically, he is the poor man’s friend, ready to aid the needy and help them to help themselves.  February 21, 1867, he married Eliza PALEN, of Sullivan county, who died August 4, 1870.  She was the mother of his son Fred P., born March 11, 1870.  November 2, 1871, he married Sarah J., youngest daughter of Levi LEONARD.  Their children are:  Eliza W., born July 25, 1872; Alice, born December 8, 1873; and Faith, born October 12, 1881.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Pages 481 & 482

 

Surnames:  SCHRADER, MILLER

 

Charles E. SCHRADER, son of Edward, was born in Prussia in April, 1853.  In October 1870, his parents with their family of five sons and two daughters emigrated to America.  In April, 1871, they settled in Limestone, where Mr. SCHRADER at once found employment in the tannery.  Charles E. SCHRADER has spent his whole life as an employee in tanneries and is capable, industrious, and trustworthy.  December 8, 1881, he married Anna L. MILLER, a native of Mechlenberg, Schewrin, Prussia, and a daughter of John MILLER.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 482

 

Surnames:  SCOTT, SMITH, DODGE, WOOD, SKINNER

 

Bradner SCOTT was born in Walkill, N. Y..  Losing both parents in early childhood he experienced a youth of extreme hardship.  In 1859 he came to Limestone with Mr. SMITH, of the firm of DODGE & SMITH, in whose employ he had been several years, remaining with them here until August, 1864, when he enlisted in the US Navy under Commodore Farragut in the Squadron of the Mississippi, and was honorably discharged in August 1865.  Returning to Limestone he continued in the employ of DODGE & SMITH until they sold their tannery, and was an employee of the Limestone tannery nearly all the time until 1887.  Since then he has been a farmer.  Mr. SCOTT married, first, Eliza WOOD, who was the mother of six children, five of whom are living.  He married, second, Melinda SKINNER.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 482

 

Surnames:  TULLER, PIERCE

 

Maurice TULLER, son of Alvah, was born in the town of North East, Pa., November 4, 1861, and was reared and educated to railroad station work.  His father, the present station agent at Cattaraugus, taught him both telegraphy and depot business.  At the age of sixteen he began as telegraph operator and clerk at Cattaraugus.  He accepted the position of station agent of the B., R. & P. R. R. at Limestone and took charge August 4, 1890.  October 10, 1882, he married Elsie PIERCE, of Cattaraugus, NY.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 482

 

Surnames:  VIBBARD, SHANKLAND, LEONARD

 

Shep. L. VIBBARD was born of English parentage in Ellicottville in 1838.  His father, Chester VIBBARD, came from Massachusetts at an early day.  Shep. learned the printing business of the late Robert SHANKLAND, and at the first call for troops enlisted in Co. I, 37th N. Y. Vols., leaving the service as corporal two years later.  Soon afterward, he settled in Limestone, where he has since been prominent in local Democrat politics.  He was elected justice of the peace in 1866, 1870, 1874, 1880, 1884, 1888, and 1892, and is now serving his twentieth year as town clerk.  In 1874 he served as supervisor.  He is also clerk of the village of Limestone and of the Board of Education.  He is a member of Henry Renner Lodge, No. 780, F. & A. M., is it’s present master, is a member of St. John’s Commandery at Olean and of Olean Chapter, of Bradford Post, No. 141 G. A. R., of the A. O. U. W., being district deputy grand master of the latter order in 1889, and of the K. O. T. M. and the E. A. U.  In 1868, Mr. VIBBARD married Cynthia R., daughter of Calvin LEONARD, and they have three children.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 482

 

Surnames:  WAMPLE, GRIMES

 

Marcus N. WAMPLE, born in Montgomery county, N. Y. November 1, 1824, came to Vandalia from Chatauqua county in 1850.  He is a lumberman and was employed by William GRIMES, and since his death in 1877 he has been engaged by J. H. GRIMES.  About 1855 he married Mary J., daughter of William GRIMES.  They have one daughter, Jessie, born July 22, 1858.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Pages 482 & 483

 

Surnames:  WATSON, HALLOCK, KIERSTED, PAXON, KNOWLES

 

Robert J. WATSON, son of James and Catherine (HALLOCK) WATSON, was born in South Worcester, Schoharie county, November 15, 1856.  His father enlisted in the Union army, was captured, confined in Andersonville prison, and died of starvation.  Robert J. WATSON, being left at the age of six years without fatherly counsel, experienced a youth of severe hardship.  He began chopping wood for J. H. & A. KIERSTED, tanners of Hancock, NY, who soon gave him a clerkship in their office and store, where he remained five years, devoting the winters to attending school.  He was their bookkeeper and in 1881 accepted the position of agent for the Salamanca tannery.  In 1884 he came to Limestone as bookkeeper of the Limestone tannery, and in 1887 was made agent in place of Mr. PAXON for one year.  Since Mr. PAXON’s return, Mr. WATSON has been his assistant.  Mr. WATSON served as treasurer of the village and as member of the Board of Education several years, being president one year.  In February 1891, he was elected supervisor of Carrolton and reelected in 1892.  April 24, 1881, he married Irona KNOWLES, of Delaware county.  They have one son, Roy R., born August 18, 1884.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 483

 

Surname:  WHITTAKER, OWEN

 

William WHITTAKER, born in Darbyshire, England, May 9, 1821, emigrated with his wife and five children to Blair county, Pa., where Mrs. WHITTAKER died in 1858.  In May 1860, he married Jane E. OWEN, of Colden, N. Y., and in the ensuing fall they settled in Limestone, where Mr. WHITTAKER found employment in the Limestone tannery.  In April 1861, he located on a wood lot of 100 acres, cleared a part of it, and remained there until 1875 when he removed to his present home.  Mr. and Mrs. WHITTAKER have had five children.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 483

 

Surnames:  WILLIS,  PHILLIPS, ZELIFF, ETHRIDGE, FISK

 

Chauncy WILLIS, son of Isaac, was born in Conesus, N. Y. December 18, 1818.  His father settled in Machias in March, 1832, their log house having a Dutch-back fireplace and a stick chimney plastered with mud.  The doors were hung on wooden hinges and fastened with wooden latches.  Their currency -- black salts – was at first the only commodity that would bring money.  Isaac WILLIS died in 1837.  October 22, 1842, Chauncy WILLIS married Polly PHILLIPS, who was born in Freedom, October 5, 1822.  They commenced housekeeping on the homestead, where he gave his mother a home until her decease.  From 1862 or ’63 until 1868 he was a farmer near Little Valley Center.  Since then he has been a citizen of the town of Carrolton and has owned the Peter ZELIFF homestead within the corporation of Limestone.  He is a member of the village Board of Trustees.  His children are:  Sarah J., born July 29, 1845, married Nathaniel ETHRIDGE, January 17, 1869, and died October 3, 1872, leaving an only daughter, Cora, who was born April 8, 1870, and resides with her grandparents; Warren W., born April 9, 1846, died in Little Valley, March 22, 1866; and Daniel C., born August 24, 1849, married Loretta FISK, August 24, 1876.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 483

 

Surname:  WIXON

 

Barnabas WIXON and his wife Elsea, with an infant daughter, came to Carrolton from Allegany county in June, 1838.  He was a farmer and died August 1, 1889, aged seventy-nine years.  His aged widow survives him.

 

Seth WIXON came to Carrolton as early as 1836, was a farmer, and settled in the valley about a mile north of Limestone village.  He was a soldier in the War of 1812.  He died in 1850, aged sixty-five years.  He had nine children.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Page 483

 

Surnames:  WYNN, TODD

 

James I. WYNN, born in Scottsville, Pa. October 13, 1836, began business as a sawyer in his father’s mill.  In March, 1863, he came to Carrolton as superintendent of B. F. Irvine’s mills, which position he filled until Mr. Irvine died, since which time Mr. WYNN has conducted them for Irvine Bros. and for Plumer, Gilfillan, Steele, & Co.  Mr. WYNN is a man of energy and good business ability.  November 24, 1859, he married Rachel TODD, a native of Jamestown, N. Y., and of sturdy Scotch descent.  Their children are T. Adelaide, a graduate of Geneseo Normal School, a teacher in the city schools of Bradford, Pa., and her father’s bookkeeper, and Irvine L., his father’s head sawyer.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Carrolton – Chapter XIX (20)

Pages 483 & 484

 

Surnames:  ZELIFF, DODGE, McKENZIE, BALMAN, SCOTT, DUEL, INGLER, GLASS

 

Peter ZELIFF was born in Northumberland county, Pa.  He was a lumberman, and when a little less than twenty-one years of age he married Marvelous HODGE.  In 1832 he settled in Carrolton, being the second family to locate where the village of Limestone has since been built.  He cleared a small piece of ground and built a log cabin, which he covered with bark.  His place was ten miles from Great Valley, the nearest white settlement, and no road the last six miles.  He used Tuna creek for a highway and brought his wife and four children to his “lodge” in a canoe.  He bought and paid for 200 acres.  Eventually he started for the gold regions of Pike’s Peak and was last heard from near his destination.  It is supposed he was murdered.  Mrs. ZELIFF died in Carrolton in 1874.  They had eleven children.  A daughter, Harriet (Mrs. John McKENZIE), born June 29, 1834, was the first white child born in Carrolton.

 

George ZELIFF, oldest son of Peter, was born in Farmington, Pa, September 19, 1825, came with his parents to Carrolton in 1832, and has since resided here.  He began business for himself in cutting and hewing square timber, making pine shingles, and piloting rafts down the river.  Later he has given his attention to his farm.  April 14, 1853, he married Betsey BALMAN, of Lawrence, Pa, and they have had four children, two of whom died in infancy; the others are William A., born February 28, 1854, married first Jennie SCOTT, and second Stella DUEL; and Ornaldo, born February 5, 1865, married Hetty INGLER.

 

William E. ZELIFF, son of Peter, was born on the homestead in Carrolton in 1835, and was educated in the common schools with a few terms at Chamberlain Institute.  He commenced his business life by buying and selling lumber and shingles and running them to market down the river to Pittsburg, Cinncinnati , and Louisville, which occupation he has followed to the present time.  He was elected clerk of his town at the age of twenty-two years and soon after became constable and collector.  At about the age of twenty-five he settled just across the state line, where he has resided about twenty years, but his business, home, and property has always been in his native town.  In 1885 he returned to Carrolton and in 1886 was elected commissioner of highways, having been elected each year since.  Mr. ZELIFF has, from time to time, operated for oil.  July 4, 1864, he married Marilla J. GLASS of Bradford, and their children are William H., a traveling salesman, and Fred. R.

 

================================================================================

 

TOWN OF COLD SPRING

 

BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES FROM: "HISTORICAL GAZETTEER AND BIOGRAPHICAL MEMORIAL of CATTARAUGUS COUNTY, NY, ed by WILLIAM ADAMS, Published 1893

 

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Cold Spring – Chapter XXI (21)

Page 497

 

Surnames:  BRACE, ANGLE, REEVES

 

Elisha BRACE was born Jan. 13, 1818, and came to Randolph about 1825.  He married Mary E., daughter of John ANGLE, and she bore him four children: Sophronia (Mrs. D. F. REEVES, of Cold Spring), Russell, of Randolph, Annett, and Ernest.  Mr. BRACE died Sept. 9, 1861, on the farm in Cold Spring onto which he had moved in 1844, and which his widow still occupies.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Cold Spring – Chapter XXI (21)

Page 497

 

Surnames:  BRUSHINGHAM, MASONER

 

Jeremiah BRUSHINGHAM was born in Ireland and came to America in 1857, locating on a farm in the town of Hinsdale, where he died in 1872.  His widow now lives in Allegany.  His children were Timothy J., Mary, James, Ella (deceased), and Anna.  Timothy J. BRUSHINGHAM was born in Hinsdale, April 15, 1862.  He was reared on the farm.  His father dying when he was but ten years old the support of his mother and her younger children devolved upon his youthful shoulders.  Upon reaching maturity he engaged in other business and in July, 1892, bought the Earl House in Steamburgh, converting it into the principal hotel in the village.  In March, 1887, Mr. BRUSHINGHAM married Mary, daughter of Martin MASONER, of Allegany, and they have three children:  Leo, Lloyd, and Hazel.  He was engaged for four years in lumbering at Onoville, where he served two years as constable.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Cold Spring – Chapter XXI (21)

Page 497

 

Surnames:  CONGLETON, BEARDSLEY, TIBETTS, WINN

 

Wilber CONGLETON, son of Phelps and Hannah (BEARDSLEY) CONGLETON, was born in Ellicott, Chautauqua county, Oct. 11, 1842.  Phelps CONGLETON came from Vermont to Chautauqua county about 1812.  A brother John served in the Black Hawk wars and became a captain in the navy in the Civil war, where he died.  Phelps came to Randolph in 1852, but in 1863 returned and died in April, 1888.  His first wife, who died May 24, 1864, bore him nine children: Mary J., Sarah A., James B., Luther C., William, 1st, Laura S., William, 2d, and Wilber, twins, and Rebecca.  By his second wife, Mrs. TIBBETTS, he had no children.  Mr. CONGLETON was fourteen years in the State militia and attained the rank of a non-commissioned officer.

 

Wilber CONGLETON was raised on a farm, came to the town of Randolph in the year 1852, and when fifteen years of age began life on the Allegheny river on a raft.  In June, 1864, he enlisted in Co. C, 13th N. Y. H. A., at Steamburgh, and was honorably discharged in June, 1865.  In 1867 he began rafting lumber down the Allegheny and Ohio rivers, which business he has continued more or less since.  In Oct., 1873, Mr. CONGLETON came to Steamburgh, where he has become well known in political circles.  A staunch Democrat in politics he is not an office-seeker; for one term, however, he accepted the position of justice of the peace.  He is a member of D. T. Wiggins Post, G. A. R., Randolph.  He is well known among the legal fraternity of western New York, having served them many times in important capacities.  Jan. 14, 1879, Mr. CONGLETON married Jennie, daughter of Caleb WINN, of Sinclairville, Chautauqua county; children – James H. (deceased) and Jennie M. L.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Cold Spring – Chapter XXI (21)

Page 497

 

Surnames:  COVERT, ANGLE, WILSON, BUTLER,  EWING, McMILLAN

 

Anthony COVERT was born in Dryden, Tompkins county, Nov. 30, 1821, and came to Chautauqua county with his father in 1837.  In 1843 he came to Randolph, where he married Almira A., daughter of John N. ANGLE, and their children are John Asher, William N., and Lydia E. (Mrs. L. WILSON), who died Nov. 25, 1889.  Mr. COVERT removed to his present farm in Cold Spring in 1846, and has since served as overseer of the poor and road commissioner.  He has also carried on lumbering in connection with farming.

 

John Asher COVERT, born Feb. 2, 1849, married, first, Addie BUTLER, of Randolph, by whom he had three children – Bessie, Herbert, and Glenn.  Mrs. COVERT died in July, 1890, and he married, second, Margaret, daughter of Joel EWING, of Randolph.  He is a farmer near his father.

 

William N. COVERT was born in Cold Spring, Jan. 15, 1854, and married, Feb. 2, 1873, Sibbie J., daughter of Alden McMILLAN, and they have had two children: Cora Alma, born April 1, 1874, and Hart A., who died Aug. 26, 1886.  Mr. COVERT has served as excise commissioner and school trustee.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Cold Spring – Chapter XXI (21)

Page 498

 

Surnames:  CULVER, PRICE

 

Noah CULVER, a soldier of the War of 1812, came to Little Valley about 1817.  His sons were Lyman, Eliphalet, Noah, Jr., Edward, and Charles and his daughters were Charlotte, Martha, Eletha, Louisa, and Sally.  Edward CULVER was fatally injured in the railroad accident in Steamburgh on Oct. 28, 1872, and died Nov. 2d following.  His widow, Matilda PRICE, and son Jerome reside in Cold Spring.  Lyman CULVER was a long time resident of this town and prominent and influential as a citizen.  His daughter, Miss Helen CULVER, resides in Chicago, Ill., and by her own industry has accumulated a fortune running into the millions.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Cold Spring – Chapter XXI (21)

Page 498

 

Surnames:  FLAGG, CROOK, WYMAN

 

Alpha FLAGG was born in Canada West, July 31, 1841, and came to South Valley in 1855 to work for his uncle, Elzi FLAGG.  Later he engaged in farming there and in 1868 removed to Steamburgh as proprietor, first with Howard Wright and afterward alone, of the Steamburgh House, which he conducted until August 20, 1876, when he went to Salamanca as landlord of the Dudley House.  He returned to Steamburgh in 1877 to resume the proprietorship of his former hotel, running, it until June 1, 1882, when he went to South Valley.  There he remained until April 11, 1888, when he again returned to Steamburgh as proprietor of the Steamburgh House, which he conducted until July 1, 1892, when be converted it into his own dwelling and became assistant postmaster under H. G. WYMAN, which position he now fills.  Mr. FLAGG married Laura, daughter of Nathan CROOK, one of the first settlers in Cold Spring; children: Cleve M., Carl P., Ruth, and an infant deceased.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Cold Spring – Chapter XXI (21)

Page 497

 

Surnames:  HACKET, PRICE, CROWLEY, TURNER, KENT

 

James HACKET, born in Ireland in 1809, came to America in 1829, locating in Cattaraugus county near Ellicottville.  In 1831 he came to Cold Spring and was killed by the cars at Marsh's crossing in March, 1891.  He was a farmer and a Catholic.  His wife was Lucy, daughter of Samuel PRICE, who came to Cold Spring in 1832.  Their children were Barney, Perry, Aurelia, John, Francis, and Susan, of whom John, born April 15, 1846, has been a life-long resident of Cold Spring and by occupation has been a farmer and lumberman.  He studied law with Rodney R. CROWLEY, of Randolph, but was never admitted to the bar.  August 8, 1863, he enlisted in Co. M, 13th N. Y. H. A., and served two years.  His brother Perry enlisted in 1862 and served about three years in Co. A, 154th N. Y. Vols.  John HACKET has been elected justice of the peace continuously since 1878, and has served as constable, school trustee, and justice of sessions two terms.  He married, first, in 1873, Ellen, daughter of Thomas TURNER, an early settler of Cold Spring.  She died in 1874 and Mr. HACKET married, second, Feb. 28, 1877, Annett, daughter of Brazil KENT, of Steamburgh, and their children are B. Grace, born Dec. 11, 1877, and Cary, born July 11,1880.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Cold Spring – Chapter XXI (21)

Page 498

 

Surname:  HALE

 

Albert HALE was at one time a prominent resident and one of the leading farmers of Cold Spring.  He was supervisor of the town in 1889 and 1890, and died a year or two ago.  His widow resides on the homestead.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Cold Spring – Chapter XXI (21)

Page 498

 

Surnames: HELMS, KELLEY, CHAMPLIN, HOLT, REEVES, EDDY, COY

 

Milton HELMS came to Cold Spring in 1826 and cleared the farm where his son Orson E. now lives, where he lived and died in November, 1873.  His wife, Lorinda KELLEY, died there in 1879.  Mr. HELMS was constable and collector and otherwise prominent in town affairs.  His children were John (deceased), Julia A. (Mrs. George CHAMPLIN), deceased, Mary E. (Mrs. H. H. HOLT), Willard (deceased), Emeline (Mrs. G. W. REEVES), Elizabeth (Mrs. Nathan EDDY), Eliza (Mrs.A. COY), and Orson E.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Cold Spring – Chapter XXI (21)

Page 499

 

Surnames:  HOVEY, METCALF, SPAULDING, SNOW, CASE, HALL, HARMON, LARKIN

 

Ziba HOVEY, born in 1788, came from Genesee county (now Wyoming) to Conewango in 1829, where he pursued farming.  Shortly afterward he removed to Randolph and engaged in hotel keeping, following this business in both villages during a considerable portion of the remainder of his life.  In 1836 he started west with his family, intending to go down the, Allegheny and Ohio rivers on a raft.  He embarked his effects at the confluence of Cold Spring creek with the Allegheny river, but navigation gave out and he landed there and built and started a hotel, which he kept two years, being succeeded by Howard FULLER, Sr.  The building burned a few years ago.  Mr. HOVEY returned to Randolph, where be kept hotel, and eventually removed to Cold Spring, where he died at the residence of his son, La Fayette, Feb. 17, 1879, aged nearly ninety-one.  His wife, born in 1789, was Sophia METCALF, whom he married Dec. 25, 1810.  Their children were Chauncey A. (deceased); Sophronia S. (deceased); Andrew J. (deceased); Ziba M., born July 1, 1816, of East Randolph; Emily A. (Mrs. D. B. SPAULDING), born April 5, 1818, of Cold Spring; Alta M. (deceased), born Nov. 29, 1819; Laura P. (Mrs. C. A. SNOW), born Oct. 20, 1821, of East Randolph ; Franklin C., born Oct. 21, 1823 ; Clarissa H., of Iowa; Amelia A., born July 23, 1827; and La Fayette, born March 15, 1831.  Mrs. HOVEY died Feb. 17, 1873.

 

LaFayette HOVEY came to Cold Spring in 1863 and to his present farm in 1866.  He married, Oct. 13, 1858, Louisa T. CASE, of Bergen, Genesee county, and their children are Fernando G., born Sept. 11, 1859; Carrie E., born June 20, 1862; and Nettie M., born July 14, 1865,  Mr. HOVEY is a carpenter and joiner by trade, and with his father and two brothers has assisted in the erection of almost every building in East Randolph village.

 

Franklin C. HOVEY is also a carpenter and joiner by trade.  From 1858 until 1865 he followed lumbering, and since then has been both a farmer and lumberman.  He now lives in East Randolph.  While residing in Cold Spring he served as assessor six years and justice of the peace one term.  May 8, 1848, Mr. HOVEY married Harriet H., daughter of Horace HALL, one of the pioneers of Randolph.  Their children are De Ette (deceased); Edgar W. (deceased); Adelle (Mrs. W. G. HARMON), of Old Orchard Beach, Me.; Nellie F.; and Kittie M. (Mrs. F. LARKIN, Jr.), of Randolph.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Cold Spring – Chapter XXI (21)

Page 499

 

Surnames:  LYON, WRIGHT, WYMAN, MORSE

 

Ethel L. LYON, for a long time a prominent resident of Steamburgh, was a lumberman and a farmer.  He came into the town in the fall of 1847, and died here Dec. 19, 1889.  His wife, Sophia, a daughter of Charles WRIGHT, deceased, lives with her son in Steamburgh village.  Their children were Ellen J., Clayton S., Manley S. (deceased), Maryette (Mrs. H. G. WYMAN), Adella R. (deceased), Julia E. Herman A., and Fred L.  Mr. LYON organized the first school ever taught in Cold Spring and with Charles MORSE named the village of Steamburgh.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Cold Spring – Chapter XXI (21)

Page 499

 

Surnames:  METCALF, ASH, HUNTINGTON, SMITH, HEVENOR, HUGGINS

 

Jotham METCALF, born July 16, 1791, in Keene, N. H., came to Conewango in Feb., 1823, and settled on lot 2, being the first settler on Elm creek in that town.  His wife, Sarah ASH, born in Rensselaer county in 1794, died March 22, 1883.  Their children were Sarah H. (Mrs. T. HUNTINGTON), deceased; Jotham H., deceased; Henry L., of East Randolph; David M.; and Mary M. (Mrs. Zalmon SMITH), of Napoli.  Mr. METCALF died at the home of his youngest daughter July 5, 1875.  He was a life-long resident of Conegango, and both he and his wife were exemplary members of the Freewill Baptist church, uniting, however, with several others in 1826 in forming a Methodist class at their house, there being no services of their own faith then in the town.  For many years Mr. METCALF was a deacon of the church.

 

David M. METCALF, born in Conewango, April 10, 1823, married, March 19, 1847, Jeannette, daughter of Ira SMITH, and they have had two children, viz.: Mary Isabelle, who married W. D. HEVENOR, of Salamanca, and is deceased, and Cora (Mrs. C. A.. HUGGINS, of Salamanca).  Mr. METCALF has been justice of the peace many years, justice of sessions two terms, poormaster, and town auditor.  He is a representative farmer and a public spirited citizen.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Cold Spring – Chapter XXI (21)

Page 498

 

Surnames:  MORSE, HARTMAN, ARNOLD

 

Harding MORSE, born in Connecticut, Feb. 5, 1796, was a descendant of seven brothers, early settlers of New England, and his father, James, served seven years in the Revolutionary army.  His mother was a Brewster, a family noted in New England history.  Mr. MORSE was a hatter by trade and worked in the first factory in the United States that employed machinery in the manufacture of hats, pursuing his avocation under lock and key, for the work then was a secret.  His wife, Catherine HARTMAN, whom he married in Dansville, Livingston county, about 1820, bore him eight children, three of whom grew to maturity, viz.: Harman, Lovisa, and Charles.  He removed finally to Perry, Wyoming county, after following his trade in nearly all the eastern States, and came thence in 1833 to Otto, where he was a farmer and lumberman, running a saw-mill there about two years.  In 1842 he moved to Mansfield and thence in 1847 to Cold Spring, where he died Oct. 30, 1853.  His wife died in Otto, April 10, 1840.  He was a Royal Arch Mason.

 

Charles MORSE, born in Perry, Wyoming county, Aug. 14, 1830, was reared on a farm and came to Steamburgh with his father in 1847, when there was but one house in the place, and for four weeks saw no white man and but one Indian.  He married, Jan. 15, 1854, Rachel, daughter of Rev. Thomas ARNOLD (see Napoli), and their only child, Charles Harding, was born Sept. 7, 1856.  Mr. MORSE has manufactured large quantities of lumber.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Cold Spring – Chapter XXI (21)

Page 500

 

Surnames:  PRICE, CHENEY, CULVER, POPE, EARL, CROOKS, BUTLER

 

The PRICE family has long been prominent in the settlement of Cold Spring.  Its members have always been public spirited, influential citizens, many of them holding offices of trust and responsibility.  The first of the name to arrive was Meletiah PRICE, who came about 1827, settling where Steamburgh now is.  He later moved to Little Valley and thence to Conewango, where he died in 1850.

 

Samuel PRICE came from Otsego, Otsego county, to Cold Spring in 1833 and settled on the farm where his son Dorr now lives, and where he died May 31, 1862.  His wife, Elizabeth CHENEY, who died March 11, 1876, bore him these children: Ebenezer C. (deceased), James W. (deceased), Sarah (deceased), Matilda (Mrs. Edward CULVER), of Steamburgh, Lucy, Angeline (Mrs. Angel POPE), of Randolph, Jonathan (deceased), Joseph, Martin, and Dorr.  Mr. PRICE was justice of the peace many years, poormaster, assessor, school trustee, and a lumberman and farmer.

 

Joseph PRICE was born March 10, 1832, married, Feb. 12, 1854, Diantha, daughter of William EARL, and they have had two children: Amanda (Mrs. John CROOKS), of Corydon, Pa., and Elmer, of Waterford, Pa.  Mr. PRICE built and for fifteen years ran a saw-mill.  Aug. 13, 1862, he enlisted in Co. A, 154th N. Y. Vols., and served until the close of the war, being slightly wounded.  Dorr PRICE enlisted at the same time and in the same company, and served nineteen months, being discharged for physical disability.

 

Ebenezer C. PRICE, born June 19, 1815, died in Cold Spring June 17, 1875.  He was prominent in political affairs, serving as supervisor, county excise commissioner, justice of the peace, justice of sessions, and coroner.  His wife was Sally, daughter of Noah CULVER, and their children were Ellen (deceased), Emma (Mrs. T. P. BUTLER), of Cold Spring, Elbert, of Cold Spring, and Elsie.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Cold Spring – Chapter XXI (21)

Page 501

 

Surnames:  REEVES, HELMS, ABBEY, PROSSNER, BRACE

 

George W. REEVES, son of Warren H. (see South Valley), was born Aug, 16, 1827, and came with his parents to South Valley in 1837.  He married, June 51, 1849, Emeline, daughter of Milton HELMS, of Cold Spring, and their children are Fayette W. (deceased); Delora R. (Mrs. D. J. ABBEY), of Salamanca; Frank A., of Salamanca; Lizzie M. (Mrs. M. P.PROSSER), of Buffalo; Lorenda A. (deceased); and Ernest G. and Darwin W., of Johnsonburg, Pa.  Mr. REEVES has been a farmer, carpenter, and lumberman.  He came to Cold Spring in 1849.  While in South Valley he was town clerk one term.  With his two brothers, William I. and Daniel F., he enlisted in Co. I, 9th N. Y. Cav., in 1864, serving until the war closed.  He has retired from active life.

 

Daniel F. REEVES, another son of Warren H. REEVES, was born May 12, 1834, and married, March 31, 1866, Sophronia, daughter of Elisha BRACE, and their children are Warren E., born Jan. 11, 1867; George R., born Feb. 5, 1869, of North Dakota; Ernest C., born Dec. 2, 1872; Daniel E., born Jan. 24, 1875; and J. BRACE, born April 20, 1877.  Mr. REEVES has been assistant clerk of the Board of Supervisors, town assessor, and for over thirty years a teacher in the public schools.  He has been district deputy of the county grange and was supervisor in 1892 and re-elected in 1893

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Cold Spring – Chapter XXI (21)

Page 501

 

Surnames:  WYMAN, LYON, MORSE, LEACH

 

Josiah WYMAN came to Steamburgh from Kennedy, Chautauqua county, in 1847, but soon returned.  His children were Harvey G. and Hettie (deceased).  He died in 1857.  Harvey G. WYMAN, born April 30, 1849, married, July 4, 1870, Maryette, daughter of E. L. LYON, and their children are Jennie S., Nellie S., Elmer H., Ellis A., and Beulah H.  He has spent his life in lumbering.  In September, 1892, with C. H. MORSE, under the firm name of MORSE & WYMAN, he bought the steam saw and shingle-mill of Joseph LEACH which was formerly owned by E. L. LYON.  Mr. WYMAN has been postmaster four years, highway commissioner one year, and school trustee three years.

 

================================================================================

 

TOWN OF CONEWANGO

 

BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES FROM: "HISTORICAL GAZETTEER AND BIOGRAPHICAL MEMORIAL of CATTARAUGUS COUNTY, NY, ed by WILLIAM ADAMS, Published 1893

 

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 511

 

Surnames:  ALDRICH, WEBBER, SANDERSON, STANLEY, CHAPIN, WHITFORD, HOLBROOK

 

Ziba ALDRICH, a native of Richmond, N. H., died in Rutland, Vt., aged eighty-two.  His wife was Hannah WEBBER.  Abner ALDRICH, their third child, was born in Vermont, May 9, 1782, and removed to Canton, St. Lawrence County, where he died in 1862.  He was a soldier in the War of 1812.  His wife Betsey was a daughter of Moses SANDERSON, a Revolutionary soldier, and of their seven children Harris was born in Rutland county, Vt., Oct. 31, 1814, and came to Randolph, Aug. 3, 1837.  March 8, 1840, he married Diana, daughter of Joseph and Pearl (CHAPIN) STANLEY, of Homer, N. Y.  She died Feb 17, 1886.  Their children were Pearl A., born Sept, 26, 1841, married David F. WHITFORD, and has one daughter, Cordelia L. (Mrs. Charles HOLBROOK), of Oil City, Pa.; Hartwell B., Jan. 16, 1844; Abner A., June 13, 1848; Estella D., died in 1872; and Kate A., March 4, 1859.  Mr. ALDRICH is said to have been the first in Cattaraugus County to apply steam-power to the manufacture of butter and cheese.  He has served many years as Justice of the peace, has been school superintendent, was associate justice of the county two years, and has taught at least twenty terms of school.  He has been a man of prominence and enterprise, and now, in retired life, carries the esteem and high respect of his fellow townsmen.  Abner A. ALDRICH was supervisor of Conewango in 1869.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 511

 

Surnames:  ALLEN, TOWNSEND, FARNHAM

 

James ALLEN, son of Joseph and Sarah Ann ALLEN, was born in Rhode Island and came to this town in 1830.  He died at Clear Creek on March 2, 1854.  His first wife, Hannah TOWNSEND, bore him these children: Ripley T., Sarah A., James P., and Henry.  Mr. ALLEN married, second, Terzah TOWNSEND, by whom he had one son, Mason.  His third wife was Emily FARNHAM who was the mother of his youngest son; Charles T.  Henry ALLEN owns and occupies the paternal homestead.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 511

 

Surname: BENSON

 

Archer BENSON was an early settler of Randolph.  A grandson is a general merchant in Conewango.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 511

 

Surnames:  BAILEY, NOYES, JOHNSON

 

Joseph BAILEY who was born, lived, and died in Oxford, Vt., left one son, Joseph, who was born June 23, 1800, removed to Black Rock in 1827, and came thence to Conewango in 1826, settling where he still resides (April, 1893).  He is a cooper by trade.  He married Ann NOYES, whose mother's father, Timothy JOHNSON, was a captain at the battle of Bunker Hill.  Their children are James J., Maryam, and Mandana N.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 511

 

Surname:  BARTON

 

David BARTON died in Leon about 1830, having come to that town from Massachusetts in 1820.  His son Grosvenor located in Conewango the same year and cleared the farm on which he died in 1876.  Some of the latter's children still reside on the homestead and in the vicinity.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 511

 

Surnames:  BENSON, DOREMUS, PIER, FOX, MARTIN

 

Daniel BENSON came to Conewango from Mendon, N. Y., in 1824.  Here he died in 1859. aged ninety years.  He was born near Patterson, N. J., and married Rachel DOREMUS, who died in this town in 1838.  Their children were Rebecca, John, Jane, Cornelius, Garret, Peter D., and David.  David BENSON, a native of New Jersey, was born April 25, 1798, and died in Conewango on Oct. 30, 1870.  His wife, Catharine PIER, died in Randolph on Oct. 11, 1882.  Their children were Sally A., John D., Rachel J., Caroline A., Rebecca S., Mary C., Lydia L., Ellen A., and Daniel D.  The latter was born in Conewango, Jan. 18, 1825, married, Oct 15, 1848, Catharine M. FOX, and had one child, Gary, born May 13, 1852.  Gary BENSON married Laura E. MARTIN, Sept. 9, 1874, and resides on the BENSON homestead.  The BENSONs have been prominent in local matters.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Pages 511 & 512

 

Surnames:  BIGELOW, SPENCER, WELLS, WOOD, BURT

 

 John BIGELOW, a son of John and a native of Colchester, Conn., died in Conewango on April 14, 1844, coining here in 1834.  He was a Revolutionary soldier and for many years a Baptist minister.  He married Temperance SPENCER and had born to him these children:  Elihu, Temperance, Temperance, 2d, Lucy, Cynthia, Mary, Eunice, John S., and Israel B.  John S. BIGELOW was born March 14, 1807.  He married Caroline A. WELLS and his children were Wells J., Emmaria, Harriet, Antoinette L., Mary J., Charles A., Francis M., and Amanda H.  Mr. BIGELOW died March 26, 1866.  Mrs. BIGELOW survives and lives with her daughters Amanda and Harriet.  Wells J. BIGELOW, born Nov. 5, 1830, married Laura P. WOOD, and has one daughter, Caroline A. (Mrs. Franklin C. BURT).  Mr. BIGELOW owns and operates the Axeville cheese factory, which was built in 1870 by Morgan L. Worden.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 512

 

Surnames:  BUFFINGTON,  CHURCHILL, BALLARD

 

Hon. William BUFFINGTON, son of William, was born in Cambridge, Washington County, May 31, 1817.  William, Sr., came with his family to New Albion (q. v.) in June, 1826, where both he and his wife (Harriet CHURCHILL) died, the former in March, 1858, and the latter in March, 1874.  Both were Baptists and highly esteemed citizens.  William, Jr., at an early age evinced considerable ability as a scholar, especially as a mathematician, and while young was elected in New Albion inspector of schools and subsequently superintendent of schools five successive terms.  In 1849, 1850, and 1857 he represented that town on the Board of Supervisors and in 1857 was elected to the Assembly, being re-elected in 1858, and was chairman of the Committee on Roads and Bridges.  First a Whig of the Seward type and afterward and continuously a staunch Republican he represented his district as a delegate to the first Republican convention in 1854, and in 1861 he received the first appointment from Lincoln's cabinet as mail-route agent from Dunkirk to New York city over the Erie railroad.  Mr. BUFFINGTON from early manhood took an active and a prominent part in temperance movements and in religious matters, and in all affairs his excellent judgment and influence have carried vast weight and prestige.  In Feb., 1850, he married Eleanor BALLARD, who bore him six children.  The family came to Conewango several years ago.  Mr. BUFFINGTON purchased a farm on Elm creek.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 512

 

Surname:  CHENEY

 

Willard CHENEY, after living in Genesee County and later in Chautauqua County, moved to Leon, and finally settled in Conewango, where he died.  His son Thomas W. located in Leon in 1818 and died there November 17, 1892.  He was a Wesleyan Methodist minister and at one time was presiding elder.  Mrs. Willard CHENEY was a niece of General Warren of Revolutionary fame.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 512

 

Surnames:  COATES, JARVIS, MERRY, MASON

 

Daniel COATES, an Englishman by birth, came to Conewango in 1830 and died April 11, 1857.  He was a farmer.  He married Martha Jarvis, who was born and died in England, being the mother of two children, Nathaniel and Ann.  His second wife was Ann MERRY, by whom he had one son, Nathan.  Ann COATES, who was born February 9, 1807 married, August 1, 1825, Charles MASON, who died October 2, 1851, from accident.  Their children were Martha J., Mary A., Charlotte E., William J., George J., Daniel B. P., and Charles J.  Mrs. MASON died Feb. 11, 1893.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Pages 512 & 513

 

Surnames:  COATES, MERRY

 

Nathaniel COATES, son of Daniel and brother of Mrs. Ann (COATES) MASON, was born in England, October 13, 1809, and died in Chautauqua County in March 1871.  His wife was Martha MERRY, who bore him three children Alfred N. (deceased), Thomas D. (deceased), Richard J., William M. (deceased), Elizabeth, James, and Mary S. (deceased).  Mrs. COATES died Aug. 15, 1848, and Mr. COATES married, second, Mary MERRY, sister of his first wife, and third Harriet HOUSE.  Richard J. COATES, born Nov. 12, 1839, married, January 7, 1869, Julia F. MORGAN, of Conewango.  He enlisted Aug. 21, 1861, in Co. I, 49th N. Y. Vols.,  and was discharged Jan. 6, 1863.  He has been supervisor since 1892 and has served as town clerk five terms.  Thomas D. COATES served in Co. E, 9th N. Y. Cav., and died from poison at Annapolis, MD., Nov. 4, 1862.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 513

 

Surnames:  COE, STEWART, FOSTER, LACY, JONES

 

COE. – John M. STEWART, a native of Williamstown, Mass., settled in Ohio, where he died.  He married Electa FOSTER, who bore him these children: Alonzo, Sophia, and Elvira R.  The latter married Alfred LACY, who died in Union, WI., aged forty-five.  She married, second, Luman COE, who died at the age of about seventy years.  Mrs. COE survives her husband and resides in Conewango.  Her sister Sophia married Hanson JONES, also of this town.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 513

 

Surnames:  COREY, FITCH

 

Benjamin COREY, the father-in-law of one of John A. FITCH's sons, settled in Leon in 1821, moved thence to Rutledge, and died in 1857.  He was a pioneer in temperance work in Cattaraugus County and gained a considerable reputation as an abolitionist. .

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 513

 

Surnames:  COWAN, SMITH, SEAGER, METCALF

 

John COWEN was born in Rhode Island, served in the Revolutionary war, came to Conewango in 1833, and died at the age of ninety-one years.  His wife, Olive SMITH, bore him these children: Eddie, John, Arthur F., Sally, Esther, and Waity.  Eddie COWEN died in Tolland, Conn.  His children were Theodore, Jane, Olive, Sarah, Norman E. G., and John M.   John M. COWEN, born December 12, 1826, came to Conewango when six years old.  He cleared the farm where he now resides.  August 3, 1847, he married Rachel A. SEAGER, by whom he has had these children: Adeline, Josephine W., Salla A., John N., Lester E., Jennie M., Orestus S., and William S.  Norman E. G. COWEN, born in Connecticut in 1833, married Hattie A. METCALF, a native of New Albion, and their children are Eddie L., Austin M., Arthur C., and Olive A.  He resides on the homestead of his grandfather.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 513

 

Surnames:  COWAN, HOTCHKISS, MERCHANT, BUSHNELL

 

Emmett COWAN was born in Jamestown, N. Y., in 1828.  His marriage with Harriet HOTCHKISS, of South Valley, bore him these children: Emma, Erie, Irving, Abbie, and Dana A.  Mr. COWEN [sic] died in 1868.  Dana A. COWAN was born in South Valley, March 4, 1862, and March 4, 1891, he married Stella. daughter of Album and Helen (MERCHANT) BUSHNELL.  He is proprietor of the Elm Creek cheese factory.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 513

 

Surnames:  COWLEY, STEPHENS

 

Samuel COWLEY, a native of Delaware county and an early settler of Conewango, died Feb. 15, 1845.  His wife, Sophronia STEPHENS, died here Sept. 11 1885.  They reared a large family, several representatives of whom still reside in town.  He was a famous hunter, and in early days killed much large game.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Pages 513 & 514

 

Surnames:  CROOKER, McGLASHAN, CRUMB, PENHOLLOW, BATES, ALDRICH, O'CONNER

 

Sampson CROOKER was a native of England and for many years a sea captain.  He came to Conewango from Greene County in 1818, and with Robert McGLASHAN built the first sawmill in town.  With Culver CRUMB he built a saw and grist-mill on Clear creek in 1825, and alone he set out the first orchard and gave the land for the first cemetery in Conewango.  His wife Alma was an energetic, hardy pioneer, and braved with undaunted courage the incidents of a frontier life.  Their son, Hon. George A. S. CROOKER, is mentioned at length in the chapter on the Bench and Bar.  Among the latter's children is S. Deloss, who was born in Conewango, May 4, 1828, married, Sept. 4, 1848, Philena F. PENHOLLOW, daughter of Reuben and Eliza M. (BATES) PENHOLLOW, of Conewango, who bore him two children: Paul D., born Sept. 4, 1849, died Oct. 26, 1852, and Alice I. G., born Feb. 2, 1852, who married, May 14, 1871, Abner ALDRICH, and has these children: Ella, D. Estella, Emir M., Stanley C., Harris, Philena, and Lilly I.  Mr. CROOKER has always resided in Conewango.  He has served as town clerk and has held other positions of trust.  George A. S. CROOKER's second wife was Mary J. O’CONNER, of Albany, by whom he had five children:  Minnie, Alma, Georgia, Roderick, and Magdalene.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 514

 

Surnames:  CURTISS, HART, BATES, DAY

 

Joseph CURTISS was born in Huntington, Conn., where he died at an advanced age.  He was a life-long farmer.  His son Joseph came to Cattaraugus county in 1836 and died March 4, 1840.  He followed the sea many years.  His wife, Mary HART, died January 4, 1837.  Their children were George W.  John, Clarissa, Mary, Cornelia, 2d, Sarah A., Asa E., and Robert H.  The latter was born in Huntington, Conn., September 25, 1832, and now occupies the homestead.  January 31, 1850, he married Josephine E., daughter of William and Mariah (BATES) Day, who was born Sept. 24, 1831.  Their children are Helen, born Oct. 24, 1850; Frank F., born October 24, 1851; Helen, 2d, born July 14, 1854; Walter E., born March 22, 1856; William R., born Nov. 14, 1857; Frances J., born January 14, 1860; Carrie V., born Sept. 18, 1861; Harland, born Feb. 14, 1866; Lizzie C., born July 31, 1870; Evelin E., born Oct. 14, 1872; and Joseph A., born Aug. 25, 1874.  Mr. CURTISS is a farmer in the north part of the town, where he has lived since 1861.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 514

 

Surnames:  DARLING, MORETON, SAUNDERS, HOLLISTER, WORDING

 

Benjamin DARLING, born in Rutland, Vt. Nov. 8, 1782, came into the town of Conewango in 1821 and died in April 1861.  He married Maria MORETON, who died January 18, 1848, their children being Betsey M., Huldah Ezra, Polly Ann, Benjamin S., and Christiana.  Benjamin S. DARLING was born July 7, 1819, and married, February 3, 1844, Sally SAUNDERS, who bore him these children: Polly A., Sally M., Saloma D., Charles B., Thomas J., Titus S., James B., Ada C., Ezra I., Frances P., and Myrta M.  James B. DARLING was born March 15, 1857.  Nov. 12, 1879, he married Effie S. HOLLISTER, and his children are Ezra B. and Effie M.  Titus S. DARLING, who was born March 4, 1855, married Ada L. WORDING Dec. 25, 1877, and has one son, Cleveland S.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 514

 

Surnames:  DOCKSTADER, VAN DE WALKER, VEEDER, SEARLES, FOX, COWAN

 

George Adam DOCKSTADER, son of Nicholas and Dorcas (VAN DE WALKER) DOCKSTADER, was born in Johnstown, N. Y., Oct. 31, 1775.  Nicholas DOCKSTADER was a native of Montgomery county, where he died in 1830.  He was a German by birth, a farmer by occupation, and a Revolutionary soldier from patriotism.  George A. DOCKSTADER came to Conewango in 1834, was the first permanent settler on the DOCKSTADER farm, and removed to Montgomery county, where he died July 26, 1870.  He was a very prominent and enterprising pioneer, and possessed untiring energy and much native ability.  He married Sarah VEEDER, who died here in Oct., 1855, having borne him these children: Catharine, Anna, Adam, Sarah, A. V., and Alida.  Adam DOCKSTADER was born Nov. 27, 1806, married, Feb. 22, 1827, Angelica SEARLES, and had born to him children as follows: Dennis, Sarah J., Anna M., Alida C., and George A.  The latter was born Dec. 31, 1827, and married, April 28, 1869, A. Alida FOX, by whom he had three children: Annie. K. (Mrs. Orestus S. COWEN), Sarah, and Georgie A.  Not only the paternal ancestors of the DOCKSTADER family but the maternal ancestry as well were prominent in Revolutionary times.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Pages 514 & 515

 

Surnames:  ELLSWORTH, DAY, JENKES, GARDNER

 

Stiles B. ELLSWORTH, son of Benjamin, was born in Ellington, N. Y., Feb. 6, 1832.  Benjamin ELLSWORTH was born in East Windsor, Conn., Dec. 25, 1793, and died in Conewango, Nov. 8, 1871.  His wife, Calista DAY, was a daughter of Judge DAY, of Vermont, and their children were M. Eliza, Stiles B., and Florence A.  Mr. ELLSWORTH came to this town from Chautauqua County in 1840, and was a farmer by occupation.  Stiles B. ELLSWORTH finished his rudimentary education at Fredonia Academy and devoted much of his life to the practice of civil engineering.  In 1862 he enlisted in Co. K, 154th N. Y, Vols., and at Chancellorsville on May 2, 1863, was three times wounded.  Being left on the field for dead he laid there four days and was finally taken by the Confederates, being subsequently exchanged and promoted first lieutenant.  Jan. 1, 1856, he married Victoria JENKS, who died Aug. 13, 1867.  He married, second, Oct. 14, 1869, Betsey M. GARDNER.  Mr. ELLSWORTH was supervisor of Conewango in 1882, 1883, and 1884.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 515

 

Surnames:  FISHER, SMITH, STANLEY

 

Simeon FISHER, son of Simeon and Lucy FISHER, was born in Windham county, Vt., came to Poland, Chautauqua county, in 1831, and thence to Randolph in 1840, where he died at the age of seventy-two.  Simeon FISHER, Sr., was a Revolutionary soldier, as were also two brothers, while Simeon, Jr., served three months as a musician in the War of 1812.  Simeon FISHER, Jr., married Lucy SMITH, who bore him nine children: Lucy C., Palena, Lewis, Ebenezer, Rosella, Carmelia, Lucy, Olive (deceased), and Vilando.  The latter was born in Windham county, Vt., Jan. 22, 1820, came to Randolph in 1837, and married, Aug. 11, 1842, Betsey STANLEY, who was-born in March, 1821, and died in Conewango in 1881.  Their children were Diana (deceased), Luceba, and Mary.  Mr. FISHER is a chair and cabinetmaker by trade, a farmer by occupation, and has voted at every election since 1842.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 515

 

Surname:  FITCH

 

Eseck FITCH came to Leon in 1845 and died there ten years later.  His son John A., born in 1805, came to Conewango in 1831.  Both had large families and were prominent in town affairs.  John A. FITCH was an indefatigable temperance worker and eminent as a local abolitionist.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 515

 

Surnames:  FRISBIE, BROWN, NEWCOMB, NOYES, BAILEY

 

George FRISBIE was born in Litchfield, Conn., and came to Conewango in February 1832, clearing the farm on which he died February 25, 1868, aged eighty-five.  He married Filena BROWN, and their children were Orator K. and Charles R.  Orator K., born Aug. 27, 1823, married Aurilla NEWCOMB, had children George, Roxana, Charles, Maxa, Ellen, Flora, and Nelson, and died in Conewango in April, 1869.  Charles R. FRISBIE, born Dec. 20, 1826, married Mandana, daughter of Joseph and Ann (NOYES) BAILEY, and has had born to him four children: Mary Ann, Ettie E., and Melvin and Melvina (twins).

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 515

 

Surnames:  FULLER, GREENWOOD, McGLASHAN, FARMER

 

David FULLER was born in Dover, Mass., was a farmer, and died here at an advanced age.  His son Joseph, who died in Shrewsbury, Vt. in 1845, married Achsah GREENWOOD , who was born Dec. 16, 1778.  Their children were Charles, Greenwood, Joseph, Achsah, Elizabeth, Mary, and Daniel.  Daniel FULLER was born in Shrewsbury, Vt., March 18, 1823, came to Conewango in 1855, and purchased the Charles McGLASHAN farm, where he now resides.  His wife, Harriet M. FARMER, whom he married Feb. 21, 1859, died July 13, 1886.  Their children were Henry E., born Nov. 29, 1859, died Sept. 4, 1872; Achsali H., born July 29, 1861, died Oct. 28, 1872; Frank D., born Sept. 22, 1865; Flora, born Oct. 24, 1870; and Hattie M., born Feb. 3, 1872, died Oct. 28, 1872.  Mr. FULLER is a farmer and has been justice of the peace eight years.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 515

 

Surnames:  GARDNER, MORTON, CROSSFIELD

 

George GARDNER, son of George and Huldah GARDNER, was born in Lunenburgh, Mass., and came to Conewango in 1830, where he died in 1854.  He married Rebecca MORTON, a native of Massachusetts, and their children were George, Harry, Morton, Daniel W., Stephen, Huldah, Aurilla, and Christianna.  George, Jr., was born in Woodstock, Vt., Jan. 7, 1812, and Dec. 14, 1842, married Lorena CROSSFIELD.  Their children are Emma, born Sept. 18, 1845; Frank, born May 12, 1847; John, born Jan. 22, 1849; George D., born Oct. 6, 1856; and Dr. Will F. (see page 121).

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Pages 515 & 516

 

Surnames:  GARDNER, WHITE, CROSSFIELD, COOPER

 

Daniel W. GARDNER, a son of George and a native of Woodstock, Vt., came to this town with his father in 1830 and died Oct. 31, 1861.  He served as constable and collector for sixteen consecutive years and was deputy sheriff under George WHITE.  He married Laura CROSSFIELD, who was born in 1816 and died in 1872.  Their children were Christiana D., Betsey M., Edwin S., Julia A., Marcus M., Edna R., Martha F., and Dana W.  Marcus M. GARDNER was born April 13, 1847, and married, Jan. 1, 1868, Emma J., daughter of Silas COOPER.  Their children are Mary G., Martha A., Maud L., Daniel D., and Bessie E.  Mr. GARDNER conducts the Conewango cheese factory.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 516

Surnames:  GROVER, WYLLYS, MILLIMAN, STEBBINS, STEWART

 

Daniel GROVER, a native of Connecticut, came at an early day to Conewango and died here at a good old age, as did also his wife.  Of his four children Lewis was born in this town and died here in 1862.  He married Abigail, daughter of Rufus WYLLYS, and their children were Elijah, Mason, Alvin, Alonzo, Mary, De Heart, Deloss, William, Elisha, Sophia, and Gustavus.  The latter was born February 23, 1841.  October 7, 1861, he married Hannah E MILLIMAN, who has borne him three children, Frank, Jennie J., and Charles M.  Mr. GROVER enlisted Oct 7, 1861, in Co. K, 64th N. Y. Vols.  participated in the battles of Fair Oaks, Williamsburg, Second Bull Run, and Portsmouth, being wounded at the latter engagement, and was discharged May 5, 1863.  Deloss GROVER enlisted in the same company and regiment and died in 1872.  William GROVER served in a regiment of New York heavy artillery.  Frank GROVER, son of Gustavus, married Ida, daughter of Gordon and Abigail STEBBINS.  Jennie GROVER married Joseph C. STEWART, Jan. 24, 1888.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 516

 

Surnames:  HALL, ARNOLD, ELLWORTH, FRANKLIN, BLANCHARD, FLENTJE, DAY

 

Joseph K. HALL was an early settler of Leon.  Both he and his wife, Nancy ARNOLD, died there.  Their children were Nancy C., Joseph, Abner, Elvira, Frederick, Chauncey C., Harvey, Charles, and Harrison.  Chauncey C. HALL, born April 7, 1818, came to Leon in 1847, and June 24, 1856, married Eliza, daughter of Benjamin ELLSWORTH, of Conewango, their children being Jennie C., Ralph N., Henry E., Kate F., Stiles C., and Frank H.  Mr. HALL was a carpenter by trade.  His second wife was Sarah FRANKLIN, by whom he had children Anice, Maud E., and Warren A.  Anice married Washington BLANCHARD, of Leon, and has two children.  Maud E. (Mrs. Herman FLENTJE) lives in Winona, Minn.  Mrs. Eliza (ELLSWORTH) HALL survives her husband, residing in Conewango village.  Her father, Benjamin ELLSWORTH, served in the War of 1812, came to Chautauqua County from Connecticut on foot, and removed in 1839 to Conewango.  He donated for the purpose the land where the Presbyterian Church now stands, and both he and his wife, Calista DAY, were instrumental in the organization of the society and the erection of the edifice.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 516

 

Surnames:  HALL, HOLLISTER

 

Rev. Edwin HALL, pastor of the Presbyterian Church of Conewango, was born in Middlebury, Vt., Aug. 1, 1829.  The most of his early life was spent in Norwalk, Conn., where his father, Rev. Edwin HALL, D.D., was pastor of the First Congregational church from 1832 to 1855.  Thence his father removed to Auburn, N. Y., where he was professor of theology in the Theological Seminary from 1855 to 1876.  He died at Auburn in 1877.  His mother, Fanny (HOLLISTER), died in 1885.  Mr. HALL came to Conewango in Jan. 1890.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 516

 

Surnames:  HAMMOND, TALBOT

 

Joseph HAMMOND was born in Rhode Island in 1767, removed to Chenango county in 1800, and came to this town in 1830, where he died in 1848, and where his wife, Anna TALBOT, died in 1836.  They reared several children.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Pages 516 & 517

 

Surnames:  HARRIS, WHITMORE, FISHER, CLARK, HARRIS

 

William HARRIS, son of Jonathan, was born in Elba, N. Y., in 1803, and removed in 1864 to this town, where he died.  His wife was Marilla WHITMORE, who bore him these children: Sumner, Eliza, Lyman F., Levi, George, and Samantha, of whom Lyman F. HARRIS, born July 18, 1832, married, Aug. 26, 1856, Matilda FISHER, and their children are Mary and Burdette (killed Dec. 20, 1886).  Mary married Melvin, son of Warren and Jane (CLARK) HARRIS, of Napoli, Jan. 18, 1882.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 517

 

Surnames:  HILL, KENNICUTT, HUBBELL

 

Levi HILL early cleared a farm in New Albion, where he died in 1862.  His children were Gardner, Jerome, Emma, and Alexander.  Gardner HILL died in New Albion, March 1, 1854.  By his wife Matilda, daughter of John A. and Sophronia KENNICUTT, he had these children: Leroy, Lucius D., Ellen, and Gardner.  Lucius D. HILL was born March 5, 1849, and married, Dec. 30, 1870, Alma M. HUBBELL, of Leon, who has borne him children as follows: Rolland S., born Oct, 21, 1871; Eva, born Feb. 1, 1873, died June 30, 1883; Emma M., born Nov. 22, 1877; Ray C., born Oct. 19, 1879; and Addie H., born Aug. 13, 1883.  Mr. HILL has served as justice of the peace, notary public, and town clerk, and is a general merchant.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 517

 

Surnames:  HILLS, WATKINS, WINSHIP

 

Calvin HILLS was born in New England, Sept. 16, 1799, came to Conewango in 1832, and ran the first carding-mill and cloth-dressing establishment in the town.  He cleared a farm on which he died Oct. 9, 1889.  His wife was Mary F., daughter of Lyman and Abigail WATKINS, and their children were Emily, Edwin F., Charles S., Mary F. (Mrs. W. H. WINSHIP), William G., and Ellen C.  The three sons served in the Rebellion and were honorably discharged.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 517

 

Surnames:  HOLLISTER, HOLDEN, FOSTER, MORGAN

 

William HOLLISTER, son of William, was born in Weathersfield, Conn., Jan. 15, 1763, married Rachel HOLDEN, removed to Granville, N. Y., where he erected a tannery, and in 1833 came to Conewango, where he died.  His children were Ann, Sarah, Emma, Melissa, and William.  The latter was born Aug. 31, 1792, came to Conewango in 1831, and built and for many years conducted the first tannery in the town.  He married Laura FOSTER and their children were William H., Edward, Norman, and James H.  James H. HOLLISTER, born Dec. 10, 1824, married, Dec. 10, 1846, Cornelia L. MORGAN, by whom he has children as follows: Mary L., Emma M., Edward M., James T., and Fanny C.  Mr. HOLLISTER has been prominent in town affairs and resides on the homestead.  William H. HOLLISTER was born in Granville, December 16, 1815, and died at Conewango on March 8, 1893.  He was a life-long member of the Presbyterian Church, for twenty-four years its ruling elder, and for thirty years superintendent of the Sunday school.  A man of great activity he was an indefatigable worker and lived a life worthy of imitation.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 517

 

Surname:  HOPKINS

 

Jacob I. HOPKINS came to Conewango as a farmer and died in 1878.  His father was for many years a sea captain and finally died in Cooperstown.  A son of Jacob I. is a blacksmith in this town.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Pages 517 & 518

 

Surnames:  HUNTINGTON, METCALF, SPRAGUE, KEENE, TUTTLE, GORDON

 

John HUNTINGTON, born in Vermont, Aug. 20, 1775, was a soldier in the War of 1812, was a ship-carpenter by trade, and came to Conewango in 1824, dying here March 24, 1858.  His wife, Betsey METCALF, was born May 5, 1780, and died April 20, 1862.  Their children were Arnold, born June 28, 1801; Charles, Nov. 4, 1802; Amos, April 7, 1804; George, Oct. 10, 1805; Hiram, April 25, 1808; Trumbull, March 14, 1810; David, June 27, 1812; Emily, Sept. 2, 1814; Nancy, June 14, 1816; Mary, May 9, 1819; Henry, May 14, 1820; Almeda, Aug. 11, 1823; and Horace, 1826.  Horace HUNTINGTON married, May 12, 1849, Samantha C., daughter of Asa R. and Emily (SPRAGUE) KEENE.  Their children are Mary, Charles M., Frank D., and Almeda.  Charles M. HUNTINGTON was born Feb. 14, 1864.  Frank D., born April 4, 1867, died April 3, 1870.  Almeda, born June 1, 1869, died May 8, 1882.  Mary, born March 25, 1859, married Charles L. TUTTLE, and has one son, Clair, born March 8, 1892.  David HUNTINGTON married, Jan. 21, 1839, Adaline GORDON, of Rushford, N. Y., and died in Conewango, Aug. 24, 1886.  Their children were Loraine E., Mary J., Charles D., Ellen L., and Ina G.  Mr. HUNTINGTON was town supervisor in 1872.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 518

 

Surnames:  KAISER, SAUNDERS, CARR

 

George KAISER, son of Hartman, Jr., and a native of Germany, being born there May 20, 1829, came to Conewango in 1840, married Alzina SAUNDERS, of this town, and has had born to him two children: Jennie A. (Mrs. Adello CARR) and Nellie E. C.  Mr. KAISER is a farmer on the SAUNDERS farm.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 518

 

Surnames:  KINNEY, GALLOP, SPICER, COWAN

 

Alfred A. KINNEY, son of John and Lucy (GALLOP) KINNEY, was born in Connecticut, March 23, 1808.  He settled in Conewango in May 1832, and cleared the farm where he died Oct. 14, 1882.  His wife,, Athelia SPICER, bore him these children: Lucy E., Eunice E., Matilda, Sarah J., Sally Ann, Olivia A., Christiana, and Alfred, and died June 4, 1882, aged eighty-one.  Alfred KINNEY was born Oct. 4, 1836, and married, April 17, 1877, Flora B., daughter of Elisha and Mary J. COWEN.  He is a farmer on the KINNEY homestead.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 518

 

Surnames:  KESSLER, DOLE

 

Daniel KESSLER came to Conewango in 1859.  He was born in Saxony.Germany, December 14, 1841, a son of George and Caroline KESSLER, and married, April 18, 1873, Mary B., daughter of Alonzo and Jane DOLE.  Their children are Carrie J., Maud E., Alonzo, and Lida E.  Mr. KESSLER cleared the farm on which he resides.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 518

 

Surnames:  KNAPP, WEAVER, JENKS

 

Mrs. Cynthia A. KNAPP. – Christopher WEAVER, a native of Rhode Island, was killed by an accident.  His son William, born in Rhode Island, Feb. 22, 1801, came to Otsego county and thence to Cherry Creek, N. Y., where he died in 1880.  His children were Betsey A., Cynthia A., Electa, Oscar, Abner W., Laura, and Mary W.  Cynthia A. WEAVER was born July 20, 1820, married, April 13, 1840, Bucklin JENKS, and had born to her two children, William L. and Leafy A., both deceased.  Her second husband was lra, son of Elijah KNAPP, who died September 9, 1891.  Mrs. KNAPP survives him and resides in Conewango village.  Mr. JENKS held several town offices.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 518

 

Surnames:  LAMPER, BROWN, YOUNG, PRITCHARD, FARNSWORTH

 

James LAMPER, son of James and Sarah (BROWN) LAMPER and grandson of Benjamin, was born in New Hampshire, April 23, 1798, and came to Randolph in the fall of 1829.  James LAMPER was for thirty years a sea captain.  Two brothers, Benjamin and Asa, served seven years in the Revolutionary war and participated at the battle of Bunker Hill.  James LAMPER, Jr., removed to Conewango in the spring of 1830, and cleared the farm on which he died Feb. 5, 1848.  His wife, Mary YOUNG, who died Sept. 25, 1865, bore him these children: Alexander, Susan M., Sarah, William, Delia, Mary, Julia, and Alonzo S.  Alonzo S. LAMPER, born June 1, 1826, married Huldah PRITCHARD, by whom he had five children – Acta M., Myron C., Susie B., Charles C., and James J.  Mr. LAMPER was for six years county superintendent of the poor, thirteen years local assessor, and since 1887 town overseer of the poor.  Alexander LAMPER married Sylvia FARNSWORTH, of Dayton, had one son, Edward A., who was born in Conewango, and now resides in Minnesota.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 518

 

Surnames:  LEACH, GOODIER, SEEKINS

 

Joseph LEACH was born in Herkimer county and came to Ellington, Chautauqua county, where he cleared a farm and died in 1844.  His wife was Betsey GOODIER and his children were Aaron, Alma, and Joseph G.  Joseph G. LEACH was born Dec. 9, 1828, and married, June 27, 1856, Angeline, daughter of Amos LEACH, by whom he had two children, Aaron (deceased) and Alice, who married Manley A. SEEKINS, March 4, 1878, and has four children – Marian, Myra A., J. Ray, and Guy M.  Joseph G. built in 1882 the steam saw-mill in Conewango which he now owns.  He is also a farmer.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Pages 518 & 519

 

Surnames:  LIMBOCKER, STEPHENS, EDWARDS

 

Uriah LIMBOCKER was for many years a Wesleyan Methodist minister.  Born in Conesus, N. Y., he came to Leon and removed finally to Michigan, where he died June 20, 1883.  His son Gardner was born in Conesus, April 20, 1828, came to Leon with his parents, and subsequently removed to Conewango, where he died in 1853.  He married Harriet STEPHENS, of this town, who bore him one son, Gardner A., July 29, 1853.  Mrs. LIMBOCKER survives her husband and resides with her only son.  Gardner A. LIMBOCKER married Mattie EDWARDS, Feb. 8, 1870, and their children are George R. and Lloyd L.  He is a farmer on the STEPHENS farm.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 519

 

Surnames:  LOOP, WINTER, COWEN

 

David LOOP was born and died in Columbia county.  He participated in the War of 1812.  His son David, born in Dover, N. Y., in 1810, came to Conewango in 1840, cleared three farms, and for many years operated the HOLDRIDGE mills at East Randolph.  He died in 1880.  He married Mary WINTER, who died March 29, 1890.  Their children were Moses W., Charlotte, Mary, Edward, Thomas, and David.  David LOOP, Jr., born May 8, 1850, married, July 4, 1873, Sally A., daughter of John and Rachel COWEN, and their children are Claude A., Josephine, and Mary R.  He owns and occupies the homestead farm, and under the firm name of SNOW & LOOP conducts a saw-mill in the southeast part of the town.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 519

 

Surnames:  MASON, PERRY, WATKINS, HILLS

 

Charles MASON, son of William, Jr., and Mary (PERRY) MASON, both natives of England, was born in Oxfordshire, England, in 1800, came to Conewango in 1830, and was killed by an accident in 1851.  His son Daniel B. P., born Feb. 27, 1844, married, Nov. 26, 1879, Ellen C., daughter of Calvin and Mary (WATKINS) HILLS, and they have one child, Flora E.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 519

 

Surnames:  MASON, SEAGER, COWEN

 

George J. MASON, son of Charles and Ann MASON, married Josephine W., daughter of John and Rachel (SEAGER) COWEN, of Conewango, and their children are Amy L., Jessie, Mattie, and Mabel.  Mr. MASON enlisted in 1862 in Co. K, 154th N. Y. Vols., and served until the war closed, participating in the battles of Fredericksburg, Chancellorsville, and Mission Ridge, and in Sherman's march to the sea.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 519

 

Surnames:  McELWAINE, FISH, MILKS, POOL

 

Timothy McELWAIN, son of Roger and a native of Massachusetts, removed to Erie County in 1818 and to this town in 1843, dying here in 1877.  His wife was Mariah FISH, who died here the same year.  Their children were Reuben, Samuel, Clarinda, Benjamin, and Heman.  Reuben McELWAIN, born April 1, 1824, married Mary G. CHAMPLAIN, who bore him these children: William H., John A., Clara W., Grant, and Earl.  William McELWAIN married Anna L. MILKS and has seven children: Robert L., Mary A., Albert D., Bennie C., Jessie E., Hattie, and Hettie.  Clara W. McELWAIN married Alanson A. POOL and died Oct. 21, 1890, leaving two children, Bessie E. and Claude.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 519

 

Surnames:  METCALF, WALDRON, FOX, SMITH

 

The METCALF family. – John WALDRON, a German by birth, was born in Auburn, N. Y., in 1827, and is now a resident of Arkansas. His wife was Elmir FOX, who died in 1886, and of their children Ida married William METCALF, Nov. 7, 1881, who died January 19, 1882. He was a son of Henry and Julietta (SMITH) METCALF. Their children were Coila E. and Raymond D. Mrs. METCALF resides on the FOX farm, which was cleared by George FOX.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 519

 

Surnames:  METCALF, CHAMPLAIN, MOORE

 

Jotham H. METCALF. – Asa CHAMPLAIN, a native of Stonington, R. I., where he died, had five children, of whom Robert came to New Albion, where he died in 1850.  His wife was Polly MOORE and his children were William M., Hannah, Lydia, Robert, Sarah, Jessie, George, Dudley, and Armenia.  The latter was born Jan. 21, 1821, married Jotham H. METCALF, Jan. 9, 1840, and resides on the homestead.  Their children were Leroy C., Harriet, Eveline, Arvilla, and Mary.  Mr. METCALF died in 1884.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 520

 

Surnames:  MERCHANT, STANNARD, WOOD, DELAND, JOHNSON

 

Amos MERCHANT was born in Cazenovia, N. Y., and came to Napoli, where he died in 1881, aged eighty-four.  His wife, Almira STANNARD, died in Napoli at the age of sixty-five.  Their children were Warren W., Truman, Reuben, Chester, Miranda, Alzina, and Betsey.  Warren W. MERCHANT was born in Napoli in 1827 and came to Conewango in 1849.  He is a farmer.  He married Mehitable, daughter of Thomas and Deborah WOOD, who died in 1863.  Their children were Charles T., born May 14, 1844; Lafayette, born in August 1848; Ella D., born Aug. 10, 1852; Austin, born in 1856; and Adelbert, born in 1861.  Charles T. MERCHANT married Ella D. DELAND, by whom he has one daughter, Hattie A.  The latter married John JOHNSON and has two children.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 520

 

Surnames:  MOREY, FORWARD, TEN EYCK, TRAVIS

 

Samuel MOREY, a Revolutionary soldier, was an early settler of Otto and died there in 1874.  His wife, Electa FORWARD, who died in Otto in 1876, bore him these children: Stillman, Phebe, Sarah, Samuel, Clarissa, and George.  Stillman MOREY was born Nov. 17,1817, moved to Mansfield in 1856, and thence to Oregon in 1888.  His son Levi E., now a resident of Conewango, was born in Sacket's Harbor, N. Y., May 7, 1847, married, Sept. 16, 1866, Nellie, daughter of John and Annie M. (TEN EYCK) TRAVIS, of Mansfield, and has children as follows: Effie A., Etta L., and Ladore E.  Levi E. MOREY enlisted at the age of seventeen in Co. K, 9th N. Y. Cav., and served to the close of the war, participating in nineteen engagements.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 520

 

Surnames:  OTIS, BACOCK, WALKER, HEATH

 

Justin OTIS came to this town in 1860 and died in East Randolph on Nov. 22, 1882.  Born in Colchester, Conn., March 23, 1798, he married Minerva BABCOCK, and has had these children: George, Norman G., Patty, Harrison G., and Mary A.  Norman G. OTIS, born in Perry, N. Y., Sept. 19, 1849, married Eliza C. WALKER, who bore him one daughter, Lucy, and died Jan. 30, 1854.  His second marriage was with Louisa HEATH, by whom he has children as follows: Bennie C. (deceased), Norman E., George H, and Mettie.  Mr. OTIS was census enumerator for the town in 1880.  He is now a farmer and a retired merchant and miller.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 520

 

Surnames:  PHILLIPS, McINTYRE, HITCHCOCK, TORRENCE, MASON, MARVIN, HALL

 

Isaac PHILLIPS was born in Brookfield, Madison county, and came to Villenova, N. Y., where he died in 1872.  His wife, Diantha McINTYRE, who died Feb. 9, 1864, bore him twelve children, of whom William P. was born in Brookfield, Oct. 12, 1814, removed to Chautauqua county in 1835, cleared several farms, came to Conewango in April, 1869, and died here April 14, 1884.  He married, July 28, 1844, Lorinda, daughter of Timothy and Zurvina (HITCHCOCK) TORRENCE, of Randolph.  She was born Nov. 20, 1824.  Their children were Mandana M., born Nov. 8, 1845, died in infancy; Adelaide, born June 21, 1848; Marvin W., born July 12, 1851; Oliver H., born Sept. 1, 1853; Charles, born Feb. 13, 1856; Moses, born Oct. 13, 1859, died Feb. 7, 1864; Lee S., born May 29, 1862; and Nellie E., born April 14, 1864.  Mr. PHILLIPS was an industrious man and a highly respected citizen.  Adelaide PHILLIPS married Charles J. MASON and their children are Mertie J., Alta L., Annie M. and Lynn P.  Marvin W. PHILLIPS married Jennie C. HALL and has had two children: Claude (deceased) and Ethel.  Oliver H. PHILLIPS married Ettie WATKINS, of East Randolph.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 520

 

Surname:  POPE

 

Elnathan POPE came to Conewango in 1828 and died in Wisconsin in 1865.  His father, Nathaniel, was a Revolutionary soldier.  He cleared what is known as the POPE farm, and before moving west left several descendants.  It was in honor of this family that the POPE postoffice was named.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Pages 520 & 521

 

Surnames:  PRITCHARD, CHAPMAN

 

Jeremiah PRITCHARD was a son of John, who served in the Revolution and died in Madison county, N. Y.  Jeremiah located in Conewango in 1847, cleared three farms, and died in 1874.  His daughter Mary E. married Welcome CHAPMAN, who settled in Leon at an early age, moved thence to Conewango, and died Nov. 29, 1892.  For twenty years Mr. CHAPMAN was a member of the Presbyterian Church and during his whole life was a farmer.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 521

 

Surnames:  PROSSER, SEAGER, McKEEVER

 

Potter A. PROSSER, twin brother of Amos P., born in Livonia, N. Y., came to Conewango among the early settlers, cleared a farm, and died in 1890.  His wife, Eliza, bore him six children, of whom Andrew R., a native of Livonia, came to this town with his parents, and finally removed to Cold Spring, where he now resides.  His wife, Caroline SEAGER, died in 1887.  Their children were Charlotte A. Micah, Aurora, and Anson S.  Anson S. PROSSER was born in Conewango, Sept. 13, 1849, married, April 12, 1885, Susan McKEEVER, of Cold Spring, and has two children: Andrew C., born April 29, 1888, and May, born Oct 31, 1891.  Mr. PROSSER is a farmer on the John Benson farm.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 521

 

Surnames:  RICE, HENDERSON

 

Chester RICE became a resident of Conewango in 1835 and died here on the farm, which he cleared in 1862.  His wife, Dorothy HENDERSON, died in 1882.  Both were hard workers and reared a family of sturdy children.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 521

Surnames:  ROBINSON, SLADE, BENSON

 

Elijah ROBINSON, son of Ex-Governor ROBINSON, was born in Bennington, Vt., married Experience SLADE, had three children, and died there, aged twenty-eight.  His son Elijah, who was born in Bennington, Jan. 20, 1812, came to Conewango in 1846, cleared a farm, kept hotel, and died May 27, 1886.  He married Mary D. BENSON, who was the mother of his children:  Francis E., C. Janette, Edwin E., John C., Robert E., Mary S., and F. Eugene.  John I. BENSON, father of Mrs. Mary D. ROBINSON, served in the War of 1812, came to Conewango in 1847, and died Jan. 13, 1889.  His wife Alice, a native of Washington county, died in this town in 1887.  Mrs. ROBINSON still survives.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 521

 

Surnames:  ROSS, ELLSWORTH, CONGDON

 

Reuben ROSS was a soldier in the War of 1812, a pensioner, and died at Arkwright, Chautauqua county, after living in Conewango twenty years.  Of his children Zenas, Wilber, and Edwin, Wilber was born in Leon, April 11, 1830, married Frances A., daughter of Benjamin and Calista ELLSWORTH, of Rutledge, and has had nine children:  Ida, Benjamin E., Willard, Micah, Eva E., Harriet C., Willie, Herbert, and Susan.  Benjamin E. ROSS married Kate CONGDON, of Napoli, has one, son, Leo C., and is a farmer with his father.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 521

 

Surname:  SAUNDERS

 

Charles SAUNDERS, son of Hezekiah, came to Conewango about 1830, cleared a farm, and died here in 1876.  One of his sons has been a merchant in Clear Creek for twenty-five years.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 521

 

Surnames:  SCHULZ, FELTSNER, WORDEN

 

Sabastian SCHULZ, born in Solson, Germany, in 1817, came to Conewango in 1851.  He married Amelia FELTSNER and their children are Ann, Eliza, Frank, Charles, Frederick, and Ada.  Frank SCHULZ was born June 3, 1854.  Dec. 25, 1877, he married Ida L. WORDEN, of Randolph, and has three children: Iva I., Goldie, and Floyd F.  Mr. SCHULZ is a farmer.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 521

 

Surname:  SCOTT

 

William SCOTT was born in Franklinville and moved to Versailles, where he was killed by a stone falling from a-bridge he was building.  His father was a, native of Germany.  One of his sons has resided in Conewango forty years.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Pages 521 & 522

 

Surnames:  SEAGER, GRAHAM, HARMON, HILDUM

 

Anson G. SEAGER, son of Micah, Jr., and Lois (GRAHAM) SEAGER, was born in 1805.  The family were early settlers in Phelps, Ontario County, coming there from Connecticut, where Anson G. was born.  In 1833 he removed to this town and cleared the farm he still occupies.  He has held several town offices, among them being that of justice of the peace for sixteen years.  His wife was Aurora HARMON, who died April 4, 1891.  Their children were Caroline, Charlotte, Delia, William M., and Micah.  William M. SEAGER, born March 22, 1835, married Martha E. HILDUM, who is the mother of his children Charles H., Edwin W., and Fred L.  Edwin Brennan, an adopted son of Anson G. SEAGER, was born in Randolph, July 28, 1842, served in the Civil war as a lieutenant of artillery, and for twelve years has been a customs officer in New York city.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 522

 

Surnames:  SMITH, EDWARDS, ROWE, MAYO, OSBORNE, KNAPP, LINDSLEY, ROBERTS, BUSHNELL, BIGELOW

 

Isaac SMITH, son of Isaac, was born Nov. 1, 1791, in Milford, Conn.  He came to this State in the spring of 1814, married Elizabeth, daughter of Alanson and Elizabeth EDWARDS, of Skaneateles, NY, April 1, 1817, and in 1827 removed to Napoli, then little more than a wilderness.  They built a log house and commenced farming, where they remained until 1865, when they moved to Conewango to live with their son Thaddeus.  Elizabeth SMITH died April 9, 1866, at the age of sixty-nine years; Isaac SMITH died Feb. 20, 1883.  They were members of the Presbyterian Church.  The eldest son, Edward SMITH, was born Dec. 30, 1817, and married, April 4, 1847, Eveline ROWE; James Henry SMITH, born April 18, 1819, married Sarah MAYO, June 10, 1844; William Clark SMITH, born April 16, 1821, married Mary Ann OSBORNE, Aug. 28, 1853; a son born April 30, 1823, died same day; Elizabeth SMITH, born Aug. 9, 1824, married Stephen C. KNAPP, June 15, 1846; Ann SMITH, born Feb. 27, 1828, married Harvey LINDSLEY; Melissa Edwards SMITH, born Aug. 20, 1830, married Albert ROBERTS, Oct. 14, 1850; Cynthia SMITH, born Aug. 21, 1832, married Elias BUSHNELL; and Thaddeus C. SMITH, born Aug. 15, 1836, married Mary J. BIGELOW, Nov. 29, 1864, and has had two children – Frank Clayton SMITH, born Sept. 8, 1865, died Sept. 15, 1889, and Ralph Bigelow SMITH, born March 15, 1868.  Edward SMITH is a prominent school teacher in Syracuse, NY., having been superintendent of the city schools twenty-three years.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 522

 

Surnames:  SNOW, HOVEY, HUESTON, BENEDICT

 

Nathan SNOW, a native of Connecticut, came to Conewango in 1828.  Serving as a captain in the War of 1812 he was at the burning of Buffalo in 1814, and after his settlement here died upon the farm which he cleared.  His wife, Laura HOVEY, also died here, after bearing him these children: William D., Sewell H., Chauncey A., Orey, Edward, Melvin, Alvira, and Lucelia.  Melvin SNOW owns and occupies the homestead.  He was born March 8, 1831.  July 1, 1857, he married Mariah HUESTON, by whom he has had two children: Ella G. and Clarence A.  Ella G. married Hiram BENEDICT, of East Randolph, in 1881, and has one son, Leo.  Orey SNOW served in the late war.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 522

 

Surnames:  SPEAR, CLARK, ROSS, BARTON

 

David Clark SPEAR, son of David and Mary (CLARK) SPEAR, was born in Hartford, Conn., March 9, 1802, came to Ellington, Chautauqua county, among the early settlers, cleared a farm, and finally removed to Iowa.  His son William D., born April 25, 1827, married, Nov. 17, 1850, Edna M., daughter of Grosvenor and Charlotte (ROSS) BARTON, of Conewango (see also Leon), and has had born to him these children: Charlotte, William G., and Karl E.  Mr. SPEAR is a farmer and manufacturer of grain cradles in Conewango.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 522

 

Surnames:  STEVES, JONES, STANLEY, FISHER

 

John STEVES was a farmer in Leon for many years.  He was born in Onondaga county in 1818 and married Rachel JONES, who died in 1889.  Their children were George G., Francis M., Jeremiah, Fred E., Allen M., Marshall, Charles, Clara, Alice, Estella F., Rose M., Ruth, Elmer, and John H.  The latter was born Aug. 14, 1853, married, July 4, 1877.  Mary A., daughter of Vilando and Betsey (STANLEY) FISHER, of Conewango, and is now a farmer on the FISHER farm.  Joseph STANLEY was an early settler in Conewango.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Pages 522 & 523

 

Surname:  THACHER

 

Cyrus THACHER came to Conewango in 1823 and was the first merchant in Clear Creek, of which place be was postmaster, holding the position there and at Seeleysburg and Conewango in all twenty-seven years.  Born in Vermont in 1802 he died here August 3, 1892.  He was a very active man and up to the date of his death possessed a remarkably attentive memory.  His son Charles C. is now postmaster and a general merchant at Conewango village.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 523

 

Surnames:  TOWERS, SEAGER, SLYKER

 

Lucas TOWERS, a native of Schaghticoke, N. Y., died in Conewango in 1853.  His wife Rachel bore him these children: Jared, Mary, and John.  The latter was born in Syracuse and died here aged 44 years.  He married Clarinda SEAGER, who died in 1891.  Their children were Jane, Mary, Rachel, Clarissa, Levi, and John H.  John H. TOWERS was born Dec. 8, 1832, and married, Dec. 25, 1859, Mary SLYKER.  Their children are Cora, Lena, Ida, Ada, John, Daniel, and Grace.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 523

 

Surnames:  WATSON, WILCOX, WOODMANSEE, ELLSWORTH, HALL

 

John A. WATSON, son of Daniel and Elizabeth (WILCOX) WATSON, early settlers in Ellington, Chautauqua county, was born in Rensselaer county, Oct. 29, 1831, came to Conewango from Ellington in 1879, and is now a wood mechanic and farmer residing in Rutledge.  He married, Oct. 13, 1856, Fidelia WOODMANSEE, by whom he has had children as follows: John S., Daniel, Permelia, and Mattie M.  Daniel WATSON married Kate F., daughter of Chauncey and Eliza (ELLSWORTH) HALL.  They conduct a millinery store in Conewango.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 523

 

Surnames:  WATTENPAUGH, RICHMOND, BROWN

 

Andrew WATTENPAUGH, a native of Germany, was a soldier in the Revolution, and died in Troy, N. Y.  His son John married Amorilla RICHMOND, who died in Dayton in 1848.  Their children were Emeline, George, Louisa, William, Filena, Cordelia, Andrew, and Merrick.  Merrick WATTENPAUGH, born May 28, 1816, married, Jan. 13, 1854, Margaret J. BROWN, and has six children: Janette, Sarah J., George, Frank J., Emogene, and Ann M.  Born in 1816 he is doubtless the second oldest living native of the county.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 523

 

Surname:  WILEY

 

Daniel T. WILEY settled in New Albion in 1865 and died in Conewango in 1890.  He was a son of John WILEY and was born near Gloversville in 1813.  His son James F., a farmer in town, has taught over thirty terms of school.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 523

 

Surnames:  WINSHIP, LATHROP, WATKINS, HILLS

 

William H. WINSHIP, son of Isaac and Augusta (LATHROP) WINSHIP, was born Nov. 1, 1936, came to Conewango in 1856, and Oct. 17, 1857, married Mary F., daughter of Calvin and Mary F. (WATKINS) HILLS, and they have one son, Charles H., of Fremont, Neb.  The children of Isaac and Augusta WINSHIP were Rossa R., William H., and Albert E.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Conewango – Chapter XXII (22)

Page 523

 

Surnames:  WYLLYS, McHURON, DANA

 

Mara WYLLYS, who was born in Chesterfield, Mass., came to Conewango in 1820, cleared a farm, and eventually removed to Ohio, where he died.  His wife, Maria McHURON, bore him children as follows: Rufus, Silance, Miriam, Lyman, Elijah, and Maria.  Rufus WYLLYS was born in Massachusetts in 1780, came to this town with his father in 1820, and died here in 1871.  He married Freedom DANA and his children were Abigail, Lucretia, Rufus, Russell, John, Wealthy, Silance, and Elijah.  Silance WYLLYS occupies the homestead.

 

================================================================================

 

TOWN OF DAYTON

 

BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES FROM: "HISTORICAL GAZETTEER AND BIOGRAPHICAL MEMORIAL of CATTARAUGUS COUNTY, NY, ed by WILLIAM ADAMS, Published 1893

 

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Dayton – Chapter XXIII (23)

Page 533

 

Surnames:  ALLEN, BENEDICT, SHAW

 

Asahel ALLEN, son of Peter, a native of Connecticut, was born in Fabius, Onondaga county, Nov. 5, 1802, and came to Dayton in 1818, cleared a farm where that village now stands, and erected the first dwelling house on the site, buying the land of the Holland Land Company at $3 per acre.  He finally moved to Cottage, where he died Jan. 21, 1858.  His wife, Sally A., daughter of Jonathan BENEDICT, of Onondaga county, died Oct. 22, 1847.  Their children were Jonathan B., Peter R., Harlow, Lucy M., Laura J., Eliza L., Mary C., James M., George M., and Ellen M.  By his second wife, Julia A., daughter of Timothy M. SHAW, he had three children:  Annette, Newton, and Julia A.

 

Peter R. ALLEN married Betsey, daughter of Daniel and Lydia (EDDIE) JOHNSON, and died July 29, 1880.  He was a farmer and wood mechanic.  Their only son, Daniel E., was born Aug. 25, 1862, and is postmaster of Dayton.  Mrs. ALLEN is still living.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Dayton  – Chapter XXIII (23)

Page 533

 

Surnames:  ALLEN, REDFIELD, SHAW, WRIGHT, BRAND

 

Jonathan B. ALLEN was born Aug. 10, 1824, and married, Nov. 8, 1849, Fanny M., daughter of Timothy M. and Amanda (REDFIELD) SHAW.  Their children are Ellen (Mrs. A. C. WRIGHT), Laura (Mrs. David BRAND), and Cora L., who died Sept. 2, 1877.  Mr. ALLEN is a farmer and has been justice of the peace fourteen years.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Dayton  – Chapter XXIII (23)

Page 533

 

Surname: ALLEN

 

Luther ALLEN also came to Dayton in 1818 and became prominent in town affairs.  He arrived before he had attained his majority, and soon returned to Onondaga county for his wife, whom he brought to his rude home on an oxsled.  His was the first frame house erected in Dayton village, in 1834.  Mr. ALLEN finally removed to Gowanda, where he died in Feb., 1847.  He was supervisor of Dayton in 1837, 1838, and 1844.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Dayton  – Chapter XXIII (23)

Page 533

 

Surnames:  AUSTIN, HOOKER

 

Hiram AUSTIN, son of Samuel, came to Dayton in 1826, cleared a farm, and died here Nov. 16, 1875.  He was twice married and had three children, of whom Hiram C., born Jan. 26, 1825, married Jane HOOKER, has five children, and is a farmer on the homestead.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Dayton  – Chapter XXIII (23)

Page 533

 

Surnames:  BABCOCK, BARBER, SMITH, BUTTON, CHASE

 

Christopher BABCOCK was a native of Rhode Island and served in the Revolutionary war.  Asa, his son, born in Westerly, R. I., Oct. 9, 1777, died in Jefferson county, N. Y., in 1840; he married Mary BABCOCK and, second, Elizabeth BARBER, both of whom were born in Westerly.  His children were Caroline, Thomas, George W., Amy, Mary, Asa C., Elizabeth, and Christopher J.  Christopher J. was born in Smyrna, Dec. 14, 1814, and married, Nov. 11, 1838, Rebecca A., daughter of Silas and Jerusha SMITH, and their children were Amy., 2d, and William A., both of whom were born in Truxton, N. Y.  Mr. BABCOCK married, second, Harriet BUTTON, and their children are Julius C. (deceased), Wesley J., Willis A., Frank P., and Herman T.  He was formerly a Shipbuilder, but is now a retired resident of South Dayton.  He married, third, Mrs. Sarah A. CHASE.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Dayton  – Chapter XXIII (23)

Pages 533 & 534

 

Surnames:  BACON, PARK, RICH, DEAN

 

Norman BACON was a son of Penuel and was born in Onondaga county.  He came to Dayton at an early day and died May 9, 1849, on the farm which he cleared.  His wife, Lucy Ann PARK, died here in 1872.  Their son Elisha H. was born in town Sept. 15, 1846, married, in 1868, a daughter of Zalmon RICH and afterward a daughter of Walter DEAN, and has six children.  He is a farmer.  His brother Ezek P. served in Co. B, 154th N. Y. Vols., and died in Andersonville prison.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Dayton  – Chapter XXIII (23)

Page 534

 

Surnames:  BADGERO, WEST, JOLLS, PETERSON

 

John W. BADGERO, son of Jacob and Sophia BADGERO, was born in Vermont and came to Dayton while young.  He married Laura A., daughter of Abel and Maria (WEST) JOLLS, by whom he had these children:  Christiana C., Frances M., Ellery G., Laura M., Phoebe E., Ada E., and Iva M., of whom Phoebe E. is a dressmaker and resides with her widowed mother in Dayton, and Laura M. married M. P. PETERSON and lives in Norfolk, Neb.  Mr. BADGERO was a soldier in the late war in Co. A, 154th N. Y. Vols., and died in Dayton.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Dayton  – Chapter XXIII (23)

Page 534

 

Surnames:  BARTLETT, CAMPBELL

 

Dennison BARTLETT came to Dayton while young and died here aged sixty years.  His wife was Alzina CAMPBELL, who bore him five children.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Dayton  – Chapter XXIII (23)

Page 534

 

Surnames:  BATCHELLOR, DOW

 

Abner BATCHELLOR, a native of Massachusetts, came to Dayton as an early settler, married Mary A. DOW, had three children, and died June 19, 1880.  Netta A., who resides on the homestead, is the only survivor of the family in town.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Dayton  – Chapter XXIII (23)

Page 534

 

Surnames:  BLAIR, WEBB, SMITH, CURTIS, WALKER, BADGERO

 

Charles W. BLAIR was born at Stockbridge, Oneida county, Feb. 22, 1822, and came to Perrysburg and thence to Dayton at an early day.  His father was William, son of Robert, a native of Massachusetts.  Charles W. BLAIR has served as justice of the peace, highway commissioner, and postmaster at Cottage.  He married Pastorette A., daughter of William D. and Betsey (WEBB) SMITH, and their children are Emmett W., Ada A., and Cora A (deceased).

 

William BLAIR, another son of Robert, was born in Massachusetts in 1785 and came to this town while young, locating at Cottage, where he died Dec. 14, 1862.  His wife, Susan CURTIS, was born Feb. 14, 1793, and died Sept. 3, 1832.  One of their sons, William W., married Mary WALKER, and of their children Charles H. was born in Perrysburg, Sept. 22, 1838, and July 4, 1865, married Christiana C., daughter of John W. BADGERO.  Charles H. BLAIR enlisted in Co. A, 44th N. Y. Vols., was wounded at Gettysburg, and was discharged in 1864.  William W. BLAIR served from 1862 until 1865 in Co. K, 155th N. Y. Vols., and was six months in prison.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Dayton  – Chapter XXIII (23)

Page 534

 

Surnames:  BLASDELL, ALLEN, SHEPARD, MERRILL

 

Nathaniel BLASDELL was one of Dayton's pioneers and died here aged sixty-two.  Of his seven children David married Lucinda, daughter of Daniel ALLEN, of Persia, and had born to him six children.  His brother Daniel was born in Otto, Jan. 28, 1828, married Elizabeth SHEPARD, of Dayton, and of their children Frank married Mary MERRILL and May became the wife of Marshall MERRILL.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Dayton  – Chapter XXIII (23)

Page 534

 

Surnames:  BRAND, Howard, LOOMER, SMITH, SHAW, ALLEN

 

David BRAND came to Gowanda and lived many years, removing finally to Dayton and eventually to Iowa, where he died.  Of his children Henry C. was born in Gowanda and died in Dayton in 1872.  He married Sarah HOWARD, who survives him, and their son Henry M., born in Dayton on Feb. 22, 1847, married Eliza M. LOOMER, Feb. 20 1869, who died, and he married, second, Rachel E. SMITH.  Daniel H., another son of Henry C., was born July 6, 1854, and married Kate, daughter of Jonathan and Fanny (SHAW) ALLEN, and is a farmer in the south part of the town.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Dayton  – Chapter XXIII (23)

Pages 534 & 535

 

Surnames:  BROWN, PERHAM, ASHDOWN, WILLIAMS, EASTERLY

 

Ezra BROWN, a native of Vermont, came to Chemung county, where he died at an advanced age.  He served in the War of 1812 and was a farmer.  His son Daniel was born June 15, 1813, and came to Dayton in 1847, locating near Howard's Corners, where he died Aug. 5, 1882.  He married Fanny PERHAM, who survives him, and their children were Ellen, Harriet Janette, Josephine, Julius, and Ellis.  The latter was born Feb. 11, 1856, and Nov. 21, 1875, married Sarah L., daughter of George and Jane (ASHDOWN) WILLIAMS, and their children are Welcome J., Helen M., and Leon W.  He is proprietor of a cheese factory with his brother Julius.  Julius BROWN, born Feb. 24, 1854, married, Dec. 27, 1874, Ida Ann EASTERLY, has one son, Ellsworth, and is a farmer and breeder and dealer in carriage horses and roadsters.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Dayton  – Chapter XXIII (23)

Page 535

 

Surnames:  BUNCE, OLCOTT, PUTNEY, BROWNELL, WHEELER, INGALLS, BADGERO HUBBARD

 

Rory BUNCE was born in Hartford, Conn., Jan. 9, 1758, and died June 27, 1812.  He served in the Revolutionary war.  His wife, Elizabeth OLCOTT, born in Connecticut, Jan. 14, 1763, died in Dayton, July 24, 1843.  His son Simeon was born in Hartford, Conn., June 9, 1789, and died in Dayton, Nov. 26, 1875.  Dec. 28, 1814, he married Esther, daughter of Joseph and Rebecca (PUTNEY) BROWNELL; she died Sept. 20, 1870.  Their children were Harriet, Sanford, and Nelson.  Nelson BUNCE, born in Dayton, Nov. 30, 1821, married, Nov. 22, 1843, Katharine WHEELER, who died March 24, 1891.  Their children were Sanford C., Maria S., Francelia, Jay B., Simeon A., and Nellie L.  Mr. BUNCE married, second, Mrs. Mary E. INGALLS.  Jay B. BUNCE married, Aug. 15, 1877, Elva A., daughter of Jacob and Adelaide BADGERO.  Francelia married George HUBBARD, Jan. 18, 1871, and their children were Katie, Lynn P., and Melva M.  She died Jan. 6, 1886.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Dayton  – Chapter XXIII (23)

Page 535

 

Surnames:  CASTEN, WHEELER, FAIRBANKS, TOWN

 

John CASTEN was born in Dutchess county and came to Collins, Erie county, where he died.  His son James, born in Dutchess county, Sept. 29, 1801, was located in Buffalo as a dealer in live stock for many years and came thence to Collins and from there to Leon, where he died March 3, 1888.  He married Amanda WHEELER (born July 16, 1802), and his children were Ann E., James W., Ira W., Emily A., Mary J., William H., Eunice L., Stephen L., and John G.  John G. CASTEN was born in Buffalo, March 14, 1833, and in 1860 married Martha M., daughter of Samuel and Susan (FAIRBANKS) TOWN, of Leon, who was born March 9, 1841.  Their children are Susie A., James S., Addie M., John F., Ira B., William E., Stephen A., Ella M., and Archie R.  Mr. CASTEN is a farmer in Dayton.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Dayton  – Chapter XXIII (23)

Page 535

 

Surnames:  CATLEN, BENNETT, PECK

 

William CATLIN, born in Massachusetts, moved to Tioga county, Pa., and died in Chenango county, N. Y., aged ninety-seven years.  He was a farmer and a manufacturer of leather and ratan whips.  His wife bore him thirteen children, four of whom served in the Union and one in the Confederate army.  One of his sons, Wells G. CATLIN, was born in Tioga county, Pa., where he married Sarah B. BENNETT, and moved to Persia, where he lived twenty-five years.  His children were Annie S., Helena, Herbert L., Aaron F., George, and Orren.  Orren was born in Charleston, Pa., Aug. 22, 1848, and Aug. 17, 1875, married Melissa A. PECK (born in Persia, Nov. 1, 1851), daughter of Joel and Philena PECK, and their children are Inez, J. Gordon, and Orren.  Mr. CATLIN is a cheesemaker in Dayton.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Dayton  – Chapter XXIII (23)

Page 535

 

Surnames:  COMSTOCK, REMINGTON

 

Abner COMSTOCK, a Canadian by birth, came to Dayton in 1829 and died in 1859.  He had ten children by two marriages, among them being David, who was born in Persia and married a daughter of Ransom REMINGTON, by whom he has had five children.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Dayton  – Chapter XXIII (23)

Pages 535 & 536

 

Surnames:  CROWELL, FAULKNER, ROBBINS, SMITH

 

David CROWELL was born at Sherburne, N. Y., and came to Villenova, Chautauqua county, where he died in 1861.  He was married three times, and of his children David also lived in Villenova until his death in 1841.  He married Annie FAULKNER, and their children were Seth, Norman, William, James, George, and Charles H.  Charles H. CROWELL was born in Villenova, Aug. 27, 1840, and Dec. 3, 1861, married Celestia ROBBINS, of Hanover, N. Y., and has one son, Fred D., born Aug. 5, 1871.  Mr. CROWELL enlisted in 1861 in Co. H, 100th N. Y. Vols., and was honorably discharged in 1862.  Fred D. CROWELL married Emma SMITH, of Dayton.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Dayton  – Chapter XXIII (23)

Page 536

 

Surnames:  DARBEE, PHELPS, CHURCH, AMSDEN, LEWIS

 

Azariah DARBEE was born in Vermont in 1762.  His wife, Susan PHELPS, was born in 1761.  They came to Dayton in 1817 and cleared a farm in the western part of the town, where their deaths occurred Aug. 18, 1851, and Jan. 28, 1840, respectively.  Their children were Chester, Susanna, Aurilla, Azariah, Olive, Clarissa, Celia, and Henry.  Chester DARBEE was born Nov. 24, 1785, served in the War of 1812, cleared a farm, and married Theodotia CHURCH, by whom he had these children:  Henry, Olive, Chester, Jr., Simeon, and John.  Chester DARBEE, Jr., was born in Hamburg, Erie county, July 28, 1811, and married, first, Caroline AMSDEN, and second, Caroline LEWIS.  His children are John H., Lewis H., and John H.  John H. enlisted in the 44th Regt. N. Y. Vols. and was shot at the battle of Malvern Hill.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Dayton  – Chapter XXIII (23)

Page 536

 

Surnames:  DERSEY, SMITH, HUFF

 

Joseph DERSEY was born in Germany and came to Eden, Erie county, as an early settler, and died there in 1867, aged sixty-four years.  He married Elizabeth SMITH, and. their children were Mary, Elizabeth, Delia, Joseph, Philip, and Jacob.  Jacob DERSEY was born in Eden, June 20, 1840, and June 29, 1876, married Mary W. HUFF, who was born June 4, 1851.  Their children are Alfred, born April 28, 1882, and Mildred P., born March 13, 1890.  Mr. DERSEY is a farmer in the town in a locality known as Fair Plain.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Dayton  – Chapter XXIII (23)

Page 536

 

Surname:  DEXTER

 

Charles W. DEXTER came to Leon and died there at the age of seventy-five years.  His grandson, William A. DEXTER, the son of Bela E., was born in Gowanda, Dec. 14, 1856 and is now a farmer in the town of Dayton.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Dayton  – Chapter XXIII (23)

Page 536

 

Surnames:  EDDIE, KETCHUM

 

Elbridge EDDIE was an early settler of Persia, where he died in 1878.  He was a native of Enfield, Mass.  His son Guilford J. was born in Persia, May 10, 1833, married Clarissa KETCHUM, and has had seven children.  He is a blacksmith.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Dayton  – Chapter XXIII (23)

Page 536

 

Surnames:  ENGLISH, GERE, WAITE, POTTER, FILLEY

 

Daniel D. ENGLISH, son of William, was an early pioneer of Dayton.  He was born in Washington county, N. Y., May 9, 1807, and died here April 15, 1874.  His wife, Amanda GERE, died in Leon, Oct. 21, 1880.  Their children were Eleanor, Sanford, Oscar, Alida, Amelia, Edgar, Theodore, and Lewis, all born in Dayton.  Oscar ENGLISH, born December 31, 1839, married, Sept. 2, 1866, Mercy R., daughter of William and Basheba (WAITE) POTTER, of Leon.  She was born in Machias, Oct. 26, 1843.  Their children are Bert L., born May 27, 1869, and Maud (adopted), born Aug. 22, 1878.  Mr. ENGLISH has resided on his present farm twenty-four years and has served as assessor three terms.  Theodore ENGLISH was born June 22, 1851, and January 10, 1874, married Etta A., daughter of George and Mary FILLEY, and their two children, Ethel and Bernard, were born Sept. 14, 1877, and Sept. 6, 1885, respectively.  Mr. ENGLISH is a general merchant at South Dayton.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Dayton  – Chapter XXIII (23)

Page 536

 

Surnames:  FISHER, BOWER, TRABER

 

Carl FISHER, son of John, was born in Dunkirk, N. Y., March 1, 1864.  John FISHER was born in Germany in I815, served in the war of the Rebellion, and died in Dunkirk in 1863.  July 24, 1882, Carl FISHER married Reka, daughter of Christopher and Caroline (BOWER) TRABER, of Dayton, and their only child is Isabella, born January 23, 1892.  Christopher TRABER, son of Gotlieb, was born in Germany, Nov. 26, 1841, came to Buffalo in 1861, served in Co. H. 96th N. Y. Vols., in the late war, married Caroline BOWER, and now lives in Dayton.  Mr. FISHER and Mr. TRABER are employees of he Erie railroad.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Dayton  – Chapter XXIII (23)

Pages 536 & 537

 

Surnames:  FISHER, GILLETT, COOK

 

John FISHER, a native of Albany, a miller by trade, a soldier of the War of 1812, died in Italy, Yates county, at the age of 106 years and six months.  Of his children James married Rachel GILLETT and of their children Jeremiah was born May 8, 1830, married Sally Ann COOK, has three children, and is a dealer in monuments in South Dayton.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Dayton  – Chapter XXIII (23)

Page 537

 

Surnames:  FOSTER, WHEELER, NEWCOMB

 

Joseph FOSTER, born in Hartford, N.Y., in 1800, died in Otto aged seventy-five.  His wife was Hester WHEELER, of Otto, and they had eight children, of whom Harvey, born Oct. 9, 1834, in Otto, married, Dec. 25, 1862, Emily, daughter of Simon NEWCOMB, of Dayton, and is a farmer in this town.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Dayton  – Chapter XXIII (23)

Page 537

 

Surnames:  CADWIN, FRANCIS, WHITE, BRIGGS

 

Francis CADWIN was born in Cayuga county in 1795, came to Hamburg, Erie county, removed thence to Leon, and finally settled in Perrysburg, where he died, aged seventy-five years.  His father, Roswell, a native of Connecticut, served in the War of 1812 and died in Cayuga county.  Francis married a daughter of Simon FRANCIS, by whom he had seven children, of whom George was born in Hamburg, May 7, 1831, married, Dec. 18, 1856, Mary WHITE, and reared one daughter, Lydia (Mrs. Morris O. BRIGGS, of Buffalo).  Mr. FRANCIS enlisted in 1861 in Co. K, 64th N. Y. Vols., and served 14 months.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Dayton  – Chapter XXIII (23)

Page 537

 

Surnames:  FULLER, CONKLIN

 

Henry FULLER, son of Benjamin, had seven children, of whom Edgar was born in Dayton, July 7, 1843, married Alice CONKLIN, and is a Wesleyan minister.  His mother Betsey survives and resides in Dayton on the homestead.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Dayton  – Chapter XXIII (23)

Page 537

 

Surnames:  GREGG, ADGATE, JOHNSON

 

Jonathan GREGG, born in New Hampshire in 1791, came to Dayton, where he was killed by a falling tree Oct. 21, 1850.  His wife, Philinda, daughter of Thomas and Elizabeth ADGATE, died in 1855.  Their children were Clarinda, Margaret, Elizabeth, Joseph, Chester, Adgate T., Caroline, and Edgar.  Adgate T. GREGG, born April 20, 1837, married in 1864 Philena, daughter of Gile JOHNSON, of Dayton, and has had born to him these children:  Lizzie M., Grace C., Althea M., Clara S., and Georgia A.  Mr. GREGG enlisted Oct. 2, 1861, in Co. H, 44th N. Y. Vols., and was honorably discharged in 1864.  He is a farmer on the Gile JOHNSON farm in Dayton.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio from:

Historical Gazetteer and Biographical Memorial of Cattaraugus Co. NY, ed by William Adams, pub 1893

History of the Town of Dayton  – Chapter XXIII (23)

Page 537

 

Surnames:  HALL, RICH, PARK, BACON, WOOD, LUCE

 

William G. HALL, son of justice, was born at Portage, N. Y., came to New Albion, and finally removed to near the Wesley postoffice, where he died.  He was a farmer, and married Almeda RICH, of Barre, Orleans county, who survives him and resides on the homestead.  His children were Charles W., Leonard O., Alzina A., Mary D., Delbert, Rowland, Arad, Sarah, Denton, and Marian (deceased).

 

Charles W. HALL was born in New Albion, Nov. 3, 1837, and March 11, 1861, married Betsey A., daughter of Norman L. and Lucy A,. (PARK) BACON, by whom he has one son, Burt H.  Mr. HALL is a merchant and postmaster at Wesley.  He served as corporal in Co. B, 154th N. Y. Vols., and was at the battles of Chancellorsville and Rocky Face Ridge, being severely wounded at each engagement.

 

Delbert HALL, another son of William G., was born in New Albion, May 12, 1848, and married, March 27, 1865, Mary J. WOOD, a native of Niagara county, who has borne him three children:  Glenn W., Willie J., and Jennie M.  Mr. HALL served in the late war in Co. D, 179th N. Y. Vols., and is now a carpenter and proprietor of a planing-mill in Dayton village.  Glenn W. HALL, born Aug. 15, 1868, married Anna, daughter of Obediah and Mary J. LUCE, of New Albion, has one son, Blaine D., and is a farmer in the south part of the town.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Bio f