Three Rivers
History From America's Most Famous Valleys

The picturesque stone structure overlooking the north bank of the Mohawk, a short distance east of St. Johnsville and known today as "Fort Klock" was built by Johannes Klock in 1750. It was a time when early settlers were willing to face the natural hazzards of the wilderness, including wild animals and hunger, to establish trading posts for Iroquois customers.

The two-foot limestone walls and loop holes for musket defense came in handy a quarter-century later when the home was used as a refuge during revolutionary raids. Restoration of the colonial building was begun in 1954 as an area project. Bicentennial ratings in the county place Fort Klock among the most interesting sites.

Contents Introduction Links Home